We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and memorable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan Katsutaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ryokan Katsutaro to your Saves list
Ryokan Katsutaro
2.5 of 5
Ryokan
  |   4-16-8 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Check In Available!
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic and memorable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Conveniently located near Ueno station, this Ryokan offers beautiful rooms that are over and above anything you'd find in a hotel or hostel for the same value. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the whole place almost feels as if you are staying in someone's house which is an unexpected pleasure so far from home.

The Japanese style beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and fully equipped and overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Ryokan.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
35
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tangerang, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Ryokan Katsutaro is a very comfortable & clean .. When we arrived, they had prepared rooms clean, spacious, fully equipped & comfortable .. The owner is also very friendly .. We are happy to stay at Ryokan Katsutaro .. We hope we can come to Japan and can stay there again .. Japan is very beautiful, truly the land of my dreams .. We love Japan

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

stayed 6 nights while in tokyo in 9/2011

pros
- the biggest advantage is near ueno park, which is a rarity in the concrete jungle of tokyo, a nice respite if tired of the lights and sounds and bustle of people. its in the museum district, also zoo, universities, etc
-some rooms w computers
-homey, quiet
- free wifi
- no curfew


cons
-not near the nightlife district if one inclined
-a bit of walk to train station (10-12 min), subway station (5-7min) most of time require transfers to locations of interest

Room Tip: ask for a room with computer in it ; maybe able to get a room w bathroom paying lower rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We spent 4 nights in this Ryokan at the beginning of September.

The ryokan do not require you to pay while checking in and provides tea, coffee and yukata for every one. We had a japanese room, which was quite big, with even a computer linked to internet inside ! The rate was 9.600Y per night for us, our baby was free but we had a bed for him. An other good point for our baby was the bath in the bathroom.
Last good point, they accept international credit cards.
Just one regret: they do not have a front desk, so that you do not see often the owner. And his wife does not speak english.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed in this place for 3 nights. We felt so homey and treated excellent. The room comes with a very comfortable bed, computer usage inside the room (can you imagine that). also laundry service is free. The owner was really nice and tried to do the best for us. They asked us to write here that tokyo is now safe to visit. I hope this will bring them more business as well.

The location is about 10 minutes walking from ueno station which was fine with us. Walking to ueno garden to view the cherry blossom was also handy.

Will def come back and recommend to people who wants to stay in tokyo in comfortable place and in budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

First of all: It's completely safe to come to Tokyo. Yes there were a couple of afterquakes (most of which barely noticable), but they've stopped completely now. Do not, I repeat, DO NOT cancel your trip because of the earthquakes. The hostels are in a really tight spot right now because travellers are afraid for nothing. And think of it this way: less tourists, more fun for you!

The service in Ryokan Katsutaro has been by far the friendliest I've ever encountered. For example, because of the cancellations I was the only customer in the whole ryokan, so they let me use their most expensive room for the price of the cheapest one. The room with the bath is a beautiful one: tatami, paper doors, low table and pillows for sitting on. Room is kept very clean, for example they fold the end of the toilet paper in a way that looks really neat.

When you consider that Ueno is a very easy place to reach from Narita airport, Ryokan Katsutaro is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We had a comfortable stay at the Ryokan. The moment we arrived, we were greeted by the manager who was very pleasant making us feel right at home. He gave some quick instructions and a guide map of surrounding areas.

Our room was always kept clean and we had a nice rest after a long day of walking. The cable internet in the room is quite fast too. The room comes with pair Yukata which you can use while inside the Ryokan. As a bonus, they offer free instant coffee & green tea anytime of the day.

Going to Narita Airport is also quite convenient. You can walk for 15 mins or take the nearby bus stop which will bring you to Keisei Ueno Station (for transfer to airport).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Katsutaro

Address: 4-16-8 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ryokan Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Ryokan Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan Katsutaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.