We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensoji Temple

Sensoji Temple
2-3-1 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)
+81 3-3842-0181
Improve this listing
Visit Sensoji Temple like an insider
Top Rated
$56*
and up
Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo...
Ranked #2 of 96 things to do in Taito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: According to legend, two brothers kept trying to return a statue of Kannon, the goddess of mercy, to the Sumida River only to have it returned to them the next day. This temple located in Tokyo's Asakusa district was built to honor her.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Busy, but impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed in this area, and I really enjoyed being about to walk through this area to get to my hostel. It's very easy to find off the Asakusa line (there's another line, but I can't remember the name) and there are tons of little shops and things in the area. I highly recommend walking through both during the day, and in the evening when the shrine and shops are closed. Very different atmospheres, but both are nice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    921
    215
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great tourist attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Awesome Japanese traditional architecture! Impressive temple, very nice place for a tourist to visit. Also there is a market with lots of interesting local stuff to browse through, so a perfect place to buy presents & souvenirs to bring home.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Unfortunately I arrived at Sensoji Temple after the majority of stalls etc had closed for the evening, but the temple still looked beautiful lit-up against the night sky. There's some very interesting shops and restaurants nearby, and of all of Tokyo Asakusa retains the best example of old-world charm and is worth visiting. The perfect site for a postcard Tokyo photo!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice temple surrounded by super tacky shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed next to this temple for a week. The temple itself is a very nice bit of architecture and quite impressive to find in the middle of the city; however, if you're going to Kyoto, I would say it doesn't really compare to any of the temples/shrines you see down there.

The shopping street around it sells the tackiest, trite souvenirs you can imagine (good place if you want those), and it's oppressively crowded.

If you want temples with an authentic feel in Japan, go elsewhere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Japan photographic temple in heart of Tokyo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The temple is preceeded by a great little street full of sweets and touristy knick knacks. I quite like the atmosphere of the area, although some people may be turned off by the spoilling of tranquility. The thunder gate at the front is awesome, and you have some nice views of the Tokyo skytree closeby too. Highly recommend the visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sensoji Temple also viewed

 

Been to Sensoji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensoji Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.