We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan Katsutaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ryokan Katsutaro to your Saves list
Ryokan Katsutaro
2.5 of 5
Ryokan
  |   4-16-8 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Check In Available!
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
4.0 of 5 stars 74 Reviews
Penang, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed here on the last day before we head out of Japan. The place was not that far from the nearest Metro station, < 5 minutes walk. And Ueno Station is just 15-20 minutes walk away. The room was clean and was larger than other Ryokan that we stayed. It was very clean and the attached bathroom was very convenient. There was free internet as well. 7/11 was between the subway and the ryokan making getting water and snacks easy. Booking was easy, just filled up the site and the ryokan will reply to confirm. We mailed the ryokan a couple of weeks before we travel just to make sure they had the reservation and they were very friendly. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in July.
The room was small, but suited our purposes, as we were rarely there. The price was pretty good for Tokyo.
The bathroom was small, which was typical of everywhere we stayed in Japan.
The bathtub was not sealed, and as a result, there was mold growing all around it.
There was free internet on the first floor, and a laundry upstairs by our room.
It was an okay stay, a budget type room in tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed 6 nights at Ryokan Katsutaro while we were in Tokyo, in the double room with private bath, and we loved it! The ryokan is about a 10-minute walk from the JR Ueno station, but it is so pretty walking by Ueno park that we did not mind at all. The room and private bathroom was tidy and spotless. For the price, I thought it was quite spacious. The sleeping area with the futon (which was very comfortable!) could be blocked off with sliding shoji screen doors which was really nice, as I had terrible jetlag but my husband slept just fine through the night. There was a 2prong to 3-prong adaptor in the room as well as an ethernet cable for internet access, which I did not appreciate nearly so much until we stayed at two other places that didn't have either - and one of those places was business hotel chain that cost $40 more per night! The owners are friendly; they provide guests with a very nice bilingual, detailed map of the neighborhood with shops and restaurants. We hope to visit Tokyo again soon and will definitely choose to stay there again!

  • Liked — Clean, inexpensive
  • Disliked — Steep stairs to get to rooms - would not be able to do this if you were handicapped
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

We used the Katsutaro ryokan as our base for a 4 night stay in Tokyo in January 2007.
The ryokan is located about 10-15 minutes' walk from Ueno station, but there is a little bus that takes you from right next to the ryokan to the station in about 3 minutes, every 10 minutes, for just 100 yen. The bus is only going to Ueno - to get back you have to walk.
We only used the ryokan as a base. You can have breakfast there but we never did. Our room was clean, had its own bathroom, and was in japanese style (tatami mats, futon beds, etc). Great fun to experience a taste of Japan.
There's a small lounge downstairs with numerous books on Japan (in English) and also 2 computers with free internet for the compulsory mails back home.
Would recommend to budget travellers, and would stay there again!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location - can be tiring walking back after a long day sightseeing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springtown, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

This is a neat, clean little (just 7 rooms) ryokan. The owners are friendly, although they speak little English, and we would definitely stay there again. They are located about 10 or so minutes from Ueno and Nezu train stations, there is a handy little convenience store across the street, and a litle communal room where you can use the Internet. Beds (on the floor Japanese style) are very warm and comfortable, and the shower is great with lots of hot water. Walls are a little thin and easily heard through, and while they have non-smoking rooms, the smoke smell from smokers in other rooms does have a tendency to seep into your room as well. The little space heater in the room heats quite well and there is a communal refrigerator to store food and drinks in, as well as a TV in the rooms (Japanese shows only.). The only thing they don't have is a microwave to use. Rooms are spotless, and the neighborhood is safe. If you are not in need of a lot of luxury and fancy amenities, stay here. Priced at about $112 a night for 3 of us, it was well worth it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — Walls a bit thin and smoke from other rooms seeping in
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2006

We loved Ryokan Katsutaro, it had very friendly staff, we were blessed with an early check-in after our arrival fromTakayama, there is a small shared community space (with chairs & table, internet & the daily newspaper. The photos on their website show everything exactly as we found it. It was great value (we were a family of 4 in a room with a 2nd Japanese bedroom). The walk to Ueno station and Nezu subway are flat & easy (10 & 5 minutes as shown on there website). This gives rapid access to all the sights in Tokyo. It was clean & safe, an absolute gem, I would happily go back every time.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan Katsutaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Katsutaro

Address: 4-16-8 Ikenohata, Taito 110-0008, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Katsutaro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ryokan Katsutaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Katsutaro Hotel Taito
Ryokan Katsutaro Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan Katsutaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.