We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget value - as long as you don't expect 4 star or higher” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho
2-20-15 Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku 160-0021 , Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 150 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great budget value - as long as you don't expect 4 star or higher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Location was perfect for shopping and exploring Tokyo. Sure rooms are small, but so are most rooms in Japan and for the money you are paying, you are getting very cleans rooms and a decent place to sleep as well as basic brekky. You do have to store your luggage upright to be able to move around comfortably. Most of the staff speak limited english but they are very accomodating and try their best to assist. If you are the type of traveller that is going to be out exploring all day and not spending all their time in their hotel room, then this place will definitely suit your needs.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    92
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
36
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The service is so bad it spoils your day! If you are stating at this god damn place! Give up trying to seek help from the ill mannered staff... Asking for directions she shrug... Wifi, she shrugs too... The only question she answered is when you asked for your room keys!
If you do not know Japanese language, hotel staff plays a important role where she will recommend interesting places to
Visit, which is what I did for the rest o my stay where I get to visit beautiful places!
The breakfast is like dog food... Not worth looking forward to... Overall is a lousy hotel with lousy staff and lousy location... And the stupid red light district where you might be looking forward to is dependent to which room you stay so as to catch a glimpse... Please! Stay in this hell place only if you have no other choice!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small; there is little storage space to hang-up a lot of clothes, but having said that, it is possible to store suitcases under the bed. Each room is equipped with a fridge, bath, wc and shower and wifi. The rooms are clean and functional. Despite the hotel being situated in a busy part of Tokyo which lives 24/7, the rooms are surprisingly quiet. Breakfast is included in the price and the hotel is equipped with washers and dryers to do your own laundry as well as plenty of vending machines. The hotel is mainly used by Japanese, so you won't find yourself stuck with a bunch of tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Our room with a double bed was small until my partner and I got in the way of each other. Luckily, the room and the attached toilet was clean. There was nothing much about the breakfast. It was just some rice balls and bread. Despite this, we were satisfied with Toyoko Inn Shinjuku as it met our basic needs without busting our wallets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Tokyoko inn has been since they launched their Chain ..
one of our favorite place to stay across Japan...
They offer Member's discount and a free night after 10 nights
We spend the night before the Tokyo Marathon there ..in order to save some precious sleeping time 10-15 mn walk to starting line
Free wifi connexion breakfast included
Free in-room safe box ...
Clean and very safe ..even if in Red light area

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Great location in the more quiet area of Shinjuku (but close to restaurants and bars) and close to the subway station. Friendly staff that can speak a little bit of english, clean rooms and good breakfast even though it was a bit hard to get used to rice in the morning..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I have been to Tokyo numerous times, and we always come back to the Tokoyo chain. Their Shinjuku Kabuki branch is our favourite. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
1) Friendly staff - Fluent in English, and some in fluent Mandarin
2) Clean and tidy - as with all Japanese hotels/home stay
3) Free breakfast - Japanese style, including rice balls, miso soup and pickles
4) Free internet at the lobby
5) Discount on weekends - 20% off Sunday + holidays for Tokoyo Inn Cardholder (foreigners accepted, you can sign up on the spot, annual fee = ~$16 USD, depending on the duration of your stay, the savings may be worth it)
6) Adjacent to Kabuki - night life, for ladies and guys! And super good ramen stalls that stay open late
7) Safe neighborhood - people in suits/evening gowns on the street are looking for business only, not trouble. No one bothers you if you don't show any interests.
8) Shopping - lots of shops about 2 blocks south of hotel, including brand new department stores like Isetan, Mitsukoshi. Guys may find interesting gadgets in Big Camera and Yodobashi Camera stores (Like Fry's in the US, but about 5 - 8x larger and more varieties). Basement level of all upscale department stores are filled with food stalls. Look for great bargains on daily fresh items (eg. tempura, sashimi, karaage, salads, sandwiches, etc.) ~2 hrs before store close. Prices keep dropping every 15/30 mins until gone or store close. Great price for quality cooked food! (Not sure if you want the sashimi, they still looked fresh, but we worried how long it's been out)

Cons:
1) 15 mins walking from JR station - a bit of walk if you're carrying luaggage, but not totally unmanageable
2) Difficult to locate first time - a bit challenging for first time visitor. Street names in Japan are very hard to find, but at least the locals are very willing to help
3) Rooms are small - our double room is barely enough to hold 2 single beds and 2 pieces of check-in luggage. Tiny bathrooms too
4) Dehumidifier in bathroom really dries you up!! My husband made the mistake of leaving it on before going to bed. We both dried up like prunes overnight, waking up in the morning with super chapped lips and skin
5) All TV channels are Japanese only

Overall, the pros totally outweighs the con. Like I said in the beginning, we always come back to Tokoyo Inn whenever we're in Japan.

Room Tip: Triple check/confirm to make sure they have given you a non-smoking room. They sometimes mix up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho

Address: 2-20-15 Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku 160-0021 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Hotel Shinjuku
Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-Cho Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Shinjuku Kabuki-cho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.