We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless and convenient ryokan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimi Ryokan

Save Saved
You added Kimi Ryokan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimi Ryokan
2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima, Tokyo Prefecture 171-0014, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Toshima B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Priceless and convenient ryokan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I've stayed twice and both experiences were great. It's an unexpensive and really well located ryokan. The place is quiet, the rooms are comfortable, and the showers and toilets are always clean. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    86
    23
    7
    13
See reviews for
34
78
50
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed in Kimi for 4 nights after reading its glowing reviews... even my own brother raved about it. The first two nights were less than satisfactory, as we were given a room on the 5th floor and it smelled overwhelmingly of mould. And I don't mean it was a little stinky... I'm talking full on olfactory assault as soon as you opened the door. Sure enough, I pulled back my mat and discovered a flourishing colony of mould growing along the baseboard! So after 2 nights (me not wanting to be an imposition, but also not being able to stand it anymore) I advised the hotel that we wanted to change rooms because of the mould. The staff were very nice and accommodating, and told us that the tatami mats were being changed throughout the entire place, and they hadn't reached the 5th floor yet. So we got moved to a room on the 3rd floor and it was great. For the price, the facilities and common spaces were clean and well kept - I would definitely recommend staying here (in a room that had new tatami and no mould, of course). Despite my request the staff were friendly and didn't give us a hard time about changing rooms at all. I mean it's a budget ryokan - so for the price, it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with newer Tatami, or not on the 5th floor as ours had mould.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I actually picked this place to stay because I wanted to stay at a Ryokan regardless of price or location. It just so happened that Kimi Ryokan was in a very convenient area with a nice price to go along with it. Japan raised their taxes making the price of this place go up a bit but for where it is and what you get its a great deal! The place is nestled in Ikebukuro which has tons of restaurants and is a major transit station with both a JR line and several subway lines running through it. The ryokan was very clean and had many facilities. There was laundry, a lounge and even a roof top terrace available for you to use freely. Just be careful when Google mapping for this place, as there is another very similar address Google picks up and it will lead you astray! This ryokan is right by a grocery store as well which is nice to just get an apple for breakfast on your way to the train.

My room was spacious and very comfortable. It was as expected a traditional bed on a mat floor. I was on the fifth story of the building, which was no problem however the actually Ryokan entrance was down a short flight of very steep stairs which made checking in and out difficult due to my suitcase being heavy. The sinks were clean as was the shower, which is American style, but I did notice a weird scent in the shower room. It wasn't anything too bad but it wasn't pleasant.

Staying here at Kimi was a great experience, I just wish it was a bit easier to get into with a suitcase and the WiFi cut in and out a lot which was just a small annoyance.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here for 2 non consecutive nights. This is a good example of Ryokan for those traveling in Tokyo. Don't compare with the expensive ryokan with all the meal provided. This is different, no meal at all. We love the japannese bath tub, just like private onsen, very relaxing, you must try this. Go to the rooftop, just to see the city view and the beautiful flowers in the pot.

There's many restaurant & store between Ikebukuro station and this ryokan. Be careful when you walk alone at night (especially woman), there's pachinko/slot machine on your way and there's bad guy on the street, not comfortable situation, keep walking anyway... A little bit far from station, you need to walk around 15 minutes if you followed the map given by the ryokan. But there's another exit from station and you'll only walk 8-10 minutes to the ryokan from there.

Very English friendly, even there's an explanation in English for the AC remote control. Great services, you can just put your luggage before and after you stayed here. There's many luggage I see on those internet room, beside the front office. Great wifi in the room. Plenty of shower, wash basin and toilet, no need to queue.

You can see photos and more of our experience in this ryokan at http://pasangantraveling.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/japan-22-31-march-2014-part-3/ and http://pasangantraveling.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/japan-22-31-march-2014-part-4/

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I "splurged" myself with staying last night at KIMI Ryokan after 2 weeks of backpacking in Japan. Before I had stayed at 2 hostels in Tokyo close to Asakusa station on the other side of the city. Asakusa is great for the "old" feeling of Tokyo but Ikebukuro station, where KIMI is located is way better location for exploring Rappongi, Shibuya, Shinjuku.

Ikebukuro is one of the biggest stations in Tokyo with many subway lines connecting.

KIMI ryokan is a budget version of traditional japanese "hotel". I stayed at 4.5 mats room. It is enough for 1 peson, can be bit too small for 2 people, but will work for a couple without too much luggage. Bathrooms are shared and can get busy especially in the morning.

Towel is provided and there are free toiletries too.

Location is great, less than 10 min walk from the station, just don't get lost and pay attention to exit numbers.

4.5 mat rooms on the first floor can be noisy due to the common room and elevator.

A lot of restaurants, bars and budget soba/udon places within 0 to 10 minutes walk.

If I ever come back to Tokyo I will stay at KIMI.

Room Tip: First floor rooms can get noisy due to stairs and elevator. Not a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in the Ikebukuro area. We loved it because it's busy enough but not touristy. Ikebukuro is very convenient for travel on the train with the connecting lines including the Yamanote line. We stayed at Kimi Ryokan which is about 7 minutes walk from the train station. The staff here are very friendly and speak English very well. The rooms are small but comfortable – I loved the futons! The bathrooms are shared (separate showers and basins on each level) and are clean and thoughtful (shampoo, body wash, toothbrushes and hairdryer provided). The best way to bathe though is to use the wooden tub. There is one for sharing – just let reception know you would like to use. It is so relaxing! There is a communal room near reception with free green tea. Wifi is free and great (even in the rooms). The heaters were very warm (it was cold in February). The washing machine and dryer are very convenient (keep your 100 yen coins handy). There's also an elevator so getting luggage up to the rooms was not a problem. Overall a really fabulous stay here - excellent value and service.

Room Tip: We were a group of four and found the large room good in terms of layout for our luggages and oursel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

When I return to Tokyo, I will definitely stay here again. The location was fantastic - close to shops, right next to the restaurant district of Ikebukuro, and only a few minutes walk to the subway. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff were extra friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.

We had 3 kids in tow - 9, 12 & 14 yrs old. The kids loved the place too. The 5 person room was unavailable, so Kimi made sure we had adjacent rooms which worked out even better! (the kids in a room of their own! :) ). Perfect!

The shared kitchen was small, but quite adequate, as this is quite a small ryokan, so you are not sharing with a lot of people - great for kids to make toast in the mornings. The beer vending machine was much appreciated some nights too.

This isn't the Hilton, but that is not what we are looking for when we travel. As far as more traditional Japanese accommodation goes, Kimi Ryokan is up there with the best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ryokan

Address: 2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima, Tokyo Prefecture 171-0014, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kimi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ryokan Hotel Toshima
Kimi Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimi Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.