We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, comfortable rooms, good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimi Ryokan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kimi Ryokan to your Saves list
Kimi Ryokan
Ryokan
  |   2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture (Ikebukuro)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, comfortable rooms, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at Kimi Ryokan for 5 nights in late March/early April 2013.
Overall the service was fantastic. Prior to our arrival, email communication was always prompt and helpful. We arrived well before check-in, but they agreed to hold our bags at the ryokan until we came back later within the check-in time. They were always willing to help with any questions we had, they even helped us organize for our luggage to be sent to our next accommodation in Kyoto using the Kuroneko/Yamato transport service.
Although there were only two of us, we reserved a 6 mat tatami room (rather than the 4.5) and were grateful for the extra space as the smaller room may not have accommodated as well for our two large suitcases. The futons were comfortable, and we enjoyed the free Yukata's to wear when using the shared bathrooms. The only issue we had was that the walls are somewhat thin, and you can hear other guests slamming doors and talking loudly in the halls.
The location was quite good, a brisk 10-15 minute walk to the JR Ikebukuro Station. There were lots of 7/11's around the area as well as Family Mart, and we found the Hanamasa supermarket (one block north of Kimi Ryokan) to be very useful.
Lots of restaurants and cafe's are within short walking distance. Gusto Cafe (more so a restaurant) is great for people not accustomed to Japanese food just yet, and we also had a great dinner at a little pizza bar called Napoli Ikebukuro Nisiguchi.
If there was one thing we could change, it is the fact that every time you leave the ryokan you have to give your room key to the front desk, and collect it upon your return. This became somewhat inconvenient if you left something in your room or if you were frequently coming and going.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kimi Ryokan.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    100
    27
    8
    13
See reviews for
35
89
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
fda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the first few nights of our trip and couldn't have had a more comfortable introduction to the city. Conveniently close to a major metro hub and with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

The staff are excellent - faultlessly polite and all English-speaking. Free WiFi and comfortable rooms as well as a pleasant common area for eating and socialising.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Kimi was our first port of call in Japan in Feb 2013. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay! The staff were fantastic in helping us navigate Tokyo and all of it's delights. We were even fortunate enough to be able to watch the owner, Minato-san, perform ikebanado during our stay. To sum up the level of care we experienced; we had one group of Westerners staying across the hall from us that did not quite seem to understand that a ryokan with a curfew was not really made for backpackers wanting to drink big in their room. Without any request from us the staff politely asked them to be quiet as soon as 10pm came around and then knocked on our door to apologise profusely for any inconvenience we may have experienced as a result of their noise.

As other reviewers have noted the room was small, but that's just Japan (and in particular Tokyo) really. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, and most importantly warm! Given Kimi's proximity to Ikebukuro station it was also a great base for scouting around town and very close to many reasonably priced restaurants and diners. We wouldn't hesitate to return to Kimi again and would recommend it highly for any families or couples looking for a relaxing stay in Tokyo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We loved Kimi Ryokan.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, all facilities are clean and well kept. Touches like the heated floor at the low table in the lounge, the devine cypress bath and our most comfortable (but smallest) Japanese style room all add up to making it highly recommended. Ikebukuro is a great base area too- on the Yamonote line so easy to access all the "famous" areas- but also a great area in itself. Do explore!
Even if you're not a budget traveller Kimi is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was a nice Japanese guest house. It is well-located. There are plenty of cheap and good restaurants around the area. My room is R102, it is very small and simple but clean. Staff is a plus, very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Kimi Ryokan caters to foreign visitors. It is close to the
Ikebukuro commuter station, shopping, and restaurants.
Hard to find! Take a map. English spoken.
Spartan, clean, comfortable. A real bargain for Tokyo.
Have stayed there several times.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhage
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first accommodation in Japan and we really think is great value! It is a Ryokan (traditional Japanese hotel) at affordable prices in the heart of Ikebukuro, the perfect area to stay in Tokyo due to the multiple train and metro lines which converge here. The staff was extremely helpful since they allowed us to send the Japan Rail Passes to the Ryokan upon our arrival and they kept them for us. The Ryokan is spotless and has good facilities (shared bathroom, common kitchen and dinning area, Internet). Besides, they provide robes, towels and toiletries for free. The two tatamis room was a bit small, but later we found out that that was the rule in Japanese hotels! We truly recommend Kimi Ryokan to anybody who wants to experience the Ryokan experience at an affordable price!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ryokan

Address: 2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kimi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ryokan Hotel Toshima
Kimi Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimi Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.