We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo National Museum

Tokyo National Museum
13 - 9 Ueno Park, Taito 110-8712, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)
+81 3-3822-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 94 things to do in Taito
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous museum houses the largest collection of Japanese artifacts and artworks in the world. With over 100,000 pieces and room to display only 4,000, exhibits are rotated constantly.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you're not that into museums - don't bother. Some interesting items but generally not. I wished for more information in english.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    205
    90
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not enough art!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I expected that the National Museum would have on display a knockout collection of the finest that Japan has to offer. Alas, the offerings were meager. What was there was nice, but just not enough of it! And no woodblock prints. We really wanted much more.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Big museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We weren't able to see more than a small part of this museum, but it is surely well Worth a visit. Unforrunately the garden was closed when we were there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“good for a short activity in a nice park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came to Japan for a business trip and had a day to recover before working and thought would do one activity. The Tokyo national museum sounded a good easy bet to see some Japanese artefacts. It is in Ueno park which is easy to get to. There are a number of buildings. Went round the two of Japanese artefacts. Very well set out and not too large. Mixture of: swords, armour, pottery, scrolls, statues. Had lunch in one of the buildings which was pleasant.

Fine for a bit of culture just don't expect too much as the exhibits are quite limited. Is a Starbucks in the park so can get a coffee shot to stay awake.

Costs just 600 yen which in Japan seems a steal. There are temporary exhibits and a building of non-Japanese asian art but did not go to those. The Japanese stuff was enough for one visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful displays but that's it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was expecting a lot more from the national museum, but I guess I was expecting too much if I wanted to read about the history and accounts of the past war. But instead, there were lots of fine pieces of Japanese displays.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.