We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Shinjuku” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC

Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC
1-5-1 Nishishinjuku | Shinjuku Odakyu HALC1F, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0032, Japan
+81 3-3342-5601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 4,993 restaurants in Shinjuku
Price range: $29 - $147
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Shinjuku”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Amongst the chaos that is Shinjuku is this hidden gem. A quaint, authentic tempura shop serving the best tempura I've had in Tokyo (or the world for that matter). We went with a set menu that consisted of sashimi to start and then 8 rounds of amazing tempura. The batter is light and flavorful and the fish and vegetables are fresh, with prefect texture and balance of flavor. The staff is amazing, very helpful and friendly. They really love what they do and it shows in the food and the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    31
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Best Tempura Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was blown away with the experience at Tenkane.

We sat at the bar and were greeted hot towels and hot tea. A plate of sashimi was accompanied with freshly ground wasabi, ground on a shark-skin grater.

We then began the experience of about 8 rounds of different types of tempura. The chef treated us to a few extras items now and then too!

Two of our guests had to leave early (as they were catching a plane) and the staff were more than happy to serve them faster that the rest of us. It was actually good for the rest of us as we got a preview of all the delicious things that were about to receive.

I will definitely return to treat friends to taste the delicious Tenkane tempura experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“High quality tempura cooked with passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Recommended by our hotel, an excellent and authentic one-man tempura venue with 10 seats along a counter, with two older ladies serving drinks, other dishes and clearing up. Nothing fancy but authentic, charming and very good. And very local.

A start of excellent sashimi was followed by a range of superb tempura dishes with a light batter and not oily. We went for the cheapest meme, more than enough food to be honest. The white fish, green onion and small scallops were the picks. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“A small, casual but traditional delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

A small, friendly Japanese restaurant with excellent quality and presentation. We chose a set tempura menu of Y5300 pp. There was plenty of food for us including a small dessert - green tea ice-cream. There are larger sets if you have a big appetite. We accompanied our meal with beer and sake. A lovely start to our holiday in Japan in this relaxed and casual restaurant with a simple, traditional feel.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fab tempura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Small place with fresh trmpura being made as you watch. The smallest option for 5300 yen is enough for most, as you get about ten deepfried tidbits after eachother - without haste. Count on 7000 yen per person with a beer and taxes. It's much for Tokyo standards, but worth it for a splurge. The personnel speak good english.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC also viewed

Shinjuku, Tokyo
Shinjuku, Tokyo
 

Been to Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.