We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Graphy Nezu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Graphy Nezu to your Saves list
Hotel Graphy Nezu
3.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   4-5-10 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has a bit of a hostel/B&B vibe - there's a large communal area on ground floor, 2 lounge areas, tv, game console, top cooking facilities and laundry. It's a great place to meet people.
My single room was small, clean, with a narrow table and window. Bed was very comfortable. The location is good once you familiarise yourself, 15min walk to Ueno station, through the park where you can visit a couple gallery/museum along the way. There is a balcony area with nice views of Tokyo and some eateries within walking distance.
A few downsides are- place is difficult to find at night as its tucked inside several little streets (that look similar to each other) my taxi driver got lost once. Wifi is available in the common areas, no option for your room. Reception is open 3-9pm so assistance is limited.
Overall, it still good value for Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
11
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is brand new with both long stay and short stay rates. My son got a single room without bathroom, my DH and I had a big room with 2 twin beds, sitting area and private toilet and bath. All rooms have refrigerators. Very reasonable cost compared to other Tokyo accommodations, all very new and clean. There is a large common kitchen, free laundry facilities and rec room with large tv, Wii and PS3. The hotel is in a quiet residential area of Ueno, just 5 minutes from Ueno Park. It's also close to many stores and restaurants in the Ueno area.

Note the desk is not open 24 hours so you need to make arrangements with management if arriving late at night. You need to get very precise directions also since it is not on a main street.

Room Tip: No elevator so ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

There were only two reviews at the time of writing (May 2013). One of which complained that the price was too high. We booked about 1-2 weeks in advance and got an excellent rate for high season travel to Tokyo and we definitely felt we got good value for money wherein other hotels nearby were almost double or even triple the price.

The place is a "social apartment" and contains some long term residents. It has a communal area consisting of a large high tech open plan kitchen with multiple appliances and top quality kitchen ware, a communal Mac, TV and seating area which makes getting to know others easy in a relaxed atmosphere.

The place contains free use of laundry facilities and is very clean with a large room if you choose their king size room (marginally more expensive but definitely worth it)

My main criticisms was that the desk closes at 9pm which makes it very frustrating whilst attempting to check in since most international flights are a late night arrival into tokyo. The place is in a residential area so was difficult to find at 2am in the morning and had to plead a number of taxi drivers to rescue us!. Eventually we found the place shut but luckily the caretaker was on hand to help us and called the manager to let us check in. Also the english spoken is very limited and it helps to have patience when communicating, alternatively you could ask some of the residents to help you out as many are freely bilingual.

This is the case in many Japanese hotels and my big tip would be make sure you arrange in advance as more than likely your flight will arrive late into Tokyo and you may be stuck if you have not made arrangements!!

Room Tip: Choose the King Size room, only marginally more expensive but oodles more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Luckily we stayed just one night at this hotel. (Stupidly it was the first after our 10h flight.)

The counter is only open from 3pm to 9pm. There's no way to check in earlier or to leave your luggage at the hotel as the front door is locked. You need a room key to enter the building outside the open hours.

Furthermore we had to wait until 6pm until our room was available due to technical reasons. (It hadn't been fully equipped yet.) The room itself is clean and everything is new as the hotel just recently opened and the lounge area is also quite nice and comfy.

However, our room cooled down very quickly. We had to turn on the air conditioner (heating) for several hours in order to reach a decent temperature, but as it was pretty loud, we had to turn it off for sleeping. This way the room became cold again in no time. We woke up several times during the night as we were literally freezing.

Next to this, the fire alarm sounded several times during the night. No information about what happened and what we should do from the hotel staff, as it seemed like they left the hotel after 9pm. Lucky for us it was a false alarm caused by someone smoking in their room.

Overall: too expensive for what you get! (10000 ¥) The opening times of the front lobby (and that we had to wait until 6pm) need to be improved. The room itself was clean but without constant air conditioning it became way too cold. Lousy night with barely no sleep at all as we had to leave at 6am.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent hotel with modern kitchen, common area and all amenities. Beds a bit small for 2 adults. 5min walk from Nezu subway station and Tokyo zoo. Very nice and calm neighborhood. Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Graphy Nezu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Graphy Nezu

Address: 4-5-10 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Graphy Nezu 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Graphy Nezu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Graphy Nezu Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Graphy Nezu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.