We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room but really well located and clean. Great place to explore Tokyo.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsmokers Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nonsmokers Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nonsmokers Hotel
6-7-19 Ueno, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 110-0005, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 84 hotels in Taito
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tiny room but really well located and clean. Great place to explore Tokyo.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

the hotel is very basic and the rooms are tiny. The bathrrom is well equipped and free wifi in all the rooms. Superior rooms are very nice and more spacious. Location is great within three minutes walkung distance of Ueno station which is on the JR line and thus gives you access to the tourist district on Shibuya within 30 minutes. I loved the streets behind the hotel. This is where we had the best and cheapest food. Great atmosphere. Very few tourists. The Ueno park is also worth a stop. Staff spoke basic english. I would recommend this place to people who like me like a clean hotel just to be comfortable at night and close to everything you want to see in the city. Starbucks for breakfast at the entrance of Ueno station. Little supermarket open late at night a minute walk from the hotel.
We found it difficult to find but in Ueno follow the hirokouji exit and then go on the right walking under the express way and you will get there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
32
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was reading a lot of reviews before picking this hotel. I must say that I took a chance on Cube after reading some of the bad reviews in here because we couldn't find any other hotel that has the available dates in our budget. Fortunately, our stay in general was good in general. I would say that this is a 3.5 / 5 overall experience. The room is probably the smallest from all of our stay in Japan. It is very clean. The Staff's English is pretty bad except for the manager. For some reason, all of the staff respond to us with a very straight and emotionless face. I find that very odd because my experience with the Japanese people was very positive. I found Japanese people to be super polite, and super well mannered. So I was surprised to see that the staff was a little robotic with their service response. May be they are all high-end poker robots?!. None the less, the manager serviced with a smile with helpful advices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is very modern and very closed to the Ueno Station, only about 10mins walk. Standard room is small but adequate. I had a superior room which was spacious, Queen bed, big bathroom and separate toilet. Lots of restaurants & shops in the nearby streets or can buy from the train station. Coffee & tea and water are well supplied 24 hrs in the lobby.Also provides microwave oven for use. The only downside is no view.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for the Superior room, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place is one of the two places that I stay for business trip around Ueno. The place is super clean and maintained well. No bathtubs so if you are one of those person that needs to sink yourself in a bath, think twice before getting this place. No rooms have a bath here. However, replacing that space is a spacious bathroom with shower stalls. Remember, a lot of business hotel in Japan has tiny bathroom. I am sure that foreigner would appreciate the size of this. But on the other side, the room itself is very small. So small that you can't completely open a large suitcase in the room. Table is a little too narrow to spread out multiple documents and bed quality is mediocre. This place is strictly non-smoking hotel so no smoky smells inside the room which is always a plus in Japan. Lastly, the price is one of the best in Ueno for that cleanliness of the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't get the "Wa" room or Japanese style room if you don't wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel has very small rooms (like the rest of Tokyo), but they are very clean and inexpensive. The room has a very small desk with a small TV and a small double-size bed. There is free Internet access in the rooms and free coffee/drinks in the lobby. It is walking distance to the Ueno JR Station and even closer to the Ueno Keisei line from Narita. The Odeo, Ginza and Hibiya metro lines are all close too. The surrounding area has a lot of small restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Cube Hotel was super clean, the room, even though very small (although we are used to European hotels) was incredibly organized and tastefully done (nice, calming colors, nice design). The beds were very comfortable, the shower was AMAZING! probably one of the best (strongest) showers that we have ever experienced (even in the US!)
Ueno station, which is not far from the hotel (although there are two on either side of the station so make sure you know which one you are staying), is a good station because it connects to everything and is very easy to get to/from the airport.
The hotel staff was warm and helpful even though none really spoke English but they were very accommodating and printed out street maps, etc when they thought it would help. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are probably pretty much the same since we used this hotel as a starting/stopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you can find a good deal for this hotel, I would highly recommended for this one. The street next to the hotel is an excellent street for shopping. The Hotel was not as good as my 1st time staying there, I stayed there 2 times, it was good enough. The price I paid is around 6000/night with the Wa-Single bed, room is small, bathroom is new and good enough. And one thing i like is they use the door card for elevator access. Therefore, if you travel alone and is a lady, this is not bad. However, I want to mentioned do not go back to hotel after 11PM since there are some homeless and drunk people around, so be noted with this.

Room Tip: check on the deal and reserve 21-day advance will give you good discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nonsmokers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsmokers Hotel

Address: 6-7-19 Ueno, Taito, Tokyo Prefecture 110-0005, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 84 hotels in Taito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Nonsmokers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cube Hotel Taito
Nonsmokers Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsmokers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.