We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Asakusa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sunroute Asakusa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Asakusa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-8-5 Kaminarimon, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0034, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 84 hotels in Taito
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Excellent hotel in a great location. Much better than staying somewhere like Shinjuku which is full of tourists. Asakusa area is much more traditional and Japanese but still is handy to everything with the Ginza line a 5 min walk and only 2 stops to Ueno and all the JR lines.
Staff are very helpful and free internet in lobby and rooms is good.
Typical Japanese business hotel rooms which are not as big as in the west, but it's Japan and if you want giant rooms with english tv channels, maybe don't travel to an asia country.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
8
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nowy Sacz, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We arrived from Narita at 11 am, so too early to check in. So we had our first experience with "jonathan", the "restaurant". Not a restaurant, but an OK spot for a light meal and with unlimited tea, coffee and soft drinks for less than Y300, including the fave green Fanta. The room, a standard twin, was fine - the twins are bigger than the doubles, and the beds, though firm were wide and long enough. Nice little bathroom, good shower, nice body wash, shampoo, etc. The immediate area is quiet, but you've got all you need, and the senso-ji temple, riverbus terminus and the subway are close. Would we stay again? Perhaps. The price was right, the room perfectly adequate, but we'd like a better restaurant. The staff were very helpful. Depends if the area is handy for our Tokyo needs - it's a big city!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

I was at the Asakusa Sunroute Hotel in April '09. It's a comfortable hotel, cleen, and in a good position close the Metro Station. I spend a good time there during my trip in Tokyo. ....SUGGESTED! :-)

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in April of this year, and had a very enjoyable experience. The hotel staff were friendly, accommodating, and understanding of our almost total lack of knowledge of Japanese. The rooms are small by Western standards, but are very clean, as is the rest of the hotel. As others have mentioned, the beds are sufficiently sized, and the rooms are air conditioned. We only ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfast, but it was excellent all three mornings (both the Japanese and Western breakfasts).

In addition, the hotel is in a interesting and unique part of Tokyo, Asakusa, that has a lot of interesting sights, restaurants, and shopping -- it has an older and somewhat more subdued feel to it that is a nice contrast to ultra-modern areas such as Shinjuku or Roppongi. Also, it is conveniently located via the subway to Ueno, Akihabara, and the rest of Tokyo as well.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Great location and helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing; I had no issues at all with this hotel.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

I was tavelling alone on this occasion on work and was apprehensive initially...but I am still amazed at the quality of service, cleanliness, the proximity to transport system to practicall every nook and corner of Tokyo that this location offers. Truly enjoyed my stay. Concerns...hmmmm. the restaurante out there serves continental breakfast but he size of their burgers or anything on the menu, are like anything else in Japan...small! Service is greatly appreciated even though they speak little English.
For that money, this is a very good deal!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Service
  • Disliked — Quantity of Food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Nothing special, but acceptable. I stayed here for 5 nights. Typically small Japanese hotel room, but the price was good. I don't have any big complaints. Little complaints include noticing that the carpets in the halls could use a shampooing; there was only one pillow per bed; and only 12 channels on the tv. None of the channels were devoted to English programming, although there was sometimes English-language news, sports or movies showing.

I never tried Jonathan's restaurant in the hotel. There was a Freshness Burger next door that I went to a few times. ROX department store nearby has a good little 24-hour grocery section in the basement that is relatively inexpensive, at least compared to other department store grocery prices. The actual area in front of the hotel looks pretty dead, but there's a big shopping arcade that starts next to ROX.

I never heard any of the staff speak English, although that might be because I tried to speak to them in my schoolboy Japanese.

If I'm the one paying, I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Good location, good value
  • Disliked — Small room size
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

I stayed at this hotel about a week in November 2007 (days were not consecutive). The rooms are very small but clean. One negative was that most rooms smelled like smoke (no non-smoking rooms). Cafe service was quick, food decent. Front desk staff very helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smoke smelling rooms, but you could ask to get window open.
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sunroute Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Asakusa

Address: 1-8-5 Kaminarimon, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0034, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 hotels in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Asakusa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Asakusa Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Asakusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.