We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighbourhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asakusa

Asakusa
Taito, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)
Improve this listing
Visit Asakusa like an insider
Top Rated
$56*
and up
Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo...
Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Taito
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular Tokyo neighborhood is home to many shops and restaurants as well as the famed Senso-ji Temple.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Nice neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I loved Asakusa, it's a quiet neighbourhood. The most I liked to wander at dusk. The Taito Kannon Temple at night is a lovely as in the day light. Near the temple there are some small streets where I spotted some good kaiten-sushi. There's a street full of shops settin homewares, and I regret I didn't buy a couple of Japanese kitchen kinves there. so, I'd better come back there one more!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    639
    117
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Must Visit Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It has it all.. Be sure to make a stop here. See the temple, the great places to eat and buy your gifts

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Top Tokyo Tourist site + tips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sensoji Temple in Asakusa is almost featured in every travel brochure to Japan. Because everyone wants to take a picture in front of the Thunder Gate (with the lamp).

It is advisable to get there early, there are multiple lines which can reach Asakusa station, from time to time there are English interpreter there to help the tourists.

Enjoy ! Who knows you might be able to find a bargain in one of the stalls there !

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice amble through a more rustic side of Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Delightful streets, mixture of old and new buildings, interesting shops... definitely had a good time walking in Asakusa. Would recommend it definitely, such a refreshing change of pace from downtown Tokyo.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Touristy traditional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I always like a little stroll through Asakusa, or a brief peruse their long market stalls, its very tourist oriented but sometimes thats fun! You can get some nice snacks, cheap gifts and can hitch a costly but fun riksaw ride - personally I was happier with looking at the drivers than the views about the city but thats just me XD

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asakusa also viewed

 

Been to Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asakusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.