We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel that is convenient and reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the b ikebukuro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added the b ikebukuro to your Saves list
the b ikebukuro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-39-4 Higashiikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture (Ikebukuro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel that is convenient and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Modern, clean and not cramped for reasonable prices.

Toilets are for once not the modular plastic cramped little spaces usually seen in most non-luxury city hotels.

Staff can speak english.

5min walk from JR Ikebukuro Stn. Lots and lots of food surrounding the area.

The coin laundry facility is really useful (so you can pack light!)

**For some reason it is cheaper to book in Japanese than in English on some occasions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ikebukuro, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear nexusangel

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are happy to see you rating us a five-star! As for the booking price, our own website, the official the b ikebukuro website, offers the best rate guaranteed for both English and Japanese.

Thanks again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    166
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
51
62
60
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and were positively surprised.
The room is very small, but it is normal for Tokyo. Very modern and clean room. Great bathroom and location.
Ikebukuro is a great neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and large shopping malls. it is located on the JR Yamamote line, which is perfect for traveling around the city.
Very inexpensive for Tokyo. I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ikebukuro, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Claumax8

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your comment.
We are pleased to hear your positive experience at the hotel. As you said, Ikebukuro is a great neighborhood for your Tokyo base – it is conveniently located on the JR Yamanote line and we are only a few minutes away from the station.
Thanks again – please come back and see us upon your return to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel lived up to the majority of reviews, which I'm always a bit wary of. Its situation is good, being under 5 mins from Ikebukuro Station, which is on the Narita Express line from Narita Airport and near to all the large stores and convenience stores you could want. The fact that breakfast was included in the price was a bonus and the breakfast really set us up for the day. The triple room was not as small as I imagined,although, if I had any complaints, I would say that having one single bed and 2 small doubles in it made it more cramped than it needed to be and the beds were rather hard. The bathroom was small but had everything: the shower, with 3 different settings was fab and the heated toilet cum bidet seat was unusual! All toiletries were provided, so all you would need to bring would be deodorant. The rooms were cleaned each day, beds made and fresh towels provided. Altogether a very pleasurable experience. We would certainly go there or to a sister hotel, again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet. We didn't deliberately choose one at the back but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ikebukuro, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear winval

Thank you for choosing the b Ikebukuro and for taking your time to write the review.
We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback about your stay. We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Japan! Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 9D8N during my trip to tokyo on the 22nd May-30th May 2013. Travelled with a family of 5 with one kid (8 yrs old), was an easy accessible area to stay in as food and family marts are just round the corner. Clean and pleasant room (just nice for 2- superior twin room). About 5 mins walk from Ikebukuro station (East exit- you will see Bic camera store on the left upon exiting the station, and you will see the hotel sign further up). Wonderful location to stay in as Ikebukuro station is the interchange of most train lines. If you are coming from Narita Airport, do take the Kenseii Skyliner to Nippori station, and changed to JR Yamonote line to Ikebukuro station. It only took less than an hour to reach your destination! Breakfast was included during my stay, and the spread was pretty reasonable. Daily spread is about the same, but their pasta flavors change daily- as their specialty is pizza and pasta. If you are planning for day trips with sunrise tours, the nearest pick up hotel is sunshine city prince hotel. It takes about 10-15 mins walk away from this hotel- ask reception for direction should you need help.

The only downside about my stay was Wifi is only available at the lobby area. But there is complimentary internet if you use your laptop to connect to the cable provided in the room. Also, one of our rooms the air con is not working well, and lucky the weather was not that humid during our stay. Mine was working perfectly ok. Otherwise, it was a pleasant experience during our stay. And will definitely recommend to friends and family who goes to tokyo for vacation.

Tips: If you have an Apple Iphone/ Ipad, download this app call 'trains.jp' is the best app ever if you want to travel around tokyo in subways/ JR (yet to try if it works for other parts of japan). Apparently, is not available for android as i tried searching on play store.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ikebukuro, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear VaNiez

Thank you for choosing the b Ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are beyond pleased to hear your positive experience at the hotel and are happy to be able to cater you and your family.
As for the WiFi, we are actually working on installing it to be available in each and every room right now in addition to the lobby area. It will be complimentary – the complimentary LAN cable will still be available in each room as well. The Air con matter has been taken care of – thank you for mentioning.
Please come back and see us again upon your return to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I am kind of surprised and skeptical about the glowing Tripadvisor reviews, which was the basis of me booking this place.

The shower is GREAT. That's about the only really good thing I can say. Otherwise, it's a pretty typical middle-of-the-road business hotel that's been gussied up a bit with Ikea-like built-ins.

Rooms are typically small for this type of hotel. Curtains were badly stained. Card key entry to room was bug-gy.

There are bigger rooms in better-located hotels to be found in Tokyo in this same price category.

Also as I've mentioned before in reviews of other hotels in the area (I travel to Tokyo a lot,) I would NOT recommend Ikebukuro to first-time visitors to Japan. It is a tad remote from most of the major tourist areas, and a bit nasty.

Room Tip: Japanican had FAR cheaper rates for this hotel than on the hotel's own website or other major tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ikebukuro, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear mikebern

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your comment.
We are disappointed that we couldn't live up to your expectations. We will check the curtains and the card key system.
As you can see on our website, some of our rooms are Tokyo sized; however, we try to make them as efficient as possible. If you would like a bigger room, we would recommend our deluxe rooms as they are twice as big.
Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Absolutely fantastic budget hotel in a brilliant location. Ikebukuro is often overlooked by travel guides, but it's a great little part of Tokyo - not overly busy, some great restaurants and bars, and great connections to the rest of Tokyo (it's on the Yamanote loop line - even better to use if you have a JR pass).

The hotel is 5 minutes from the station (south exit, turn right, keep walking past the McDonalds). Really welcoming staff, free coffee and very clean. The room is small, like most Japanese hotels, but the space is well utlised so you don't really notice it. No Wi-Fi, but a LAN cable is provided to access the internet.

I highly recommend this hotel for doing Tokyo on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ikebukuro, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Dirgette

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read your experience – you are right – Ikebukuro is such a convenient and fun area for travelers. We only have WiFi available in the lobby at the moment; however, we are working on installing it to be available in each and every room. Free LAN will still be available as well.
Thank you again for your review. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Location is very good,near the JR station and lively neighborhood, breakfasts were very delicious, the hotel would have been fine from many aspects.

But the first day when I arrived hotel, I found an underwear in my room, it was lying under the desk, and that was not mine.I was shocked and called the FO to come and help me, the staff has apologized for what's happened, but my mom and I feel very uncomfortable.

I am also working at the hotel in Taiwan, and I just can't believe it !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b ikebukuro, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear The Ambassador

Thank you for your comment and we are pleased you liked many aspects of your stay.

We are, however, very sorry for the situation you were in while staying at the hotel.
We take your comments very seriously and have taken the matter up with our external housekeeping company. This is not something that we have experienced before at the hotel, and sincerely apologize to you and your mother.

We will certainly take steps to make sure this does not happen again.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to the b ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b ikebukuro

Address: 1-39-4 Higashiikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this exciting city, just three minutes walk from the JR Ikebukuro and subway stations providing easy access to Shinjuku, Shinjuku and Tokyo Dome. This newly opened hotel is right in the centre of the entertainment, nightlife, shopping, business and restaurant precinct, but also just minutes to Sunshine City including aquarium and observatory deck, Namja Town, Ancient Orient Museum and Japan Traditional Crafts Centre. Ideal hotel for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your the b ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Ikebukuro Hotel Toshima
The b Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b ikebukuro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.