We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Cafe Calico Shinjuku

Cat Cafe Calico Shinjuku
1-16-2 Kabukicho | Fuji Bldg.6F, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)
+81 3-6457-6387
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Fun & Games in Shinjuku
Attraction details
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Best meal of my life! Great menu, brilliant service and the most amazing steak ever!.cooked perfectly... SO GOOD!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    33
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not quite what I expected--Reservations required!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were on holiday with my 12 year old niece who had heard about cat cafes and wanted to go. Like the other reviews mentioned, you have to keep your eyes out to find it, but it is just past the Don Quixote restaurant. It may have been because we were going on a Sunday, but we needed a reservation. Thankfully they had an opening an hour or so after we first went so we just wandered around a bit and then came back. Perhaps because I have 3 cats at home, this was an underwhelming experience. I thought it was going to be more like a restaurant with cats roaming around but it is really just like some rooms with lots of cats and you can order drinks and some snack food. I think it is more of a café for the cats as you can order chicken which they love. We did order ice coffees which were good. This may be good for people who don't have animals at home, but if you do I wouldn't waste my time (or money).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cats, cats everywhere... duhhh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Worth the experience for any animal lover. I've never seen cats so big. It's not that expensive either, unfortunately I don't remember the pricing, but everything was fairly priced.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Certainly an experience! The cats weren't overly friendly at first but with time (and some chicken that you buy in the cafe specifically for the cats!) they come over and greet you! It is a very relaxing experience, so may be worth to bring your book along and enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quirky Cute Cat Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We saw this on TV before we went to Japan and went searching for it. It is not easy to find and only has a small sign out front but is worth the search. For $15 AUD per hour you can experience three floors of wall to wall cute cats to pat and feed. You can take photos if you like and the staff are very helpful. You can also buy coffee and tea and relax on comfy lounges and bean bags. I suggest purchasing a dish of cat food as well. the cats tend to give you more attention if you have food. Quirky and very Japanese. Worth a visit if you like cats.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cat Cafe Calico Shinjuku also viewed

 

Been to Cat Cafe Calico Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Cafe Calico Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.