We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot if u need affordable, comfortable accommodation in Tokyo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimi Ryokan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kimi Ryokan to your Saves list
Kimi Ryokan
Ryokan
  |   2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture (Ikebukuro)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect spot if u need affordable, comfortable accommodation in Tokyo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We loved Kimi Ryokan.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, all facilities are clean and well kept. Touches like the heated floor at the low table in the lounge, the devine cypress bath and our most comfortable (but smallest) Japanese style room all add up to making it highly recommended. Ikebukuro is a great base area too- on the Yamonote line so easy to access all the "famous" areas- but also a great area in itself. Do explore!
Even if you're not a budget traveller Kimi is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    100
    27
    8
    13
See reviews for
35
89
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was a nice Japanese guest house. It is well-located. There are plenty of cheap and good restaurants around the area. My room is R102, it is very small and simple but clean. Staff is a plus, very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Kimi Ryokan caters to foreign visitors. It is close to the
Ikebukuro commuter station, shopping, and restaurants.
Hard to find! Take a map. English spoken.
Spartan, clean, comfortable. A real bargain for Tokyo.
Have stayed there several times.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhage
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first accommodation in Japan and we really think is great value! It is a Ryokan (traditional Japanese hotel) at affordable prices in the heart of Ikebukuro, the perfect area to stay in Tokyo due to the multiple train and metro lines which converge here. The staff was extremely helpful since they allowed us to send the Japan Rail Passes to the Ryokan upon our arrival and they kept them for us. The Ryokan is spotless and has good facilities (shared bathroom, common kitchen and dinning area, Internet). Besides, they provide robes, towels and toiletries for free. The two tatamis room was a bit small, but later we found out that that was the rule in Japanese hotels! We truly recommend Kimi Ryokan to anybody who wants to experience the Ryokan experience at an affordable price!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in a Japanese style room which's small but clean and cozy. The ryokan is 10min walk from the subway with lots of eateries around. We didn't get to experience the Ofuro but will definitely do when we come back =)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

As a family of 4 in a Japanese style room we found the room a bit small, however the location and value out weighed this negative. Only real complaint was that it had a musky smell and was more like a hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was looking to experience a more authentic side of Japan, and Kimi Ryokan definitely fits the bill. Of course this isn't the Ritz-Carlton, it's a Ryokan, meaning a small Japanese-style room, shared bathrooms and showers. But hey, you're in Tokyo, are you really going to spend a lot of time in your room in a city that never sleeps? The ryokan is about a 10 minute walk to Ikebukuro station, one of the larger transit stations in Tokyo with easy access to all of the major tourist spots. It's about 20 minutes by train to get to anywhere like Akihabara, Shibuya, etc via the quick JR Yamanote line which runs the major loop around the city. Back to talking about Kimi Ryokan itself, besides location the staff was super friendly, spoke English, and they took major credit cards. Oh, and free wi-fi throughout the building! Coming back from a long day of sightseeing, it was nice to be able to catch up with the world online before quickly passing out and doing it again the next day. I'd stay here again and recommend it to others. I had the smallest room and it was perfect for a solo traveler or a couple not looking to spend a lot of time in the room.

Room Tip: I was in the room next to the shower and still didn't hear anyone in the early morning, or maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ryokan

Address: 2-36-8 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kimi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ryokan Hotel Toshima
Kimi Ryokan Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimi Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.