We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel but could have better service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express
1-15-1 Senzoku, Taito 111-0031, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
3.5 of 5 stars 55 Reviews
Kaohsiung
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK hotel but could have better service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

I have stayed at a few Toyoko Inns and while none of them could be considered great most could be said to have very good service and the staff perform their duties well. At this hotel, during this stay, I can say that they do not seem as on the ball as their counterparts. We booked 8 consecutive nights with this hotel and they made us change rooms during this stay. The cleaning staff also left behind dirty rags that they obviously used to clean our room. The cleanliness was also not on par with the other chains and the hotel is older. One of the cooks the one morning was coughing up a storm as she prepared the breakfast. I am not talking about a cough or two - I am talking about constant hacking. Yuck.

The hotel also did not play the English movies consistently from night to night (some times they would play on an endless loop, sometimes not at all). One night, after being frustrated that the movie did not play the night before (my wife and I are not party people so we do not stay out too late and like to get up early to go sightseeing) we asked first what time it would be on. They said 10pm. Ten minutes past ten we call down because it had not started and they said they would. They only played (half of) the special features. We called again. They started it. For some reason, this was the only one that has ever been this way, but this one was only in Japanese (though it was a western movie), We called down again. Oh yes, they tell us, it is only in Japanese. Why the heck did they not bother telling us this the three times previously when we asked about the movie? (And it was at least 2 different front desk clerks that we talked to.) Now really, I do not care that much about the movie being in Japanese - we are in Japan. But when all the other ones were in English, from all our other stays (17 nights, 5 different Toyoko Inns) and when they wasted our time by making us ask about the movie when it was clear that we would not be able to understand it, and when we could have made other entertainment plans for a couple of hours (since there really is NOTHING at all else to do in this hotel or even in the immediate area), yeah, that bothers me.

Overall the hotel was adequate but left a lot to be desired and we would have been better off spending an extra 3000 yen a night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
9
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

This was my choice for 2 nights at the end of a 2-week tour of Japan. It's out of the main Tokyo bustle, but reasonably convenient for the Tsukuba Express line (Asakusa station) if you don't have too much luggage. In the area between the station and the Senso-ji temple are various restaurants, izakaya, karaoke bars and other entertainment places.

I had a clean Western-style room with a good amount of space. The bathroom was compact but all I needed. Robe and slippers were provided, and there was a welcome tray and a small fridge. The lobby has the usual vending machines (including hot cans of coffee) and two PCs with free internet access and printing facilities. Breakfast was simple, mostly Japanese-style but with rolls and butter/jam as well. Procedures are not well explained in English so watch what others do with their trays, dishes and waste when they leave!

One important thing to note is that the shuttle bus from the hotel to Ueno station (for the airport express) mentioned in some other reviews does not operate any more. I was able to easily flag down a taxi and paid just over 1000Y to get to Ueno.

I can't add much to the other positive reviews here. This was an ideal base for me and I would use this chain again if visiting Japan in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyGrl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed in the Toyoko Inn in Asakusa in March/April this year, and were fairly pleased.

The first half of our stay we stayed an Ikebukuro #2 (I’ve written that as a separate review) but also spent half of our trip in Asakusa.
The hotel was a bit older and the staffs English wasn’t as good, however they were pleasant and everything was very clean. The one thing that they did that I wish had happened at Ikebukuro – they signed us up for a Toyoko Inn Members card which even after paying the fee for the card ended up saving us money on our accommodation!

The Inn was walking distance from the train station and also the temples in Asakusa which were lovely, as were all the little stalls/market in the area near the temples. It’s a bit touristy but you can get all sorts of delicious tasty treats and souvenirs there (things like warm sake, strange flavors of ice cream and maneki neko cats)

Heaps of places to eat near by and they include breakfast. Really this chain of hotels is a bargain – small, yes, but still definitely worth the convenience of not staying a hostel, which is what our other option was!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I could tell that things would be different when I was handed the room key and told that the plastic bar on which it is mounted has to be placed in a hole in the light switch socket. I figured this out in no time. The hole is an interlock on electrical power in the room. When you leave, you take the key with you. So you must have turned off the master power. It's green thinking but means that my wife has no power in the room if I independently go down to the vending machine.
Another reviewer mentioned that the room is small by US standards but probably about right by Japanese. I also found this to be the case. The room dimensions are about 17' deep by 10 feet wide. This is a deceptively large room size when you take into account that you only get half the closet and most of its space is taken up by a clothing press. The bathroom occupies 5' X 7' of space and is elevated about 8" above floor level. The tub is mounted at floor level and is thus 8" deeper than an American tub. It is also considerably shorter. Water runs very well. You could easily take a shower as prelude to a soaking bath. The water comes out of the faucet extremely hot and extremely fast.
The level of English proficiency of the staff leaves much to be desired for an international hotel. If your Japanese is not above the level of a Japanese 6th grader, you will struggle with making your needs understood. The staff will stick with the project of trying to be helpful, but you will have some frustrating moments when you just cannot communicate.
The day's rate includes breakfast. There will be a bowl of miso soup. There will be Onegiri. There will be hot tea. There are a few other choices like coffee and regular rice with flavoring that can be sprinkled on top. Sometimes there are scrambled eggs. And there are rolls.
I would definitely recommend to a friend but would feel that preparation would be very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

We stayed at the toyoko inn in Asakusa as part of an arranged tour of Japan. The rooms were small by western standard, but probably about average for Japan. Room was clean and well presented, hotel staff were friendly and overall our three night stay was exactly what we expected. There is a small area to side of the lobby where a basic breakfast is served, although there are convenience stores within a few minutes walk. There is also a vending machine in reception for drinks and beer.

The hotel is reasonably located for metro (about 7 minutes walk to each of the nearest stops on the Ginza line), the temple at Asakusa and the local area.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

Toyoko Inn is a chain hotel located all over Japan. We stayed at Toyoko Inn Asasuka in Tokyo and again in Kyoto. It was immaculately clean and neat. The room is tiny but has all the amenity you need while traveling. The bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, body soap, toothbrush, razors, comb, towels. You can pick up a shower cap from front desk counter as well as cable for internet connection in your room. Or you can use the computer in the lobby. Rooms do not have closets. Luggage can be stored under the bed. It does have hair dryer and iron. Bathroom is tiny. Two ppl will not fit in there unless one is in the shower. They do offer free Japanese breakfast which was decent. Their rules: drop off key at front desk whenever you leave the hotel. No one is allow in the hotel between 10am (check out) and 4pm (check in). That is their lock out time so they can clean. I was extremely impress w/ the cleanliness of the entire hotel. We made use of their coin laundry as well. Overall, I would definitely stay here again, in any of their hotel chain. Both chain we stayed in Tokyo and Kyoto were exactly alike. Oh, they also provide slippers and night gowns. And their toilets are bidet..w/ butt wash and all...very cool experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

I spent two weeks at this hotel during the cherry blossom viewing season. For the price it is great value for money. Rooms were always clean and fresh towels supplied. Free internet in the lobby for hotel guests. Transport is nearby or the hotel provides a shuttle to nearby Ueno station, from where you can travel to almost anywhere to Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express

Address: 1-15-1 Senzoku, Taito 111-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express Hotel Taito
Toyoko Inn Taito
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Asakusa Senzoku Tsukuba Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.