We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro to your Saves list
Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-42-8 Higashi-Ikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture (Ikebukuro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Great find in Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Dai-Ichi was a great find ! We were surprised to find a very reasonably priced hotel in Tokyo, and the rooms were large, quiet & pleasant. Ikebukuro suburb is spread out over 2 sides of the JR train line, but the whole precinct is easily reached on foot from the hotel (via underpasses both beside & through the station).I took the recommendation of a fellow reviewer below & printed his directions from the station to the hotel (the hotel is very easy to get to, but a lot easier to locate with them - basically you leave via the east exit, turn left & immediately on your left is a side street which winds you round to the right behind the main street. The hotel is located straight ahead once you've followed the road round that corner). A choice of restaurants in the hotel be I can't comment on either as we didn't try them. A convenience store located at street level below the lobby was very handy !. Plenty of fresh food options were available in the station market hall, however for restaurants Ikebukuro East was a bit light on (a few sushi bars) and we had to walk about 8 minutes to Ikebukuro West for selection of restaurants (including indonesian, french, American fast food etc). Well connected for the airport, bullet train & sight seeing,just about everything is about 20 minutes by train.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
9
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights at the Dai Ichi Inn Ikebukuro and we loved it. After an eleven hour flight, and hardly any knowledge of the Japanese language, finding the hotel was still a breeze, thanks to its fabulous location: just a few minutes walk from the East Exit of the Ikebukuro station. There’s an English-speaking reception and even though we arrived two hours before check-in time, we were allowed to check in. The rooms were spotless and, by Tokyo standards, quite spacious. The bathroom though, was just a small cubicle.
There’s a small convenience store which can be accessed from the hotel lobby as well as from the street. Very convenient for buying your bottled water and onigiri, amongst other things. Breakfast wasn’t included in the room price, but inside the Ikebukuro station there are plenty places to have breakfast. Our absolute favorite was Andersen; delicious creamed buns, sandwiches and cakes, fresh and sumptious.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Good hotel for business. There's internet service in the rooms and fairly quiet. If you feel like walking to it, there's a supermarket about 5-7 blocks away if you don't want to spend extra money in restaurants. There's also an underground market with a large array of prepared foods that you can refrigerate. You're near plenty of restaurants and stores if you need anything and near the subway for traveling. I'm not sure of the phone situation since I didn't make any calls. The staff is helpful but unobtrusive.

  • Liked — inernet service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2005

I booked this hotel cheaply (for Tokyo) through Expedia. The guidebooks made the Ikebukuro sound like a grim, out-of-the-way working class nowhere, but really it's not much different from the better-known areas of town that are equally easy to reach on the same hyper-efficient train lines. The hotel is about 100 feet from the northeast exit of the Ikebukuro station. There are several big department stores with food halls etc right nearby. There's also a convenience store next door that I believe is open 24/7. I had some train noise in my room, but nothing that really inconvenienced me. The room was certainly small but not obnoxiously so, and who cares since I did not intend to spend any time there. Everything was neat and clean and worked fine. Aside from the train there was no noticeable noise. The Expedia rate included a daily trip to the friendly Internet cafe in the same building. I would recommend this hotel to almost anyone visiting Tokyo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2004

Managed to find a reasonably priced package on the website so decided to give it a shot! An oldish hotel, nevertheless the room was surprisingly decent in size and stocked with a good supply of toiletries. Only problem was the strong smell of smoke throughout – no non smoking rooms! We chose the superior room package including buffet breakfast and 1 hour internet per person which was 11,550 yen a night for two. Had heard that Ikebukuro doesn’t offer much in terms of attractions, however we found plenty of things to do and the location especially handy, only minutes from a major station.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro

Address: 1-42-8 Higashi-Ikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro Hotel Toshima
Dai Ichi Hotel Ikebukuro
Dai Ichi Hotel Toshima
Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dai-Ichi Inn Ikebukuro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.