We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-20-15 Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku 160-0021 , Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Room was nice, breakfast was fine. Every thing was super clean. Staff were nice, fast check in. Stayed in a smoking double room as the others were booked out, didnt smell of smoke at all. I think some basic japanese would help if you need to ask directions, it certainly helped me out allot. I checked in speaking Japanese and asked were the things were I needed. The only problem is its location, being in the red light district. It is completely safe, so long as youre not an obnoxious drunk. i just got tired of the Nigerian touts trying to get me into their bars for nomihoudai and no doubt a good dose of rohypnol and a trip to the closest ATM. If your a couple, or a family the touts wont even approach you so dont worry about it. However if your a solo male, or a group of friends take this into consideration when walking to and from the hotel after 9pm, they can avoided by walking along the main road and not through Kabukichō. They are not there during the day at all. The touts are harmless so long as you dont go into their bars (thats another story) I just found them time consuming to get away from them. Would still recommend this hotel as its still close to Shibuya for half the price for a Shibuya hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    112
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
44
54
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I felt comfortable in staying at Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho, but felt the room too small and, as was lying in a double room (my side was the window's), I didn't have space to put personal things as glass of water or spectacles. There's a tiny space accross the courtains but it was to narrow.
Couldn't try the breakfeast since already had a commitment.
Something called my attention when arriving at the Hotel: the Love Hotels in the same street and the PIMPs in the corners.
Even though I would stay there again because the staff was nice and the location was close enoughto get to the metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pros:
- Reasonable rate for a central Tokyo hotel, if you join as a member on arrival, you get a further discount.
- Room is very clean, as is the toilet
- Room is very well equiped - about 26-inch LCD TV, mini-fridge, writing table, hair-dryer, boiler
- Location is in Kabuki-cho area, a bit seedy, but the people will generally leave you alone.
- Lots of restaurants, fast-food nearby. Also convenience store nearby.
- It is about 10-15 minutes walk to Shinjuku station

Cons
- Room is very small; I felt claustrophobic at times. A small double-bed is parked against the wall with the window. Barely enough space ot open my suitcase, but the luggage can be kep underneath the bed.
- I think this is a Japanese business hotel, so all the TV channels are in Japanese (no CNN, BBC, etc).
- Breakfast is included, but gets boring after the first one or two days. Food is mainly glutinous rice, potato/macoroni salad, miso soup, some Japanese stuff like seaweed, and buns/cakes (which run out quite fast).

If you arrive from Narita, the option I took was to take the JR rail to Shijuku, exit at Shinjuku East (Kabuki-cho), then take a cab to the hotel (remember to print the Hotel address in Japanese) - it costs about Y710, but I think it is worth it, rather than trying to figure out how to reach the hotel - it is not so difficult, but if you are new to the area, you may take awhile to figure out the location.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room further from the lift lobby - my room was just outside the lift lobby, and i c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I can't talk much about value since I actually snuck into this hotel with my best friend who had a single booking. lol
It's a small room, but it had a kettle-humidifier, a mini fridge, TV and A/C/heater. The bathroom was also tiny, but it did the trick. Be warned that once you take your room key out of the slot, all the power goes off in the room - not just the lights, but the sockets (so don't expect to charge things while you're out) and the fridge (so don't put anything perishable in there).

They even provided pyjamas.

Breakfast was rice, miso soup, veggies and pasta salad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirakawa, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a good Toyoko Inn! Buy the membership card to get a discounted rate, but even without it, this is a reasonably priced hotel. It's a 15min walk from Shinjuku staion, and although Kabuki-cho has a bit of a reputation, I have always felt safe and enjoyed the walk there. The rooms are good with complementary toiletries and free wired internet, and best of all, free breakfast! I really like the Toyoko Inn breakfast, and it's great to get it free when similarly priced hotels charge for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

friendly service, free shuttle akiabara, clean, lots of discounts for members, and I'm a member :)
if the next time I come to tokyo back, I would not hesitate to stay here again, because it has become my favorite hotel when to tokyo

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed two nights in this branch of Toyoko Inn. Great location and quiet part of Kabuki-cho area. The room had a big bed, safe, kettle, and a fridge. Breakfast consist of a selection of Japanese items.

I like their option for having a small discount for not having your room cleaned. They do provide a change of towels which they hang on the door. If you're rushing, don't take the lift at 10 a.m. because it takes forever (check out time, and cleaners going to clean).

The only thing that can be improved here is the free wifi. Very sketchy and disconnects frequently. At times the best wifi was in my bathroom!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho

Address: 2-20-15 Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Hotel Shinjuku
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.