We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not safe!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main to your Saves list
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-2-9 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 stars 1,071 Reviews
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not safe!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On the night of 20 Dec 14, 2000H, we arrived at the room but realised that it was not locked. This means that the housekeeper did not lock the door after cleaning up. We are unable to check if any information was stolen from our devices. Regardless, this reflects very badly on the reputation of your hotel. Such security lapses can be very dangerous, what happens if someone plants something dangerous inside? What if someone steals private information from my room? Your hotel failed to perform the most basic function of a hotel - a safe environment for customers to rest. Leaving the doors unlocked is not just the fault of the housekeeper, but also on the security team, who did not realise that the door was unlocked for hours despite captured on the security camera. Failure to patrol the hallways and the lack of supervision by the management are contributing factors as well. This is a very bad reflection on the entire management system.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    410
    420
    114
    51
See reviews for
120
228
237
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As this was my first visit to Tokyo i looked around for an ideal base for some time before i decided to go with the Washington Hotel. The location is excellent to use as a base, about 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku station. With the airport limousine bus stopping right outside the front door it made it very easy to access from the airport.
The staff were always extremely polite, helpful and friendly, as everyone in Tokyo seems to be. They helped with everyday questions as well as more complicated issues like trying to contact my bank back home to sort out issues with my cash cards.
The rooms are quite compact but offer everything you need and i've certainly stayed in smaller rooms around Europe. Besides, it was just to be used as a base to leave my things and sleep at night, otherwise i was out exploring Tokyo, which is an incredible city.
The area immediately around the hotel is very safe and pretty quiet at night given that it's mostly office blocks.
Altogether this was a good stay and a great introduction to Tokyo, so much so i'm already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Th higher the floor the better the view over Skinjuku. Just be aware the wi-fi can be very slow in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was booked through my travel agent, and I stayed for 3 nights. When I checked in quite late due to the arrival of my plane, the staff were great, very friendly. Because it was only me, I was offered a room on the Ladies only floor, which I took.

The room was tiny, it was a little tricky getting my suitcase in the door, but it was clean and tidy. It was a little chilly for me on the pre-set temperature but I survived. There were heaps of products in the bathroom and a couple of powerpoints. 2 restaurants are located within the hotel and on in the annex building, all which do breakfast (which was a part of my booking). I went to the Baron every morning, the service was exceptional and the food wasn't bad either. The staff at the information counter are also really friendly and helpful and will do their best to sort out any problems you have.

This hotel is really close to Shinjuku Station and walking distance to lots of places such as galleries, parks and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿WH, 本館フロント at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for staying our hotel and a contribution.
we glad to hear that you spend a good time.
we will make an effort in future to provide the good service and space.
we are looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros:
- Reasonably priced
- Strategically located
- English speaking staffs and quite attentive
- Free Internet
- Have variety of F&B outlets within the hotel complex with various range of price (from 400 yen for set meal to higher)

To be improved:
- The pillow provided is too soft, should provide option on pillow
- Bigger windows

Room Tip: Remember to emphasise on non-smoking room if you want to avoid the heavy odours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying Shinjuku Washington Hotel.
We will renovate main building from next April for a year.
we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked 2 rooms-a double non-smokinh and triple smoking due to unavailability. I wrote to them to please change my triple room to non-smoking as my son was allergic to smoke . Although they were fully booked they managed to do it and I was impressed with the response time to my request which was the same day. Great service!

The triple room was bigger than expected with 3 super single beds. I had such good sleep without my usual neck aches. The double was rather small but we expected that.

It was such a short walk to Tochomae station and Family Mart in the hotel offered such convenience.

I definitely wouldn't mind staying here again!

And the staff at the Info counter at the Ground Floor and the Baggage room were incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying Shinjuku Washington Hotel.
We will renovate main building from next April for a year.
we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you so much .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua-Hin,Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the first time in japan. The hotel was very clean and comfortable for us. It has family mart in the first floor. And then you can walk short cut to shinjuku shopping center around 8 - 10minute. in the morning have breakfast in Japanese style. We booking for triple room and non smoking. That I think li is very good room for my family.

Room Tip: You can try for your vacation with your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 9 night divided in two parts of 4 and 5 nights. The direct limousine service from Haneda Airport is really very convenient after a weary jet-lagged flight. The front desk was helpful and very professional. In fact, on the second stay, we had reached the hotel at 1230 hrs and had to wait till 1400 hrs when they start their check-in.
The rooms are neat, comfortable with all basic amenities. Yes, the rooms are tiny and maneuverability within the room becomes a problem if you have big luggages. Choose a room from the top floors and you get a fabulous view of the "Skyscraper district" from the window. Getting an elevator is a problem in the morning as they are generally full - an upper floor room is of advantage in this regard.
The location is quite convenient, although it is about a Km from the station. The Metropolitan towers are just adjacent. There's also a subway that connects the hotel from the station.
In short, a clean, comfortable and affordable hotel.

Room Tip: Upper storey rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying our hotel.
I'm so glad to hear that.

in next year, we will renovate our rooms,
then please looking forward to seeing renewed rooms.

We are all waiting for your back to our hotel.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Address: 3-2-9 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3*
Number of rooms: 1296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.