We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, very well located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mets Komagome

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mets Komagome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mets Komagome
2-1-39 Komagome, Toshima, Tokyo Prefecture 170-0003, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 51 hotels in Toshima
Basel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Efficient, very well located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Summary: Excellent location close to Yamanote line (no stairs to platform), very small rooms, breakfast: small quantities, but ok. No gym. Preferred rooms: Corner rooms. No-smoking rooms have to be reserved. Good jogging options. Reasonably priced.
In Tokyo you have to spend a lot if you want to have nice rooms, perfect service, good food, quiet bed rooms. I prefer to do a compromise and to choose a hotel, which is owned by the Japan Railway (JR). JR has constructed several hotels in walking distance to the platforms of theri railway stations. All these hotels have in common: Very small rooms (less than 10 m2), but bed approx. 1.90 x 1.20 m, extremely clean, very limited service (only reception, but you can store your luggage for several days), access to train without stairs, i.e. via escalators. Breakfast: In attached restaurant (different ownership, coupons).
From Narita I need less than an hour to be in hotel, take the Skyliner to Nippori and change their for the Yamanote line (3 stations) The JR Narita Express needs double time and you face stairs even in Tokyo central station. Limosine buses are not recommendable, at least 2 hours. Last time (March) I needed only 1 hour after touch-down of airplane to come to the hotel.
If you choose other hotels, which are close to subway stations, then you will not like to take the subway with your luggage. Most subway stations are not fully equipped with escalators.
The Yamanote line has escalators at all stations, which make the travel easy (also at Nippori).
Remember: Taxis start at USD 10 in Tokyo and may be very slow. From Narita several 100 USD.
Restaurants: In walking distance at least 10 - 15 restaurants of various and good levels (not only McD and Denny's).
Price level: Single USD 70 - 90 (March 2013).
The Komagome Mets is perfect if your business office is close. At the Tabata station is the next Mets. Check the InterNet for other JR hotels. I have been using this hotel for the last 5 years at least 10 times; my Tokyo office is in 10 min. walking distance.
Jogging: Leave hotel to the left, follow the Yamanote line in the direction of Tabata / Nishi-Nippori / Nippori and Ueno. Orientation: You find small streets in 10 to 100 m distance to Yamanote line; at Tabata you have a small bridge over a main road. Do never cross the Yamanote line. In the area of Nippori there are several old wooden houses / temples ets. which survived the US bomb raids and which are very nice & peace-ful. I jog to the large cemetry close to Nippori (and return, same way). On weekends I reach Ueno park and may take the train back. Summer: Start at 5:30, otherwise too hot & humid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed there for one week when we visited our family in Tokyo. The room rate came with breakfast at Denny's and it was very convenient. The room was spotless clean and I enjoyed the amenities. We rented a laptop and used internet in the room. We paid 1,000 per day for a rental. Komagome is very convenient as JR Yamanote line and a subway stations are there. There Rikugien Park, Furukawa Garden and many temples to visit. We had a few questions about the hotel and emailed them from Canada before we arrived, and we received their response super quick. We appreciated. We will go back to Komagome and stay at Mets Komagome again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

A reasonably good business hotel with new, comfortably functional rooms. Unfortunately, the windows don't open and though the room was clean the smell of instant noodles eaten by the previous occupant never left. There are decent but uninspiring chain restaurants nearby (McDonalds, Denny's) and the hotel also has an arrangement with a soba restaurant so that guests have the option of taking breakfast there instead.

Hotel Mets is located right over the Komagome Station with handy transport links via the Yamanote Line and Nanboku subway line. It is very quiet despite its station location. They also have a ladies only floor with an extra security door between the lift and the corridor.

Room Tip: Has both smoking and non-smoking rooms so ask in advance for your preference. Women travelling alon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here again on a business trip. 30 seconds from the turnstiles of a Yamanote line station to the front desk. Relatively clean, new, quiet, comfortable, larger room for Tokyo with a proper writing desk. Convenience stores, McD nearby. Denny's family restaurant on second floor. A mere 20-30 minutes to Shinjuku or Tokyo station. A couple of stations to the Keisei Skyliner's Nippori station. Near to Rikugien Garden. Why would people spend much more on expensive hotels in Shinjuku with about the same quality rooms is a mystery to me. Hotel Mets Komagome wins.

Room Tip: All rooms are okay. No need to worry about sounds of trains. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stayed here for a business trip. Room is not so small by Tokyo standards. Staffs are friendly (but it's quite rare to find a rude hotel staff in Japan). 30 seconds to the turnstiles of Yamanote line. Quiet. If you want to stay in central Tokyo, and are prepared to spend a little more than Toyoko Inn (which I think are nice too, mind you) for a larger room, but cannot afford to stay at a hotel with stars, then this is the place. Denny's diner downstairs is open 24 hours. A good bakery store is inside the station. McD is open 24 hours across the place.

Room Tip: All rooms should be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The hotel has opened very recently. It is styled/furnished with a very modern and tasteful decor. The room was smallish (no surprise in Tokyo) but very comfortable and functional. The hotel was very quiet, located just above a subway station. Service was very friendly, although the English not impeccable. Breakfast included, from an adjoining restaurant, but very plain. Overall I thought the hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This hotel is located in the northwestern part of Tokyo, away from the centralized popular areas. However, because it is situated right above the JR train station at Komagome which also serves the Tokyo Metro/Namboku line, we had very easy access to the rest of metropolitan Tokyo. You can connect to other lines quickly and get around to see just about anything you want via the train/subways. You might think that because we were above a train station, it would be noisy. We were on the 7th floor, and never heard any noise during our entire stay. This is one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in. For other transportation options, I should mention that the buses run right in front of the hotel, and they are punctual and efficient, but we mainly took trains to get where we needed to go. My mother and I stayed at the Hotel Mets for 6 nights. We went to Japan to see Hikawa Kiyoshi's concert held at the Nippon Budokan. This hotel was not really close to the Budokan, but it only took us around 20 minutes to get to Kudanshita station (one transfer). The nice thing about the Hotel Mets Komagome was that because it is connected to the train station, even though it poured rain we didn't need our umbrellas until we walked out of Kudanshita station towards the Budokan. In addition to the concert, we also did day trips to Yokohama and Kamakura for sightseeing, using the hotel as our home base and traveling by bus and trains. It was very easy. I would highly recommend this hotel, because it is a little out of the way (not in Central Tokyo) so they are not outrageously expensive. Add to that the room was kept immaculate and service excellent. We were lucky because they had a special going (they had just opened the hotel) so our stay for 6 nights was less than 90,000 yen. This included 2 breakfast or lunch coupons to Denny's for each day - Denny's in Japan is nothing like Denny's in the U.S. There was an excellent variety of food choices (Western and Japanese) and all our meals were delicious. The room (twin double) was small by American standards, (this is Tokyo!) but it was immaculate and had all the comforts you would want - large flat screen TV, free internet access in the room, fabulous shower - the best I've ever had in a hotel, bathrobes (a funny hybrid kimono -style), slippers, room humidifier, AC, refrigerator, hair dryer, and Japanese Tea. The only thing missing was coffee, but you don't get that in many Japanese hotels. If you really have to have morning coffee, just go downstairs to Denny's and they have great coffee in little tiny cups, but they give you free refills, something that is pretty much unheard of in restaurants in Japan. We loved this hotel and if we make another trip to Tokyo, will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mets Komagome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mets Komagome

Address: 2-1-39 Komagome, Toshima, Tokyo Prefecture 170-0003, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 hotels in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mets Komagome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mets Komagome Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mets Komagome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.