We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for skiers wanting a stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annex Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Annex Katsutaro to your Saves list
Annex Katsutaro
2.5 of 5
Ryokan
  |   3-8-4 Yanaka, Taito 110-0001, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Check In Available!
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Well located for skiers wanting a stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This ryokan deserves its excellent reviews. A reasonably priced room which is spacious by Tokyo standards, clean and functional. The managers/owners were pleasant and helpful, and spoke good English. Excellent maps and brochures are provided to help you plan your sightseeing. What was great for us was the location: right in the middle of lovely Yanaka, and easy walking distance to everything. We walked (winter's evening) with our suitcases (on wheels) from Nippori station. It took about 10 minutes.

For people like us, who are having a stopover before heading out to Nagano for skiing, this is a perfect location. We caught the Keisei Skyliner from the airport, and Nippori is the first stop (only 40 mins). On the day we left for Nagano, we decided to catch a taxi to nearby Ueno. Annex Katsutaro is a 100 m walk to a main road with plenty of taxis - very easy. The shinkansen to Nagano stops at Ueno (you don't have to go to Tokyo station).

I thoroughly recommend Yanaka as a good alternative to staying in the heart of Tokyo. It is a quaint, historical area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    67
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
100
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This review is long overdue and I owe our host at Annex Katsutaro an apology for not posting sooner. More like a small hotel than a ryokan, Annex Katsutaro is clean and efficient. Our innkeeper was gracious enough to upgrade us to a larger room when we checked in – a very nice gesture. The real reason to stay here is the absolutely charming neighborhood that Annex Katsutaro is located in. Yanaka is an old-fashioned part of Tokyo, with many low-buildings and houses, and a very “local” feel. We hardly felt like tourists at all. Every single food recommendation our innkeeper gave us in Yanaka was spot on. The yakitori place just down the street was smoky, atmospheric, delicious – just perfect. The okonomiyaki place was incredibly accommodating, and nobody worked harder than the chef behind the counter to get our meal just right. The katsu place down the block had the friendliest hosts we’ve met in Japan. We ate fancy elsewhere in Tokyo, but we keep thinking back to the many wonderful and simple food experiences we had in Yanaka. When we go back to Tokyo, there’s no question we would stay in Annex Katsutaro again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest!

We are glad to know that you loved our surroundings and had a comfortable stay with us.
Also, we appreciate your comment . Your comment mean alot to us for our future improvement of service towards our guests.Thank you very much!!

We hope we can be of your service in the future again, maybe in another season or so.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not the best location to get around from, but if its your first days in Japan ever, then its a great place to start... The street just 1 minute walk from here really give an authentic feel of Japan, and the Yamanote line is only 3 minutes walk away. I really like it here, and have stayed here several times.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The position is very interesting extremely close to Sendagi Underground Station and not far from Nippori. The streets have very little traffic and are full of old fashioned charm. Small traditional restaurants and shops, combined with temples and shrines at every corner make this a very interesting break to the frenetic life in Tokyo. Can definitely recommend if you are young enough to stand up from a futon on the tatami. The owner is probably a little too reserved in a Japanese way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for staying at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan !!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our location.
We appreciate your comment .This means alot to us for our improvement to our future service.
Thank you so much.

We hope to be of your service again, maybe in another season or so!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I love this place! Stayed here for a total of 10 nights during the fall season (November).

LOCATION:
Pretty good location. It's near both the Sendagi and Nippori station. It's located in a pretty quiet neighborhood and surrounded with lots of great 24/7 convenient shops, take-away food joints, and restaurants. There are some indie shops there too (love the second hand book store and the cat-ish store). We even explored the cemetery over there; very serene and peaceful. It's apart from the hustle and bustle from the city, and you can get a good rest at night. I like that a lot.

RYOKAN:
The ryokan itself is even better -- The room is clean, cosy, and very very comfortable, albeit a little small. Loved the traditional Japanese bed on tatami, especially. The toilet is clean and modern with a tub. Thumbs up to the water pressure and good water heater.

SERVICE:
Very helpful staff there. Bought some bento take-away and they offered to help me heat them up with their microwave. Also, they have a map of the area with all the good restaurants and stores nearby. As we left Tokyo in the middle of our trip, they allowed us to leave our luggage in their storage area till we return.

DOWNSIDE:
The train stations do not have escalators or lifts and you have to actually lug your luggage up the stairs. Which is pretty intimidating especially if you're traveling with a huge luggage. Upon arrival I was lucky enough to bump into a nice local who helped me with it. But upon leaving I wasn't so lucky and had to spend a really long time trying to get my bulky 27kg luggage down. Thought this is something to take note of.

OVERALL:
Love it and would definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for staying at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest!
We also appreciate your comment . This means alot to us for our improvement toward our future guest. Thank you so much!!

We are glad to know that your stay with us was a comfortable one and you enjoyed our surrounding area.
Please do come back again maybe in another season or so.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked the last available room online (by e-mailing the Ryokan directly) the night before arriving in Tokyo and ended up with the deluxe room which sleeps up to 4 people even though we were only 2. The room was clean (with a western style bathroom) and the tatami-style floor beds were surprisingly comfortable - although for those unfamiliar with the concept, the bed is essentially a thin mattress on the ground. While the location is not central, it is about a 2-minute walk from the subway which is really the best way to navigate Tokyo. It is also very conveniently located from Nippori station (about a 5-7 minute walk) if you are coming in via the skyliner train from Narita airport. The Ryokan is also situated in a lovely little neighborhood filled with hidden temples and interesting shops, including one particular street that is lined with restaurants and vendors selling all sorts of yummy street food. It was really perfect for our 5-night stay visiting Tokyo.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe room if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights ate the end of our tour of Japan.

TRANSPORT: It is 2 mins from the metro, and 10 mins from Nippori station which is on the Yamanote Line (circle line). You can also catch the sky train to the airport direct from Nippori station.

LOCATION: It was a nice way to finish off Japan. It is an "older" preserved part of town, that the locals have fought to keep looking like it does. On the other side of Nippori station is fabric town which has tomato and other fabric stores (worth a visit). My husband and I spent half a day exploring the little back alley ways and the gorgeous cemetery up near the station (it is really beautiful and peaceful). The locals are friendly and there are lots of neighbourhood cats and cat themed stores.

INN: Clean, organised, futon floor beds are quite comfortable and it has a western style bathroom. The rooms have air conditioners, nice to escape the heat. The shower water pressure is very strong! They have a great map of the area with amazing food places marked down. The owners are very nice people, and you can store your luggage after checking out. You can pay with VISA cards. There is an elevator.

OVERALL: I highly recommend staying here, it is a gorgeous little part of Tokyo, and nice to come home to here as a base. There's a coffee shop 2 doors down that serves not too bad coffee which helped!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.katsutaro, マネージャー at Annex Katsutaro, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan.
It was a great pleasure to be of your assistance and we are glad to know that your stay with us was comfortable, and that you liked the area.

Also, we appreciate your comments.This means a lot to us for our future service.

We hope that you can come and visit us again maybe in another season or so!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Annex Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Katsutaro

Address: 3-8-4 Yanaka, Taito 110-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annex Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Annex Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annex Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Annex Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annex Katsutaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.