We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasted Kobe Beef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Grill

New York Grill
3-7-1-2 Nishishinjuku | 52F Park Hyatt Tokyo, Shinjuku 163-1052, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)
+81 3-5323-3458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 5,352 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very tasted Kobe Beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a good destination fir steak lovers. The quality of Kobe beef was superb & the service staff was very friendly & attentive.

The venue ambiance is very relaxing & decoration is nice

I would recommend it for steak lovers

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    123
    38
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Avoid Steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The winner of the night:
Pasta Conchiglie, Black Truffle, Creamed Forrest Mushrooms, Buffalo Ricotta
This was an appetizer that was loaded with truffle flavor as well as being very generous on the appetizer portion, this dish alone could have been my meal but I was really excited to try their Kobe beef.

The loser of the night:
Kobe Prime Cut 180g. After eating meat just as good as Kobe (albeit a bit pricier) at Ukaitei a few nights prior, the bar was set high for the New York Grille. Unfortunately, they did not meet my expectations. As you can see from my picture I've attached, the meat was overly fatty, to the point where there was gristle and a few pieces were inedible. When one is shelling out 165 dollars for a average size cut of meat, you'd expect to eat every morsel (as was the case at Ukaitei), alas this was not the case at the NYG. I was very disappointed.

We also tried the Prime Australian New York Strip 300g which was just as disappointing as well as being way undercooked based on our preference.

The service was a bit of a mess as well. They kept brining me the dessert menu when I originally sat down, on the 3rd try they managed to secure a dinner menu which was good bc I didn't want ice cream for dinner.

Oh lastly, the Caesar salad was quite nice. Even though it is a basic salad, they executed it well.

Too many restaurants in Tokyo to try, wouldn't dine here again.

My advice: stay away from the meats here and you should be good to go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“New York Grill Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

must have in your tokyo stay. We came here after our day around shibuya and shinjku, at 6 pm for have a drink, and the 52th floor with panoramic view and atmosphere was undescrivible and unique...enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Immaculate Service, and stunning views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a place made for couples to have a good romantic night out. Lights were dim in the restaurant with a beautiful jazz live band playing in the background. Most importantly is the stunning night views of Tokyo - imagine you are at the top of the world (52nd Storey) overlooking the entire city landscape.

As for the food, it is nice but not justifiable for the price. For 4 persons, I paid around JPY55,000 for the ala carte dinner. It is costly, but if you were to factor in the ambience and the service, I think its all worth it afterall.

Let's talk about the service. I got to pay my compliments to the Team Leader Ms. Kyoko Shirotori. She was patient with my requests, gave me good suggestions to surprise my girlfriend. It was suppose to be a surprise for my girlfriend who didn't know I will be in Tokyo. Prior to my arrival, Ms Kyoko communicated with me via email and always ready to accede to my request on the dinner day. I really appreciate her kind gestures amidst her busy schedule. All other service staffs on that night were amazing. Knowing its a surprise to my girlfriend, they kept assuring me not to be nervous and chatted with me throughout, making me feel so at ease.

The Jazz singer, Ms Amandah Jantzen, sang beautifully as well.

Let's talk about the food. We ordered Rib-Eye Steak, Venison Loin and Cod Fish. The food were fresh and tasty but frankly speaking nothing fantastic. However, sometimes a dining experience is not purely about the food isn't it? It is really about the package, and I love this package. It sets the tone for the rest of my Japan Holiday.

Thanks New York Grill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best brunch ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Sunday brunch at the New York grill in the Park Hyatt hotel was simply fantastic. The view, the food, the service was simply first rate. Even though it's not particularly inexpensive, it was worth every penny and more. Highly, highly recommended!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Grill also viewed

 

Been to New York Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.