We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for a different experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo

Save Saved
You added Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo
3.0 of 5 Ryokan   |   2-20-1 Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0032 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Taito B&B and Inns
Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“for a different experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I agree with all of the positive reviews here. Staying at this ryokan is a nice change from a typical hotel stay, and worth trying, even for a day or so. What makes this place special is that the staff goes out of their way to make everything enjoyable. Their dinner recommendations were excellent, one for sushi and one for udon. And while the place has wifi, I didn't have a laptop so they provided free access to a computer station. I especially enjoyed the public baths in the hotel- between that and the cool toilet seats, I had never been so clean in my life! Breakfasts are very traditional, which is good or not, depending on the person. Our first breakfast was a real treat; the second less so, not because of them but because of me- I am allergic to clams, and there they were in the soup, and I don't eat pork, and there it was on a plate. All in all, it was fun and we were very happy that we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
25
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a really good Ryokan. It's in an interesting area, not posh or touristy, close to nice temples.
The service is great. Generally, Japanese service is impeccable. At this place it was even superior. They really made us feel special, and were very helpful.
Good public baths as well.
Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

What an excellent place. Take a break from western hotels and go for a Ryokan. It was so nice experiencing something different. You also get a yucata each to wear. That is what I believe travelling should be about. Great location as well. Just down the road from Sensoji Temple and a market place which sells souvenirs. Train station is not to far away as well. We also chose to have the Japanese breakfast which I enjoyed but my overly western wife struggled with some aspects. The staff were really polite and friendly. It was an absolute pleasure staying there and dealing with the staff. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Wonderful, wonderful, perfect!! Traditional, ancient and elegant, in a beautiful area: vital at day and quite at night, very typical (for us one of the most beautiful of the city). The Ryokan is near to many monuments and convenient than public transport.
Inside there are the "shared bathrooms" (hot and cold) ... In short, a true wonder!!!
We chose Room NO.3 (One 6 or 7.5 tatami-mat room for 2 persons): It's very confortable, clean and spacious.
(Ask for a map, which starts from the subway station, when making your reservation: just arrived it's difficult to find it, but it is only the first impact with the traditional streets of Tokyo!)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We were spending a few fun days in Tokyo and thought it would be fun to stay in a traditional ryokan. The experience was well worth the slightly higher cost. We arrived in the pouring rain and were politely informed that our room was not yet ready. The staff offered to hold our luggage for us and suggested a nearby area to shop and find something to eat.

When we got back, we were shown to our room by a staff member in traditional Japanese dress. She made us a cup of tea and talked us through all the hotel's amenities, like the onsen (public hot baths). We also were pleased to find that not only had the hotel staff brought our luggage up to the room for us, they had also meticulously wiped all the rainwater off each piece.

The following morning, we were each given a hand-carved charm with our name on it! The staff was also super helpful in assisting us to find our way around and how to get back to the airport at the end of our stay.

As the goal of our trip was sightseeing and exploration, we opted out of having any of our meals at the hotel, but we definitely want to try it next time! I would highly recommend this place. My only regret was that we weren't there long enough to enjoy all the things they had to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Amazing place. Superb service. Seemed very traditional and Japanese, which provided me with a lovely way to introduce my fiance to Japanese traditional culture. It's not so easy to find this sort of thing outside Kyoto - but we couldn't have done better with this ryokan. The whole area is fascinating and has tons more character than most other parts of Tokyo - and yet it's close to Ginza, the plush shopping district. Wireless internet is available, but you have to go to the lobby to get a signal (where staff quickly provide you with free green tea). If you get a room with a bathroom, be aware that it's tiny - only big enough for sitting in, not lying. Really wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We had three nights at Sadachiyo and loved it. The staff had made lovely little engraved name tags for us which they gave us on arrival, I will never go to Japan again without a stash of small gifts for people, the ryokan was lovely we had a large room for the 6 of us, divided by a paper screeen, we never used our ensuite bathroom as we all donned soft yukatas and headed up to the baths, we preferred the timber bath to the stone a bit bigger and we usually had them to ourselves. Nice soap and shampoo etc, hairdryer in baths. There were delicious japanese biscuits every afternoon to have with our tea. Room always tidied futons made up etc. We loved Asakusa, great little restaurants (we had breakfast every morning at Cafe Layla down the road, Tea and eggs with delicious japanese toast for 450 yen, we weren't so taken with japanese style breakfasts. Recommend Takadaya on Orengi st for dinner or there is a geat little okonomyaki place just off the main street that leads from Sadachiyo to the Temple, you need to put your name down on the wait list outside.
We walked all over Tokyo with four children (15 to 6) so didn't think location at all difficult. Even walked to Ueno station with all our bags, 20 minutes? Highly reconmmend this ryokan and Asakusa as a great base.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo

Address: 2-20-1 Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0032 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo Hotel Taito
Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukeroku No Yado Sadachiyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.