We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious room - a gem in Asakusa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC to your Saves list
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16-11 Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, spacious room - a gem in Asakusa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Modern hotel, conveniently located near Asakusa line (tip: take the Kaminarimon Exit from Asakusa or you'll end up climbing a bunch of stairs from a different exit and walk further to the hotel which is exactly what we did by mistake the first time we got to the station!); walking distance to Sensoji Temple and with a convenient supermarket on the ground floor with fresh produce (plump grapes, juicy Fuji apples, etc).

Room: We stayed in the Double Essential Room which was very comfortable for 2 by Japan standards; loved the rain shower especially after a long and hot day of walking around Japan.

Location: Great if you're planning to visit the northern bit of Tokyo - Tokyo Sky Tree, Ueno and Akihabara are all a few short stops away. Might be a bit trickier if you wanted to spend most of your time in Shinjuku / Shibuya and Harajuku though but I switched hotels by that part of my trip. There's also plenty of food options within a 5-10 minute walk around the area - sushi, ramen and even fast food options for those craving something more familiar - though most Japanese restaurants seem to close at around 9PM on a weekday.

Staff service / English language: Staff was very accommodating and patient, though communicating in English was at times a bit difficult and required repetition and written instructions. Was a bit disappointed when one staff advised that there was no Hakone cable car when I later found out from Odakyu travel centre that there indeed was such a service...

Improvements: 1) Staff could be better trained at providing travel advice to tourists... 2) Would be great if the hotel could provide bottled water in the room, particularly as it was the absolute height of summer when we visited...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    113
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
117
140
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westfiled, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gate Hotel in Tokyo. The location close to the Tokyo Skytree. The location close to two subway stations, grocery stores and Starbucks is a big plus. The rooms are small by American standards but, we have to remember this is Tokyo.

When we had problems with our assigned room, the Reception personnel were not able to help and we requested to see the manager. Yoshio (spelling?), the manager was very courteous and efficient. He was able to solve our issues with aplomb.

The restaurant is small but breakfast served was decent.

We have no complaints re this hotel and will stay at this place again next time we visit Tokyo.

Room Tip: Rooms on 12th floor cost more but worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

There is direct train service from the Haneda airport and the station is short walk to the hotel and famed Sensoji Temple. The are many restaurants and stores nearby. The hotel is new and rooms are comfortable. The in-room WIFI works really well. It will be really ideal if more variety of food can be offered at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izumo, Japan
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel an overnight in late July 2013. The hotel is located in front of Kaminari-mon street nearby "Kaminari-mon" which is one of the very famous spot in Japan . My stayed comfortable, clean, quiet and wide guest room was located at the north-east corner on the 6th floor. The room has two exellent beds, small japanese bathroom and partially wide view of Asakusa. Though I could watch Sensouji temple, unfortunately couldn't watch Tokyo Sky Tree in my stayed room. But, I could watch it at 13th floor reception desk and dinning facility or 14th floor public terrace. Western type breakfast was very good. We can select eggs benedict or scrambled egg. Fresh vegetables, fruits, bakeries, frand drink was buffet service. The hotel was very clean, and staff was very kindly with smile. I recommend with confidence the hotel is one of the best accommodations in Tokyo.

Room Tip: I recommend to you reserving scenic room as same as my stayed room on higher floor by web site as ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Asakusa.

We believe you had a memorable time in Asakusa. Now, a fresh breeze started to blow in the roof terrace and we are ready to welcome early autumn now.

Please come by our hotel again and have a special time with us.We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the Gate for two nights in July 2013 as part of a longer trip.
We were impressed by the styling and the service, though it doesn't offer a full range of services (no room service, for instance).
Staff were efficient and happy to help us organise restaurant and bar bookings.
We would stay at the Gate again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We hope you had a memorable time in Asakusa.

We believe your trip would be one of best memoriable trip of your life.
Please come by our hotel again. All of us are so happy to see you at Asakusa very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Gate Hotel on our recent trip to Tokyo and were amazed by the excellent service at the hotel. The hotel staff helped us find our way around the city and even upgraded us to a beautiful suite in honor of our recent wedding! The room was stunning! The restaurant and rooftop at The Gate are both amazing and it's very well located. We had a great time here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Asakusa.

Thank you for your comments about rooms, restaurant and our service. We are happy if you feel helpful that restaurant open for 24 hours, espcially for the guest from outside with time difference.

Please come by our hotel again and have a special time with us at Asakusa.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is very fresh and new! the rooms are larger than anticipated and very comfortable. The Staff is excellent! Restaurant is very good quality and open 24 hours albeit with a somewhat limited range. However, you can walk to many food options and Asakusa station just 2 blocks away. Breakfast on the 13th floor outside deck was a treat. The lobby is also on 13 with a nice lounge area and excellent views.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Asakusa with us.
Thank you for your comments about rooms, restaurant and particularly our staff. It is always a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated. You can stay at restaurant for 24 hours with grand menu.

Please come by our hotel again and have a special time with a cup of coffee in the splendid view of Asakusa.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC

Address: 2-16-11 Kaminarimon, Taito 111-0034, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taito
#1 Business Hotel in Taito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon By HULIC Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.