We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-15-8 Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0022, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 69 hotels in Shinjuku
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in early July. The hotel is in a great location, only 7-10min walk from train station and near all the department stores and restaurants. This is a good, clean, safe, no-frills hotel. The rooms are clean and small, but functional and the layout is good. The staff are helpful and are able to speak good English. Free internet terminals downstairs and they even lent us their adaptor to charge our camera. If you are looking for somewhere that is fairly basic, clean and in a good location, then this is worth considering. However if you want 4-5 star luxury hotel then this is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    90
    67
    8
    1
See reviews for
14
54
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This was recommended by my girlfriend who like to shop in Japan(Shinjuku area. all the Japanese Department stores are located here) so I booked this hotel from their website(English) directly. The online booking system was easy and fast. I even send them emails asking them about how I can get to the hotel from Shinjuku station(I took limousine bus from the Narita airport to Shinjuku Main train station) and the hotel staff replied me back via email within couple of hours suggesting couple of ways to get to the hotel from the station with very detail info on how much it would cost via taxi etc.

as you may know. all the hotels in Japans are quite small, bathrooms are like "airplane" bathroom very very small. so I am use to small rooms. However the rooms are very clean, well organized, I felt saft here even as single female traveller. the front desk staff were very nice, always helpful. Spoke good English.

They have free -internet computer desk(2 computers) on the lobby so it's convinent. 24hrs convinent store are located next to the hotel. walking distance to shinjuku shopping area.

all in all, I was satisfied with my stay there. I would recommend this to my friends as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This is a great little hotel and affordable! Rooms are a trifle small but very clean. Service was excellent. The tap was leaking in my bathroom and they fixed it immediately. Front desk people are very gracious and very helpful. Overall enjoyed our stay there. We were there for four nights. Will definately return for another stay, one day.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was tiny and a bit shabby but clean. The bathroom is also tiny but again, very clean. There was just enough room for our suitcases but we couldn't unpack as there is nowhere to hang anything. There is air-con but no heating and it was a bit on the cool side at night. There is free internet in the reception and the computers were always available. The staff were very helpful and friendly and able to give directions to anywhere we asked them about. The location is good - only 5 - 10 min walk from the station with plenty of good restaurants and bars and things to see nearby. We probably wouldn't stay here again due to the tiny rooms and lack of heating but it was cheap so value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

Pros:
Tiny, clean, quiet rooms in a good location. Free internet, LCD TV. The staff were nice and spoke sufficient English.

Cons:
The room was tiny, pretty much the size of a double bed, with 1 foot of space on two sides [to be expected with business hotels I guess] it also smelt a little smoky and we could hear the guy in the room next door snoring. The bed and pillow were also pretty hard.

Conclusion:
Recommended for budget or business travellers, not those looking for a romantic getaway :)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in Jan 09 for 4 nights. Overall a good experience.

Firstly though, navigating the maze which is the Shinjuku JR station was a challenge. You need to take the east exit from the station to get to the hotel. Finding the east exit from the platform we landed at meant we had to go down a level, along a whole platform outside before we could get to the area of the east exit. Quite bizarre and confusing.

Anyway, after a 10 minute walk with luggage in busy Shinjuku we arrived at Sunlite. Easy check in. It is a 5 minute walk (without luggage) from the hotel to the JR and many restaurants and shopping centres/department stores. The hotel is in a handy location in regards to the Shinjuku area, with 2 convienience stores within a 1 minute walk.

The room was typical of many Japanese hotel rooms in this category - relatively small, clean, and tidy.
The room had free cable LAN internet, which was a bit patchy due to an old ethernet cord.
No English stations on TV.

We paid Y$1,050 for a breakfast voucher on the first morning. This was definitely not worth it and without doubt the worst breakfast I have paid for at a hotel. 1 egg, a piece of toast, 2 small frankfurt-like sausages and a scoop of potato salad, it was embarassing. Don't bother eating at the hotel.

There was free DIY laundry facilities which was very good. There are 2 machines that are combined washers/drivers however the cycle takes over 2 hours. Overall a very good facility though.

In summary the hotel is reasonable value for the money. It is small but clean and tidy and in a good position in Shinjuku. Just don't eat there - not worth it - walk a minute or 2 up the street and you'll get a much better meal.

Would I stay there again? Yes probably.

  • Liked — Clean room in good location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku

Address: 5-15-8 Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0022, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 69 hotels in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlite Hotel Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.