We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Price, Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Tokyo Shinjuku to your Saves list
ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-10-5 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Star Hotel Tokyo) (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Deal
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Location, Price, Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location is all that matters in Tokyo unless you are willing to spend USD$500 per night then you will be travelling by taxi anyway. If you can find a deal around USD$100 for this hotel then I think it is a bargain. This is what you call a "business" hotel in Japan where you only go back to sleep and spend more of your day outside. However, I do find the double room a bit bigger than some other "business" hotels I have stayed in Japan. A FULL double bed in a double room can place a full size luggage which a workable working desk and still some room to maneuver. The bathroom is large by business hotel standards.

I understand the previous hotel has been sold or re-branded to ibis accor hotel group. The standard is there. The room is very clean, bed on the soft side but the bathroom is showing some age. I heard some of the rooms in the hotel has been renovated but not so sure if ours were.

Quick 5 minutes walk to JR Shinjuku Station which takes you everywhere in Tokyo. 5 minutes walk to other subway stations. Note that there are a number of Private subway lines and train lines in Tokyo which can get complicated.

Quick 5 minutes walk to the center of action in Shinjuku, 24 hours drug stores, 24 hours super market that sells everything from cosmetic to electronics to sex toys.

Quick 5 minutes walk to the famous red light district in Shinjuku.

When you are in Tokyo, you shouldn't be spending too much time in your room anyway.. we just go back to sleep!

It might get a bit noisy as the hotel is in the middle of subway stations exits and depending on where your room is it will get noisy in the afternoon and late evenings and midnight during weekends when everyone is catching the last train home or out late into the night. Tip: Ask for a higher floor and quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, General Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor about your experience at Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku. Yes… You are right, the hotel used to be named “Star Hotel Tokyo” in the past. Accor took over in November 2011.
You are right when saying that it is close to many places of interest (Metro, JR Train, Shops, and Family Marts etc.). Most of our guests chose us for our location and our standards as you already highlighted. Our rates show flexibility and change according to the season, however, we remain among the most accessible in the market.
Thank you, once again for your feedback wishing to welcome you again at Ibis Tokyo Sinjuku.

My best regards
Kamel SENHADJI
General Manager
H8620-SL2@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    276
    150
    30
    14
See reviews for
104
113
154
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here in 2006 when it was under a different name. I was so happy when I realised it was the same hotel. It is right across from my favourite Kaiten Sushi in Shinjuku. Great area, great location. The rooms are small, but very well layed out for the size. I highly recommend this hotel. You won't find better value in this price range.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, General Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor about your experience at Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku. It is always nice to have repeater guests and see that changes make them feel much more comfortable.
The hotel used to be named “Star Hotel Tokyo” in the past. Accor took over in November 2011.
Thank you for your recommendations wishing to welcome you again… before 2020 (as you came to this place in 2006 and revisited the property in 2013).

My best regards
Kamel SENHADJI
General Manager
H8620-SL2@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

ibis is always my 1st choice of city stay as I always has good service experience from the hotel and staffs. ibis shinjuku located at few steps from Shinjuku JR station is best for city visit. The hotel offers high standard of room and facilities. But what impressed me most is hospitality and extended service mindset of the staffs that matters most. Staffs were patient to listen to my question and enquiry, and they took action immediately. The hotel is a value of money with easy-access location, facilities, and superb service. In addition free, strong wi-fi connection is provided in guest room too. Ibis will be my only choice when I visit Tokyo again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, General Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor about your experience at Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku. I will share these comments with the teams who will appreciate your feedback.

Please let us know when you look like revisiting Tokyo again. We will be delighted to welcome you and make of your next stay the best ever.

My best regards

Kamel SENHADJI
General Manager
H8620-SL2@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Very clean room though it is pretty small which is normal in Japan I guess. The service was good. There is a restaurant and macdonalds 24hours downstairs. Near the JR shinjuku station. Good value overall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taihape, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location....close to railway station, shops, restaurants in fact everything! The hotel was a great place to start our stay in Tokyo. The room altho small by our standards had everything we need and at the end of long days walking around it was a welcome place to go back to for a rest and sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms harama5

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, enjoyed the location and neighborhood. We hope that you had a comfortable sleep with our new bed - “Sweet Bed by ibis”.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku for your future visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.


Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

the customer service is friendly. the bathroom water gun is not working properly especially for the warm water. The room is clean but is a bit cold at night. blanket is not provided.
the menu for breakfast is no variation at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms marolita

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us. It was our great pleasure to look after your stay. We do pride ourselves on our high level of service and are very dedicated in making each and every guest stay as special as possible.

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive an extra blanket when the room wasn’t with your comfortable temperature. However, please kindly be noted that we have an extra blanket service for guests’ requests to assist their comfortable sleep.

In addition, thank you for highlighting our buffet breakfast menu. We are working on implementing a variety of our buffet breakfast menu at the moment and will try to deliver satisfactory services to meet guests’ expectations.

Please feel free to contact us directly should you have any further questions and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very good hotel with very helpful staff. The location near Shinjuku Station ( definitely the most confusing station in Japan) is perfect. It is an unimposing building but nice rooms and plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby.
It is an easy train ride to Tokyo station and other great sites in Tokyo. You can use Metro or ride for free on the Japan Rail line if you have Japan Rail pass.
For value, cleanliness and service we can thoroughly recommend it.
As another idea we found Tokyo Free Guide service on the internet and they are a volunteer organization manned with people who speak good English and provided us with a wonderful guide who loves to meet foreigners and showed us the best of Tokyo and most importantly explained how to negotiate their fabulous public transport system. And it us genuinely Free, you just pay transport and meal expenses for your guide.
You will need to arrange on the net and you will be contacted by your guide who will meet you in the lobby of your hotel.
One word of advice the airport hotel limousine bus service does not go there but does stop and ShinJuku West exit. Walk directly North from there, 5-10 minutes you will arrive at a major intersection and see it just West of the intersection. Or email the hotel and ask them to write their address in Japanese and jump in a taxi at Shinjuku Station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mr. JohnandFeli

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and exciting experiences of Tokyo Free Guide service provided by a generous volunteer organization.

Regarding the airport limousine bus, unfortunately they do not stop in front of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you managed to arrive at the hotel without getting lost. Walking towards Odakyu Halc Department Store is a visible sign to the hotel direction with over 5 min walk.
Even though the hotel location is quite near from Shinjuku Station – West Exit (Shinjuku Nishiguchi), it might be very confusing for a guest to find the location of the hotel in such a big and busy city of Shinjuku. Please kindly be noted that we are always more than happy to assist any inquiries by email or telephone prior to the arrival.

We appreciate taking your time to write a review of your stay. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.


Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Address: 7-10-5 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Star Hotel Tokyo)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Tokyo Shinjuku 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Agoda and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your ibis Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tokyo Sinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Star Hotel Shinjuku
Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.