We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Great Value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi to your Saves list
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5-5 Asakusabashi, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0053, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Location, Great Value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Mystays is a great value for staying in pricey Tokyo. It has great restaurants and shopping nearby and is within walking distance of subway station. Rooms are small by American standards but adequate and very clean. I am 6'1 (182cm) and I had no problems. The only small disadvantage is lack of in room WIFI, but every room has a wired internet access so bring an access point or buy one at nearby Akihabara. There is a supermarket next door for snacks and other needs. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    128
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
82
87
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was clean and convenient, with less than a 5 minute walk to both the Asakusa-bashi JR and Tokyo Metro station. It is actually also about ~7-10 minute walk to the Akihabara district, and 2 subway stops from Asakusa station, which are two regions of Tokyo that is definitely worth checking out. There is also a Lawson convenience store connected to the hotel lobby.

I was able to hear the JR station's announcements and rail noises faintly from the hallway of the hotel on the 11F, but it was not loud or distracting enough to hamper my stay. As par usual of Japanese business hotel, the room was not big, but it was sufficient. There is no wifi in the rooms, so make sure you have a device that can take an Ethernet cable if you want to use the included Internet services. There are also free laundry machines and dryers (3x) that guests can use, and you can buy a packet of detergent for 100 yen.

The staff was very professional. We arrived in late, at around midnight, when check-in was suppose to end at 11p, but the front was still fully staffed until we were able settle in comfortably. English was a bit limited, but between hand language and a bit of help from Google Translate, we were able to get by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We opted to stay away from the main hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas of Tokyo and were not disappointed. The area where the hotel is located is excellent - a residential part of town which feels like real Japan. People going about their daily business and restaurants and bars that cater for locals and not tourists (though Tokyo doesn't really cater much for tourists anyhow!). There are plenty of great places to eat nearby and the food in every one was excellent. There is even a branch of the Japanese fast-food giant Yoshinoya which offers fantastic food at great prices and a starbucks-style coffee shop.

The hotel itself was not easy to find but we asked a local and after many hand signals and confused look she kindly walked us straight to the front door! The staff on reception were very professional and polite and spoke reasonable English. We had arrived at 8am though and checkin time is not until 3pm so we were told we couldn't check in. I paid an extra 10 euros each to checkin early and we were told to come back at 1pm!! This is not particular to this hotel though and seems to be a normal Japanese policy as we were told the same at most of the hotels we stayed at.

After a very long 5 hours, dying of jet lag we got back to the hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the room. It was small but not tiny as some of the rooms in Tokyo can be. The double-bed was on the narrow side but it was relatively comfortable and had all mod cons including flat screen tv and tea and coffee making facilities. The obligatory robe and slippers were also provided. The bathroom was one of the plastic cubicles that seems standard in Japanese mid.-range hotels, complete with bath, very powerful shower and toilet with remote controls to spray warm water wherever takes your fancy! Perfectly useable. There wasn't much space to spread out and sort your cases out but, like I said, this is perfectly normal in Tokyo. The room was warm (very important in winter in Tokyo!) and you could control the temperature with a thermostat. The hotel is also connected to a Lawsons convenience store which makes popping down to get drinks and snacks very easy.

Within 10 minutes walk of the hotel is the beautiful Senso-ji temple and a myriad of other attractions. Asakusa was the original Geisha district of Tokyo and there is lots to see. Transport links are fantastic and we arrived at Asakusabashi on a direct train from Haneda Airport - a very welcome stragiht-forward journey. Getting to the major parts of the city was a breeze, once you have mastered the ticket machines. Word of warning also, there are TWO stations near the hotel - the nearest is the train station, not the metro and tickets are not transferable. The first time we bought tickets for the wrong one and ended up 10 euros worse off! It you want to get to the metro follow the overhead train tracks, walk past the entrance to the station until you reach the main road and the metro is on your left.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel. Great value for money and a convenient location with clean rooms and good service.

Room Tip: Twin rooms seem to be bigger than doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I love this hotel because it is very near to West Exit Asakusabashi Station (only 1-2 minutes walking) and Asakusa Line Subway (3-4 minutes walk to the east Exit), it has Lawson convenience store connected to the lobby, it has laundry room. The room is very neat and tidy, the bathroom is also very clean with a selection of high quality amenities. But it would be perfect if they provide wifi in the rooms. I used Apple AirPort Express and it works well with the LAN inside my room to create an in room wifi. I chose Twin room with Skytree view room but I don't think it is worth it. The staffs are very helpful and they speak good English too. A very rare experience at Japanese business hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Location:
2 minutes from the Asakusa bashi Train station...
20-25 minutes train ride to Shinjuku, Shibuya with a transfer at Akihabara station.

Room:
The room is very very clean, small but enough, the bed is comfortable, room is quiet.
Toilet very clean with a small but deep bathtub...:D

Service:
reception staff is helpful and nice, their english are ok, sufficient for general conversation and queries.
There is free laundry with dryer at lobby, one 7-11 downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here on October 2012, this hotel is well located near to Asakusabashi and Akihabara stations. From airport there is a service that goes to asakusanashi (ask before buy ticket) and from there you are in a short 5 minutes walk in hotel. Hotel has friendly staff with full command of English and also a convenient shop in ground floor. Rooms are small but functional and clean everyday. Plenty of restaurants and food choices in this area, 10 mins walk to the electronic city Akihabara that has plenty of things to see and is the transport hub to Tokyo main attractions. Highly recommended hotel, will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maassluis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A new (2013) and clean hotel. Good beds even for larger Western European persons. Rooms aren't big but are big enough.

You have a good desk with a wired Internet connection that you can easily extend to wifi with your own airport router. There is air conditioning in every room that you can easily control yourself. The hotel is open 24 hours a day but at night you need your room key to get into the lobby.

There is no breakfast or bar and I didn't see any options for room service or mini bar. There is a small shop downstairs that is open all the time and there is a 24 hour supermarket across the street. You have a small fridge in your room to store snacks and drinks.

The entrance of the JR line is less than 100 meters from the front door of the hotel. The Akihabara district is a 10 minutes walk.

We had a great stay in Tokyo and a simple but sufficient hotel. The price is extremely low for the quality of this hotel.

Room Tip: 1 Person bedroom on 10th floor was great. No significant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi

Address: 1-5-5 Asakusabashi, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 111-0053, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Taito
#6 Family Hotel in Taito
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystays Inn Asakusa-Bashi Hotel Taito
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-Bashi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.