We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To stay here is to easily accomplish must visit places on your Tokyo tour bucket list” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond hotel Asakusa

Save Saved
You added Richmond hotel Asakusa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond hotel Asakusa
2-7 Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 hotels in Taito
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“To stay here is to easily accomplish must visit places on your Tokyo tour bucket list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel was spic and span. The black and white interior and exterior design of the hotel added a dash of elegance to an otherwise simple hotel. The double room we stayed on was small with hardly any room to move about. But it's surprisingly well-equipped with the modern facilities that one has come to expect in a hotel. Front desk staff was accommodating and friendly enough. Can communicate well in English.

But for me, location was tops! the surrounding streets and alleyways of the hotel are sights in itself. Restaurants come alive in the evenings with locals possibly having an after work downtime. It's a five minute walk to Sensoji Temple and the Asakusa market. It's also a five minute taxi ride to the Tokyo Skytree Tower.

Though it's about 30-45 minutes away from central tokyo I would still choose this hotel. To stay here is to easily accomplish must visit places on your Tokyo tour bucket list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    123
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
74
52
111
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A superb, new hotel in a wonderful location where everything a guest might need has been considered and provided, at a good price (low-intermediate range). Desk staff were young, professional and eager to assist, with sufficient English to do so. One came to the laundry room to assist me personally, when I phoned with a question. Small rooms and b/rooms of course, but to be expected in Japan and flawlessly clean. I had a top-floor room, non-smoking floor; not a hint of tobacco odour anywhere in the hotel. There was no noise, the mattress was new and the TV quality and reception was astonishing (Sony Bravia) but no international channels. The high speed wi-fi connection was automatic and always available. Bar fridge had an on-off switch for use and was silent on. Other eco options; magnetic door stickers for 'tidy only', 'keep sheets/towels', 'no room clean today' etc. Buffet breakfast option was a bargain. Senso-ji is but a short stroll from the door, with dozens of side streets and alleyways to explore, hundreds of little shops, bars and restaurants. I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This a is new hotel located next to the famous Sensoji termple,Asakusa Tokyo. The hotel is new, clean, with large rooms( in Tokyo standards) with all the facilities. I stayed in this hotel for 2 days in May 2013. My room was a delux facing the Sensoji temple and the view was excellent during day and night when the temple is lit up.
The breakfast buffet was good and the spread was sufficient.
The hotel is conveniently located for anyone visiting Tokyo. The access from Narita is easy , fast and cheap. Access to city toois easy as metro stations are close by. The attractions such as Ueno, sky tree are close by.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: a room on the temple side is recommended for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I spend 3 nights in the Richmond Hotel Asakusa from 1st to 4th June 2013. The hotel is very new, modern, spotless clean. The rooms are quite big for japanese standards. Everything you could wish for was there...big 40" LCD TV, fridge, small sitting area, phone charger compatible with most phones, WIFI connection in the rooms, great hair dryer, shavers, brushes, one-way sponges, toothbrush.

All staff was very friendly, just one gentleman at the front desk (I suppose it was the manager on duty on 4th of June) was a bit unfriendly (maybe due to not understanding English). I was asking very politely the nice front desk lady whether there is a washroom in the common areas of the hotel where I would clean up before leaving to the airport late in the evening. He inquired from her what I want and then looked at me as if I would be asking for the most absurd thing in the world. I tried asking him again, not sure what the lady had translated, but he still completely disregarded me and handled the situation not very professionally and definitely not in a polite way. In the end it was me apologising for my question and retreating gracefully.

Nevertheless a really great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Easy check-in to this new hotel in Asakusa with great views over the Senso-ji temple if your room is on the east side of the hotel. Pleasant staff with good English. It's in a great location for sightseeing.

Be warned, the rooms are tiny and there was barely enough room to walk round the bed, but that's the only downside. The rooms are clean and well-equipped and the shower has great water pressure. Breakfast is a buffet with Japanese and Western choices. I didn't eat in the restaurant at any other times.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A great place to take in Tokyo. New hotel in a great location with really nice staff, we arrived before lunch and they were happy to store our bags until we checked in after a day exploring which was appreciated.
Free computers in the lobby and nice rooms with views, the breakfast was of really good quality and choices withg lots of Japanese stuff to try.
Also when here have a drink at the Kamiya Bar, a great and fun way to meet the locals in fun surrounds (lots of smokers) and drink some of the Denki Brand Whiskey.
Whenever back in Tokyo will stay at the Richmond!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the Skytower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

All staff very nice and polite, they help us to found transportation to Airport. Hotel amenities very good. The room is clear and clean. We are satisfied to live in this hotel. This hotel is in a great location.

Room Tip: Room is clear and clean, the amenities very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond hotel Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond hotel Asakusa

Address: 2-7 Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0032, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taito
#2 Family Hotel in Taito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Richmond hotel Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond hotel Asakusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.