We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho

Save Saved
You added Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho
2-20-15 Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0021 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 69 hotels in Shinjuku
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The price is very cheap compared to the central location. Well, the hotel is on the edge of the red light district, but you can walk to e.g. Shinjuku station without going through the red light district itself.

This was the second Toyoko Inn I've stayed in and it was very similar to the one I've been before. Pretty new, very clean and a small Japanese-style breakfast. The cleaning of the rooms takes a long time, because they come at 10 am and open all the rooms doors. Then they do the cleaning phase by phase and finish by 4 pm. This also means, that the check-in time is 4 pm (3 pm for loyalty program members) and they seem to be strict on that.

The normal twin room was very small for two people, but was enough for us, because we stayed only for a few nights and didn't spend much time at the hotel other than sleeping. They also have larger Deluxe rooms, if you want a decent-sized room.

The wifi didn't work well in the rooms, but there was also a cable connection for the Internet, which worked fine.

There are a lot of restaurants close to the hotel on the north side of it. It seemed to be a Korean area, because most of the restaurants were Korean. For Japanese food, we had to go to the red light district (which also had normal restaurants).

For getting to the airport, we took the metro from the nearby Higashi-Shinjuku metro station to Ueno-Okachimachi. From the exit A5 of the Ueno-Okachimachi station, the walk to the Keisei-Ueno station was less than 10 minutes and from there, there are a lot of direct trains to the airport. This way, the walk was shorter than walking to the Shinjuku station.

We stayed in Shinjuku in order to practice aikido at the Aikido Hombu Dojo. It was a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    83
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
28
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Room was nice, breakfast was fine. Every thing was super clean. Staff were nice, fast check in. Stayed in a smoking double room as the others were booked out, didnt smell of smoke at all. I think some basic japanese would help if you need to ask directions, it certainly helped me out allot. I checked in speaking Japanese and asked were the things were I needed. The only problem is its location, being in the red light district. It is completely safe, so long as youre not an obnoxious drunk. i just got tired of the Nigerian touts trying to get me into their bars for nomihoudai and no doubt a good dose of rohypnol and a trip to the closest ATM. If your a couple, or a family the touts wont even approach you so dont worry about it. However if your a solo male, or a group of friends take this into consideration when walking to and from the hotel after 9pm, they can avoided by walking along the main road and not through Kabukichō. They are not there during the day at all. The touts are harmless so long as you dont go into their bars (thats another story) I just found them time consuming to get away from them. Would still recommend this hotel as its still close to Shibuya for half the price for a Shibuya hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I felt comfortable in staying at Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho, but felt the room too small and, as was lying in a double room (my side was the window's), I didn't have space to put personal things as glass of water or spectacles. There's a tiny space accross the courtains but it was to narrow.
Couldn't try the breakfeast since already had a commitment.
Something called my attention when arriving at the Hotel: the Love Hotels in the same street and the PIMPs in the corners.
Even though I would stay there again because the staff was nice and the location was close enoughto get to the metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pros:
- Reasonable rate for a central Tokyo hotel, if you join as a member on arrival, you get a further discount.
- Room is very clean, as is the toilet
- Room is very well equiped - about 26-inch LCD TV, mini-fridge, writing table, hair-dryer, boiler
- Location is in Kabuki-cho area, a bit seedy, but the people will generally leave you alone.
- Lots of restaurants, fast-food nearby. Also convenience store nearby.
- It is about 10-15 minutes walk to Shinjuku station

Cons
- Room is very small; I felt claustrophobic at times. A small double-bed is parked against the wall with the window. Barely enough space ot open my suitcase, but the luggage can be kep underneath the bed.
- I think this is a Japanese business hotel, so all the TV channels are in Japanese (no CNN, BBC, etc).
- Breakfast is included, but gets boring after the first one or two days. Food is mainly glutinous rice, potato/macoroni salad, miso soup, some Japanese stuff like seaweed, and buns/cakes (which run out quite fast).

If you arrive from Narita, the option I took was to take the JR rail to Shijuku, exit at Shinjuku East (Kabuki-cho), then take a cab to the hotel (remember to print the Hotel address in Japanese) - it costs about Y710, but I think it is worth it, rather than trying to figure out how to reach the hotel - it is not so difficult, but if you are new to the area, you may take awhile to figure out the location.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room further from the lift lobby - my room was just outside the lift lobby, and i c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I can't talk much about value since I actually snuck into this hotel with my best friend who had a single booking. lol
It's a small room, but it had a kettle-humidifier, a mini fridge, TV and A/C/heater. The bathroom was also tiny, but it did the trick. Be warned that once you take your room key out of the slot, all the power goes off in the room - not just the lights, but the sockets (so don't expect to charge things while you're out) and the fridge (so don't put anything perishable in there).

They even provided pyjamas.

Breakfast was rice, miso soup, veggies and pasta salad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirakawa, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a good Toyoko Inn! Buy the membership card to get a discounted rate, but even without it, this is a reasonably priced hotel. It's a 15min walk from Shinjuku staion, and although Kabuki-cho has a bit of a reputation, I have always felt safe and enjoyed the walk there. The rooms are good with complementary toiletries and free wired internet, and best of all, free breakfast! I really like the Toyoko Inn breakfast, and it's great to get it free when similarly priced hotels charge for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

friendly service, free shuttle akiabara, clean, lots of discounts for members, and I'm a member :)
if the next time I come to tokyo back, I would not hesitate to stay here again, because it has become my favorite hotel when to tokyo

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho

Address: 2-20-15 Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0021 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Hotel Shinjuku
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.