We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Will Come Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond hotel Asakusa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond hotel Asakusa to your Saves list
Richmond hotel Asakusa
2-7 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Will Come Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

With business/tourist hotels in Japan it is a bit of a hit-and-miss. Sometimes you end up in a thoroughly smoked-through (non-smoking) room with a tiny bed, even tinier bathroom, and the romantic view of a brick wall. And sometimes it is quite the opposite: Richmond hotel offers comfortable, though not particularly large, rooms with excellent beds, nice flatscreen tv and a small desk. The bathroom is typically 'Tokyo' small. It reminded me a bit of the toilet in an airplane but it must be said: everything was there. There is a small bath tub, nice shower (in-tub), Japanese toilet, washing basin, and good complimentary toiletries. Service is excellent, the staff speaks good English, and are very helpful. We did not book the breakfasts though. It's about 1100 yen we were told and the restaurant looked quite nice but we knew there were two Starbucks' nearby which makes self-catering very easy (plus I prefer their coffee over what hotels in Japan usually serve). One of the greatest plus-points of this hotel is the location, literally around the corner from the big temple and near to many, many small, cute eateries. Metro station is a five minute walk away as well. We have already decided that we will be coming back to this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    172
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
90
75
143
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The management here have got it right. Great location, room and price. Fabulous breakfast, and great value too. Also an opportunity to see two towers lit up at night - 5 pillar pagoda and Tokyo Skytree. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have been really positively impressed with this nice hotel in Tokyo : we choosed a standard room and it was quite big for japanese standard, actually. The personnel was polite and helpful, though we hadn't asked them so much, except for an adapter for european electrical tools. Situation was excellent, as I really like the "old-fashioned" atmosphere of Asakusa, almost unique in this modern city. Two metro lines (Ginza line and another one) have an Asakusa station, which is located 5 minutes by foot from the hotel. The hotel is also 2 minutes from Senso-ji Temple. Would definitely come again in this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This place was fantastic. Its location and proximity to anything you made need in Taito made it the perfect spot. The rates were good as well as the friendly staff. Very accommodating!! Comfortable room and great beds. You can;t go wrong with this location of the Hotel Richmond!! Thank you and we will see you again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Loved the location and atmosphere of the surrounding neighborhood. The temple was steps away, and the subway system was easy to navigate to get anywhere in Tokyo. A gentle walk to nearby Ueno Park. The view from my room was of the neighboring temple, 5-story pagoda, and Sky Tree Tower. Since this was on a pedestrian street, my room was extremely quiet. The room charge was very reasonable, especially compared to hotel rooms closer to central Tokyo. The room was comfortable, efficient and clean and the staff was very helpful and fluent in English. At the end of my trip I also stayed at the Richmond Hotel Narita, which was consistent with my experience at the Asakusa location.

Room Tip: Ask for a temple view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Booked the Richmond after reading Trip Advisior reviews - wasnt my first choice and was a little concerned how far from Tokyo Station, but what a great find. Simple to get too via subway; simpler on the ground - head to the massive temple, take a left just past the 5 level tower, and you're there.
Great rooms, great service, great b'fast included in the room rate. Small rooms - but so is everywhere in Japan and especially Tokyo.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great location and the staff were friendly and vey helpful.
The area has lots of history and markets and very close to the subway.
The breakfast restaurant has a wide variety of Western and Japanese selections to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond hotel Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond hotel Asakusa

Address: 2-7 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taito
#2 Family Hotel in Taito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Richmond hotel Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond hotel Asakusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.