We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel in central Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-20-15 Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku 160-0021 , Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel in central Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pros:
- Reasonable rate for a central Tokyo hotel, if you join as a member on arrival, you get a further discount.
- Room is very clean, as is the toilet
- Room is very well equiped - about 26-inch LCD TV, mini-fridge, writing table, hair-dryer, boiler
- Location is in Kabuki-cho area, a bit seedy, but the people will generally leave you alone.
- Lots of restaurants, fast-food nearby. Also convenience store nearby.
- It is about 10-15 minutes walk to Shinjuku station

Cons
- Room is very small; I felt claustrophobic at times. A small double-bed is parked against the wall with the window. Barely enough space ot open my suitcase, but the luggage can be kep underneath the bed.
- I think this is a Japanese business hotel, so all the TV channels are in Japanese (no CNN, BBC, etc).
- Breakfast is included, but gets boring after the first one or two days. Food is mainly glutinous rice, potato/macoroni salad, miso soup, some Japanese stuff like seaweed, and buns/cakes (which run out quite fast).

If you arrive from Narita, the option I took was to take the JR rail to Shijuku, exit at Shinjuku East (Kabuki-cho), then take a cab to the hotel (remember to print the Hotel address in Japanese) - it costs about Y710, but I think it is worth it, rather than trying to figure out how to reach the hotel - it is not so difficult, but if you are new to the area, you may take awhile to figure out the location.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room further from the lift lobby - my room was just outside the lift lobby, and i c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I can't talk much about value since I actually snuck into this hotel with my best friend who had a single booking. lol
It's a small room, but it had a kettle-humidifier, a mini fridge, TV and A/C/heater. The bathroom was also tiny, but it did the trick. Be warned that once you take your room key out of the slot, all the power goes off in the room - not just the lights, but the sockets (so don't expect to charge things while you're out) and the fridge (so don't put anything perishable in there).

They even provided pyjamas.

Breakfast was rice, miso soup, veggies and pasta salad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirakawa, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a good Toyoko Inn! Buy the membership card to get a discounted rate, but even without it, this is a reasonably priced hotel. It's a 15min walk from Shinjuku staion, and although Kabuki-cho has a bit of a reputation, I have always felt safe and enjoyed the walk there. The rooms are good with complementary toiletries and free wired internet, and best of all, free breakfast! I really like the Toyoko Inn breakfast, and it's great to get it free when similarly priced hotels charge for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatcat2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

friendly service, free shuttle akiabara, clean, lots of discounts for members, and I'm a member :)
if the next time I come to tokyo back, I would not hesitate to stay here again, because it has become my favorite hotel when to tokyo

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thilaharahap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed two nights in this branch of Toyoko Inn. Great location and quiet part of Kabuki-cho area. The room had a big bed, safe, kettle, and a fridge. Breakfast consist of a selection of Japanese items.

I like their option for having a small discount for not having your room cleaned. They do provide a change of towels which they hang on the door. If you're rushing, don't take the lift at 10 a.m. because it takes forever (check out time, and cleaners going to clean).

The only thing that can be improved here is the free wifi. Very sketchy and disconnects frequently. At times the best wifi was in my bathroom!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel which is the best deal you can get if you wanna be in shinjuku area. It's about 20 mins walk from JR shinjuku east exit, quite a walk but can't complain for the price you are paying. The rooms are typical toyoko inn style, clean, small and well equipped. Its quiet at night even though It's near the Kabuki Cho area. Highly recommended but remember to book in advance, vacant rooms are hard to get!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruemonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Location is just in the heart of shinjuku and very good price. In Japan you need a good bed, a clean room and a confortable bathroom. Rooms are small but very clean. If you travel around Japan and Korea, it's worth to make a membership card to get discounts,etc. If you don't want that your towels and linen are changed, they give you a good discount

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#25 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#38 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho

Address: 2-20-15 Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Hotel Shinjuku
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#