We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great location, hit-and-miss staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kimi Ryokan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kimi Ryokan to your Saves list
Kimi Ryokan
Ryokan
  |   2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima, Tokyo Prefecture 171-0014, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Only Direct Booking Offer
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great location, hit-and-miss staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely old ryokan, right near Ikebukuro station which is on the main JR line to Shinjuku, Harajuku, Shibya etc.

Very clean, small rooms.

The staff were really nice but gave us some bad advice on a few occasions (Booked us a tea ceremony in Uji, but when we arrived it was for the wrong day, so that wasted a lot of our time). Also gave us incorrect information about trains to Narita. We would have missed our flight except we left an extra hour early just in case. They should be more careful with things like this!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
貴美旅館, マネージャー at Kimi Ryokan, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in Kimi Ryokan with us. We really hope you enjoyed it and your trip in Tokyo as well.
Terribly sorry for our serious mistake and troubled you. We guarantee that we will take care when doing information and make sure no any miss next time . Please asking your kindly forgive and give us a chance to do service for you again.
Thank you very much for your this comment and looking forward to seeing you next time.

Best regards,
Owner Mr. Kisaburo and Kimi staffs
KIMI RYOKAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    89
    25
    7
    13
See reviews for
34
80
55
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This place is very nice. Clean, beautiful, and not so expensive. I spend 2 night and I highly recommend it. Nice terrace on the roof, place to wash your cloth japanese traditional bath, you have everything you need to feel that your not in the biggest city in the world :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a great stay at Kimi - the room was small (it's Tokyo!), but had a lot of storage space, so our suitcases weren't in the way. The staff was incredibly helpful - they gave us restaurant recommendations and helped us find a doctor when my son hurt his neck. Overall a great place to stay - and so close to Ikebukuro station that it was easy to get anywhere in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Tokyo doesn't ever get dark at night, so if you have trouble sleeping with light - ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Booked here after reading reviews on tripadvisor and Lonely Planet. This was our first time at a Ryokan and it was superior to the hotels that cost double the price in Shinjuku. There is plenty of space (for Tokyo) in the rooms, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, they spoke English and Japanese and the common areas, (kitchen and rooftop) were good places to met others or just hang. Recommend to anyone after a traditional Japanese experience near the heart of Tokyo.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am so, so glad I ignored my friends' hotel recommendations and took a chance and stayed @ the Kimi Ryokan!

I arrived to the hotel around 10:00pm from Narita, jetlagged and exhausted. The staff (who spoke excellent English) met me at the door, were incredibly polite and friendly and showed me to my room. They even took the time to show me where the bathroom was and how everything worked. The rooms are small but manageable (it's Tokyo, large spaces come at a premium), the futons were quite comfortable; the bathrooms were clean and pleasant, and considering you're in Tokyo, the rooms are quiet so you're able to get a good night's sleep!

Wireless internet was ok - not very fast but pretty consistent connection. Don't expect to be able to stream HD videos all the time, but great for checking e-mail, browsing, skype, etc.

The real gem of this place is it's location - you're IN Tokyo but not in the midst of the chaos, noise, crowds, etc. You can easily get downtown: maximum 5 minute walk to Ikebukuro Station, 5 minute walk to Starbucks, and other small stores/restaurants.

Overall, great experience and amazing value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was my first Ryokan experience and it was the best. The staff went above and beyond, and were always welcoming. The common area always had calming energy and warmth. The rooms were always cleaned and the sharing of bathroom was never an issue. We only planned to stay 7 nights but ended up booking for the remainder of the time spent in Tokyo. It was a home away from home, Japanese style.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I booked for KR after reading the reviews of it. And I also wanted to be staying somewhere close to the JR and the city center of Tokyo. Although it's price is slightly higher than a dorm hostel, it's really worth it. Because, you get your own private room! The environment is also very clean and comfortable.

The staff that I met with were all extremely helpful and I really appreciate it, answering my queries and many questions. The toilet area also provides toothbrushes (clean ones of course).

The only downside was that I was staying right infront of the lounge area and it could get a little noisy at times.

But other than that I'd highly recommend KR for anyone who wants a ryokan experience in Japan!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ryokan

Address: 2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima, Tokyo Prefecture 171-0014, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kimi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ryokan Hotel Toshima
Kimi Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimi Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.