We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and very convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC

Save Saved
You added THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16-11 Kaminarimon, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0034, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 hotels in Taito
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great views and very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel just across the road from the Thunder Gate. The service is excellent and the breakfast very good. The hotel has an amazing roof terrace with outdoor heaters and a small bar. This is only open to hotel residents so doesn't get too crowded. if it is chilly the staff provide blankets to keep you warm whilst you admire the view of the Skytree.
In a vibrant area of Tokyo with lots of interesting shops and restaurants. Also very convenient for the metro and river cruises. The rooms are slightly small with very little space between the end of the bed and the wall. However the bathroom was excellent and had a bath with a view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Asakusa.

A fresh breeze started to blow in the roof terrace and we are ready to welcome early summer now.
Please come by our hotel again and have a special time with a cup of coffee in the splendid view of Asakusa.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    44
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
38
44
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This a great hotel. The rooms have a nice decor. My favorite part was the rain shower head. The people at the front desk are really helpful. There's a convenient grocery store on the first floor and a 7/11 just one block away. The subway is also just one block away. Great location and great view from the lobby and rooftop bar!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Our sincere thanks to you for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC and for taking the time to write your review.
We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.
The groccery store on the 1st floor is very convenient and may be interesting with many Japanese food and goods.

Please drop by our hotel again when you visit Tokyo.
We look foward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

the gate hotel was brand new, very comfortable and pleasant. the room and bathroom had a great layout. the breakfast was good and abundant and the servers were very coordial. the location is easy in relation to the subway -across the street and at the end of the ginza line. there is plenty to see, eat and explore within walking distance too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We hope you had a memorable time in Asakusa.
Please come by our hotel again. All of us are so happy to help you enjoy Asakusa very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family and I just returned from a one week stay at the Gate. This is a terrific new hotel with a helpful english-speaking manager, a beautiful rooftop lobby, terrace and restaurant, and a nice staff. The location is perfect, in historic Asakusa, with excellent restaurants and shopping, and transit close by. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: The rooms facing Tokyo Skytree have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We hope you and your family had a comfortable and enjoyable time in Tokyo.
Our hotel had just opened in August last year. We are delighted to hear that you liked our hotel from the location, restaurant to staffs.
We look foward to seeing you again in Asakusa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gate Hotel Kaminarimon for one night, and we were both very impressed with the room, the amenities, the service, the food, and the amazing views.

This hotel seems to have been built and designed by people who care about what they are doing. Everything has thought behind it, from the 13th-floor lobby with floor-to-ceiling windows showing off Asakusa and Skytree, to the magnificent "rain dance" shower.

I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Tokyo for business or pleasure, and I recommend the bar/restaurant for anyone wanting a great backdrop for a date or special occasion. My girlfriend loved the creme brulee, and she can be a bit of a dessert-snob if things are not done right.

Room Tip: Our 9th-floor room had a good view of Skytree, though I think we would have been just as happy on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
We are so happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a sweet and memorable time at our hotel and are very honored to have received such an almost undue amount of compliments from you. We would like to continue to offer a comfortbale and special time.

If you have a chance to come to Asakusa, please drop in on us anytime again.
We look foward to welcoming you back to our hotel in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

There's something very wonderful and unique about the Gate Hotel. My experience started with the friendly and professional reception at the front desk upon arrival after a long overseas trip. The Balcony Suite is well-appponted with many amenities and extras. The service is the among the best I have ever experienced. I had several special requests including an extra desk chair, luggage rack and clothes rack, and within minutes this was taken care of.... with a smile. I was asked what time I would like Housekeeping to clean the room, and they come each day precisely at that time. Someone really thought about how to offer a traveler an excellent hotel experience, and the Gate Hotel absolutely does, right down to every little detail. it's convenient to shops, restaurants, rail stations, grocery stores and a Starbucks. I wish every hotel was half this good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC and for taking the time to write your review.

We are so happy to hear that you had a confortable stay with us. As you said, our location is very convenience place for business & also shightseeing, therefore we think many guests love this place to stay. Also we are glad that you had enjoyed the balcony suite room with faced Kaminarimon street. We are looking forward to serving you again. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asakura, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I'm not a person of many words but let me just say that my stay at this particular hotel was in a word MAGNIFICENT! The rooms are clean spacious and comfortable. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable & courteous even in the face of grand misunderstandings ::)
The food in the 13th floor restaurant is amazing as is the service.

The Bar; Legendary! (there are TWO!)

There is a grand view from the hotel lobby strangely located on the top floor and one of the biggest treats is the roof top lounge (which I'll leave as a surprise to future guests!)

If you visit Asakusa, Japan stay at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC, period.

I will miss my friends on the staff:(

Room Tip: Ask for a Skytree view on the upper floors;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ゲートホテル雷門, マネージャー at THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We would like to thank you for staying at THE GATE HOTEL KAMINARIMON by HULIC.
Thank you for the compliment. It was a great pleasure to serve you.
We look forward to seeing you again on November!!!
We miss you, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC

Address: 2-16-11 Kaminarimon, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0034, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taito
#1 Family Hotel in Taito
#2 Business Hotel in Taito
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Venere so you can book your THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon By HULIC Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.