We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for city visit or business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho to your Saves list
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5-7 Matsugaya, Taito 111-0036, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Mystays Ueno ホテル マイステイズ 上野) (Ueno, Asakusa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great base for city visit or business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked this hotel based on internet site photos and details. The room I had was nowhere as bright or colourful as the images, so initially I was slightly disappointed. However, I soon got over it. There was no view, indeed the windows are opaque. There are also net curtains in addition to the main curtains. Opening the windows of my first floor (i.e. one floor up) room showed why- the room overlooks a small street with other apartments immediately opposite!
This was a typical Tokyo business hotel room, with a comfortable bed, desk, fridge, small kitchenette area with sink and a bathroom "module" - tight on space but no problem for one person. I must say the greeting at reception was excellent. The room had wired internet but no wifi. A wireless router was offered by reception. I was informed that there was no room service provided during my stay but towels could be exchanged for clean ones whenever needed at reception. That was fine by me and in fact I kind of liked the security of knowing no one would be going into my room during my stay! As it was only a short stay, I was not worried about the sheets being changed every day - most hotels don't do this anyway any more.
My neighbours for the first night were, unfortunately, rather noisy, but fortunately I was not in the room for that long.
You are also required to get rid of your own rubbish - the bin in the room allows for burnable and non-burnable refuse, and you are expected to take this (when full) to the relevant rubbish area on the ground floor. Interesting!! Well, if that's how they keep their rates low in this expensive city, then I am happy to play the game - shame my neighbours weren't, leaving bags of rubbish on the doorstep for a couple of days - I think they eventually got the message.
The hotel is very close to a metro station, and only about 10 minutes walk from the JR station of Ueno. There are many convenience stores and restaurants nearby.
For single travellers, business travellers or even couples on a budget, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-wm-tueno, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel MyStays Ueno.
We are greatly appreciated your comments and evaluation.
Also, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your amenities, service, and felt comfort during your stay.
Your feedback is very valuable to our management team.
Caring staff is always here to serve and delight you.
Hotel MyStays Ueno keeps continuing to provide great service and meet with guest satisfaction. Make it your home always.

Best Regards,



Hotel MyStays Ueno
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
40
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel is between the ueno jrp station (10-15minutes walking) and asakusa rinoji temple (10-15 min walkin). Also one metro station 5 minutes walking.
The room that we choosed was small but it had everything that you need.
It was clean, the recepcionist could speak english ( in japan is not usual)
We spend one week in tokio and for sure I would return there if I wil come

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-wm-tueno, Reception Clerk at Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel MyStays Ueno.
We are glad to hear you could enjoy your accommodation while your stay.
All staffs are very appreciated and happy to hear your praiseworthy words.
We are continuing to provide warm hospitality and service to make our precious customers satisfied.
All guest rooms and some of facilities have been redecorated in last year.
Grand renewal open was on January 1st 2013.
After renovation, many customers gave us good feedback regarding guest room and service.
Hope we have another chance to provide quality service and amenities you expect and deserve from our brand.
We are looking forward to seeing you in the future!
In the last, thank you very much for taking time to write feedback on Tripadvisor.

Best Regards,


Hotel MyStays Ueno
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Mystays. We wanted to find a hotel that was value for money as the room was really only a base for our time to explore the city. Other comments mention small rooms but we were presently surprised by how large our room and bed were. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed, with a great shower. The A/C unit was great at swiftly cooling down the room in the Tokyo heat. Although there is no maid service the reception staff are helpful, providing new towels and other amenities. Handily there is also a 24 laundry room. Close to Ueno station and 24 hour convenience stores, We would not hesitate to stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-wm-tueno, Reception Clerk at Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel MyStays Ueno.
As your comments and evaluation, we are very happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay at Hotel MyStays Ueno.
Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken where possible to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service, comfort & security that they expect when staying at our hotel.
When you have a chance to come back to Japan, please check our official website for variety discounted rates.
Hotel MyStays Ueno keep continue to provide great service and meet with guest satisfaction. Make it your home always.
Lastly, we are sincerely appreciated you make a time to share your experience with us.
Many thanks to your kindness.


Best Regards,



Hotel MyStays Ueno
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After renovation, this hotel got better for everything.Good location, good price.Better if you plan to reserve 1 month bofore departure.Nearby hotel got convinient store also a Mcdonald that's open for 24 hours.Nice to stay.Hope you enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-wm-tueno, Reception Clerk at Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel MyStays Ueno.
We are greatly appreciated your comments and evaluation.
Also, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your amenities, service, and felt comfort during your stay.
Your feedback is very valuable to our management team.
Caring staff is always here to serve and delight you.
Hotel MyStays Ueno keeps continuing to provide great service and meet with guest satisfaction. Make it your home always.

Best Regards,



Hotel MyStays Ueno
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The situation of this hotel is relatively good. The Inorichi station of the Tokyo subway is quite near. Although if you have the Japan RailPass it is not accepted in Tokyo subway. You can use your RailPass to get to the Ueno station, but you have about ten minutes walk from Ueno station to the hotel Mystays Ueno. When you have lots of luggage (like us :-) or you are tired after sightseeing or shopping the whole day, you certainly prefer the subway instead of walking. In the hotelroom you've got everything you need, but the room is really small. Also some things in the rooms need renovation. The staff speaks enough english and they are also very helpful, so that makes your stay quite nice. On the whole I find this hotel value for their prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-wm-tueno, Reception Clerk at Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and bringing your concerns to our attention.
We sincerely appreciate that you had chosen to stay at Hotel MyStays Ueno.
As you say, our closest train station calls Inaricho which is Tokyo Metro Ginza Line.
It takes about 4 minutes from the station to the property.
If you take off at JR Ueno station, probably it takes about 15 minutes to get to us by walking.
We personalize each reviewer response because we value their feedback, also it will greatly help us to improve our guest service and give us suggestion for next renovation.
Caring staffs are always welcoming our special guests with great smile.
Again, thank you for sharing your recent experience with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation trip to Japan.

Kindest Regards,


Hotel MyStays Ueno
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff was really helpful and nice. The room was small but it was good enough for my mother and I and it includes all the amenities listed in the website xD. There are enough convenience stores around the area to cover the necessities of the most picky and metro station Inaricho is really close. :3 and ueno station is kind of close too, Ueno park is also very close xD
the staff reLly helped us the last day, because we were carrying heavy luggage and our plane was leaving really late at night , they took care of our luggage even after we had chcked out, so we still had time to go around the area and have fun :D

thank you very much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-wm-tueno, Reception Clerk at Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It was indeed our pleasure to read of your wonderful experience at Hotel MyStays Ueno.
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations and impressions of our property.
Our reception clerk will assist to how to get to destination, information around property and share popular sightseeing spots.
We are always welcoming guests to provide information.
As you say, reception will be able to store your luggage until office close after check out.
Hotel MyStays Ueno locates near Inaricho station which is Tokyo Metro Ginza Line.
It takes about 15 minutes by walking from Ueno and Asakusa.
Also, it is easy access to main Tokyo area by train and subway.

Please come back to Hotel MyStays Ueno when you have a chance to visit Asakusa area.
We are looking forward to host you again in the future.


Best Wishes,


Hotel MyStays Ueno
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good price for a room in tokyo. Has everything needed in a small but comfortable room. Enough resturants and small convenient stores close around and not too far from Ueno JR station as well. The hotel also loans out free routers as well which is good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-wm-tueno, Reception Clerk at Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel MyStays Ueno.
We are really appreciated your review and comment, and also grad to hear that your family had been satisfied out accommodation during their stay.
There are several rental items at reception such as cooking tools, iron & iron board, compact vacuum cleaner, adaptor and more.
Most of rental items are 1 hour rental because there are only few stocks in the office.
Perhaps, guest will be able to keep adaptor, cooking tools and WiFI router until their check-out date.
Hotel MyStays Ueno will keep continuing to provide great customer care and warm hospitality service for our guests.
Please come back when you have a chance to visit Japan again.
We are looking forward to seeing you in the future!
Thank you.

Best Wishes,




Hotel MyStays Ueno
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho

Address: 1-5-7 Matsugaya, Taito 111-0036, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Mystays Ueno ホテル マイステイズ 上野)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rakuten, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.