We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Unique Shops” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sensoji Temple

Sensoji Temple
2-3-1 Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0032, Japan
+81 3-3842-0181
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 65 attractions in Taito
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: According to legend, two brothers kept trying to return a statue of Kannon, the goddess of mercy, to the Sumida River only to have it returned to them the next day. This temple located in Tokyo's Asakusa district was built to honor her.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lots of Unique Shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were on a JTB / Sunrise Tour. We really liked all the unique shops that lined the street. One of them even could personalize chopsticks for us in minutes, which was really cool. The temple itself is very busy and popular. Remember to wave the incense towards you for good luck. There is also some interesting sites to the right of the temple. If you are a knick knak kind of person, then this is the place for you. While it may not be the cheapest souvenir area, it did have everything you needed to take home from a trip to Tokyo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    551
    130
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I expected more....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Well I thought it will be something really amazing, place where you can feel history, religion… place with soul…. In the end I had a feeling that I’m on a market instead of temple. Thousands of tourists, boutiques with souvenirs. I was there but never go again…

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Feel so tourisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Somehow, I'm not wow-ed by this temple. I don't know why. Maybe because Senso-ji Temple is open and free type of temple and became one of the main tourist spot in Tokyo and so crowded, so it lose its solemness ambiance. I'm not saying its not beautiful, but it just miss something.

But I love the architecture of the temple, the red color, the black and gold streak. The Temple with its main gate (in front of Nakamise Street Market) and behind gate still feel majestic though.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Where Tokyo Began”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is where Tokyo began (named Edo at the time) and it was as consecrated as it was entertaining. This is still true to this day.
Enter through the Kaminarimon, or Thunder Gate. On the day of our visit the giant lantern was not on display, though.
The Nakamise-dori that leads to the main temple is a 200-meters stretch of street packed with souvenir shops on each side. Souvenirs sold here range from magnets to key chains, from Japanese dolls to handheld fans, from candies to senbei (baked Japanese rice crackers), and many many more! If that's not enough, there's Shin-Nakamise, a side street that cuts through Nakamise-dori, which has even more shops and restaurants!
The main hall of Sensoji is glorious and, personally, I could feel tranquility in the main temple area although there were probably 500 people around me at that time. I recommend coming on a weekday morning to be able to enjoy the temple and its surroundings while it's quiet and serene.
In Sensoji there are also the five storey Pagoda, Awashimado Hall, Yogodo Hall, Yakushido Hall, Bentendo, Chingodo, Nitenmon Gate and Komagatado Hall.
If you want to experience a daily life in Edo, try riding one of the rickshaws usually found just outside of the temple grounds.
A must visit when you're in Tokyo!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Majestic Temple!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This temple was the very first temple I visited on my first visit to Japan, and I thought it was absolutely breath-taking, majestic, and grand -- one of my personal favorites in Japan and a must-see. Its royal red color and typical Japanese architecture makes it all the more special. You must walk through the Nakamise Shopping Street to reach it, however, which is a destination in itself!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sensoji Temple also viewed

 

Been to Sensoji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensoji Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sensoji Temple to your Saves list