We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC

Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC
1-5-1 Nishishinjuku | Shinjuku Odakyu HALC1F, Shinjuku 160-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)
+81 3-3342-5601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 5,394 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $124
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Overall the food was OK. The experience of having a tempura master, cook in front of us was quite nice. The actual tempura batter was the best I sampled during my Japan visit and I did eat a lot of it over the course of the trip.

However there are some overriding problems namely with the price of food. This restaurant was on the expensive side, £75 per head was the cost of our meal and the quantity of food was somewhat lacking and we didn't feel the quality of the food warranted the cost.

My favourite piece was the asparagus, which is saying something as I'm not a veggie. The shrimp was good, however small in size and far from the best I had while in Japan. Also you can order additional shrimp (one piece) for 1000 yen, which is crazy for what you actually get and on top of the already expensive set menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced tempura, a 100% tourist restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Good food and service, everyone was very attentive and nice. The tempura was indeed very tasty but so was the tempura we ate the previous night at 30% less cost and without the 10% service fee that this restaurant added, which is quite unusual in Japan (very few places add a service fee). The place is visited by tourists only, who are guided apparently by tripadvisor. The restaurant lacks Japanese ambiance - for one, there were no Japanese people there at all not a single one, just americans and one Swede. So I have mixed feelings - good food but too expensive, nice friendly service, no real Japanese ambiance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The most amazing tempura we have ever ate. Small, lovely and quiet restaurant in Shinjuku. There are no so many choices in the menu but you won't be lost because there is an English version of it. if you are looking for a good tempura this is your place, my dinner was amazing. Moreover, all served in the japanese way by very friendly people. There are cheaper options in Shinjuku but it's worth going if you are looking for quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“World Class Tempura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Tenkane is truly a restaurant worthy of a visit in Tokyo, a city of great restaurants. Following a 100+ year tradition of finely prepared tempura as a complete meal, they have honed the cuisine to the finest execution to be found. The menu is quite traditional, and the variety of flavors and delicacies is a delight to the senses. If you've ever been dissapointed in the past by soggy, fishy tempura you owe it to yourself to know just how high the bar can be set.

The meal is served in multiple courses, each course individually prepared by the chef as you are ready, and hence delivered hot and perfectly crispy. The owners and staff are warm, friendly and professional and the prices are exceptionally affordable for a meal of this caliber, especially for Tokyo.

Make a reservation for the bar to maximize the experience and ENJOY!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tempura in a cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is the second time I have been here and like the first it did not disappoint! This is a very authentic tempura restaurant with great food and fun atmosphere. The chef is a 4the generation tempura chef and knows exactly what he is doing. Great way to taste a lot of different foods at reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC also viewed

 

Been to Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.