We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Decent Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon
1-3-13 Komagata, Taito 111-0043 , Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
4.0 of 5 stars 59 Reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Decent Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is what you can expect from a good Japanese business hotel. The rooms are small but clean and well taken care of. My hubby and I stayed here for our last night in Japan and I have no complaints. It's near Ginza, Asakusa, train stations and Narita. We couldn't have asked for more convenience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
20
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Was there on March 2012. The location is good - near to subways. Walking distance ard 15-20mins. We usually use the Asakusa station. Sensoji temple - also very near to the hotel. Walking distance (20mins).
Room is clean but then it's not that spacious. However it's just enough to rest and put yr luggages around. Besides, our window can see the street view - beautiful lights at night but no worries - it's not noisy to disturb yr sleep.
Service also friendly but then the receptionist does not speak well in English - so use body language will work fine. You also can join as member - there are a lot of other Toyoko chains ard Japan. If you plan to stay other Toyoko hotels, then better sign up as member. Can save up some of the $$$ for food/shopping :P Provided pyjamas as well. Bfast was served in their front lobby - the cafeteria space is small) - so better go early for bfast, else no seating.
Overall the hotel is worth the value and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel is really good. Great location near Sumida River and Sensoji temple.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel is in a historic and central part of old Tokyo. There are 2 subway lines nearby. It is a short walk to some attractions and there are places to eat a few steps away. Rooms are very small, however. You have to vacate the hotel for cleaning between 10am and 4pm every day. In the 4 days we stayed here, there was only 1 person at the front desk that spoke English. Basic, but nice Japanese breakfast is served in the lobby. Be sure to observe the breakfast hours – all is removed promptly. Rooms are clean. Wi-Fi works. Front desk will expedite your luggage anywhere in Japan (very convenient and worthwhile doing). Washers and driers in the lobby. Very basic, but well located hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed there one week and the location is great. Near many subways, easy to visit Asakusa and Ueno by foot.
Very quiet and a lot of restaurant and convenient stores around.
And with the member card the prices are great and the breakfast is included.
I highly recommand!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I am staying here at this very moment,waiting for breakfast.I got a double bed in my room. Not a big room but comfortable and clean.With Tv, air coditioning,fridge and a little gadget to heat some water and some japanese tea.The staff are very helpful and tranferred my suitcase to my next destination in Kyoto for 1,310. My bathroom is abit strange because it.s all plastic and you have to step over a step. Razor,toothbrush and comb are provided. In the shower there is a dispenser with face/body wash and shampoo. Plenty of places to eat and reasonable in the area. I did wish it was closer to Tokyo city but then Jet lag took over and retired early. I would recommend this hotel. Just with the cyclists riding on the pavement. seems like they are not allowed on the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

A typical Japanese business hotel, clean and simple. Located in Asakusa, it's in a quiet location, near the subway and the Senso-ji temple which is a must see on your visit to Tokyo. A vast array of restaurants are located near the temple.

The hotel has free internet access in the lobby, and laudromat is provided at a very reasonable fee, just 100 Yen per wash. A simple but fulfilling breakfast is included, very typical Japanese with rice balls, miso soup, salad, etc, which is a great start to the day, we really missed this when we left.

The rooms (including bathroom) were on the small side, but adequate and clean. We had a twin room which in fact was a large room split into two by the bathroom which in effect gave you the privacy of two rooms, and amenities for both guests were catered for separately.

We enjoyed our stay here near the start of our trip, and it was very good value for money. They also helped us send our luggage to our next hotel in Kyoto for a small fee and it arrived safe and promptly the next day. Though the staff spoke limited English, they were very helpful and assisted best they can.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon

Address: 1-3-13 Komagata, Taito 111-0043 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon Hotel Taito
Toyoko Inn Taito
Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Asakusa Kuramae Kaminarimon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.