We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great basic hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinjuku Washington Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shinjuku Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-2-9 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0023, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 69 hotels in Shinjuku
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great basic hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Researching through the labyrinth of hotels in Tokyo was no easy task but I'm SO happy that I finally chose the shinjuku Washington hotel. Not only was it the most affordable but the location can't be beat. It's located in shinjuku, which is a huge transportation hub, similar to NYC's Times Square and penn station combined. So for first time travelers going to Tokyo to navigate the massive transportation system, this neighborhood is the way to go.

As for the hotel itself, it's about a 10 minute walk from the shinjuku station but because there are so many exits and entrances and there is limited signage in English, the easiest way to get to the hotel is as follows:
From narita airport, take Narita express train to shinjuku station (If you purchased a JR rail pass for travel throughout Japan, you can use the JR pass for the Narita express. Just go to the JR information desk to reserve the seat when you arrive).
Once you arrive at the Shinjuku stop (a little over an hour ride), get out at the South exit. You will be totally disoriented with the people and various signage but follow the signs to the Tokyo Metropolitan Building or the Skyscraper district. This will take you across, down, down, across and you'll be walking for about 10 minutes underground. As you get midway to the Tokyo Metropolitan building, you will see an "exit 8 - Tokyo metropolitan building". Follow that all the way to the very end when you can't possibly go any further. That last exit will have signage for the Tokyo metropolitan building to the right and the shinjuku Washington hotel to your left. Exit and you will ind yourself in the B1 level of the hotel.

The hotel itself has good customer service and there is even a foreigner desk for English and Chinese speaking travelers. I booked a day trip to Mt Fuji through the desk and it was very helpful.

My room was small but I was a solo traveler so the size was fine for one person. The room itself was clean and very efficient. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    438
    408
    109
    43
See reviews for
115
213
232
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Rooms were clean, small space for toilet/bath but clean as well. Location is great. Breakfast was a choice of,buffet,western and japanese food from 3 restaurants inside the hotel premises. People were courteous and very helpful. The only thing is rooms were quite old and needs renovation.
However, this maybe overlooked because the people were attentive and very accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were small but it was in a good location for Shinjuku Station. Most rooms are smoking and although we booked a none smoking room there were none available when we arrived. Breakfast was only average.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stay at Shinjuku Washing Hotel from 26/04/2013 for 5 days. Conveniently located with less than 10 minutes walk to the Shinjuku Station; big department stores and eateries. There is also a "Family Mart" located on the ground floor, which is a plus. However, the rooms are extremely small with very poor sound proof. Walking through the corridor, you can hear very clearly other people's conversations in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights because of the location. The front desk service was good and the room was a standard Japanese business hotel. I lived in Japan for 9 years and stayed in many business hotels and I would rate this hotel as above-average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed a week, it was our first trip to Japan, I had a bit of trouble getting a non-smoking room but we got it, service was good in general they handlle most queries ok.
Our room was clean the size was good enough for us, the hotel is connected to the Shinjuku station and underground passage abou 1 km, once you get there you basically can go anywhere.
For Tokyo standars I believe now that is a good value for money, plus the limousine bus stops at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here while returning to Japan in April. Shinjuku is very convenient as a base, from where one can travel on day trips or to visit other areas of Tokyo.

Given the extremely mixed reviews that this hotel receives, I felt that it was important to provide some context from the two stays that we had.

This hotel was designed initially and targetted as a Business Hotel. Hence the rooms are small, with ample provision for SMOKER's ( not the non-smokers), decent wifi, and local access to the station. Overtime, more and more tours use this hotel for one to two nights at most. Given that its usually full, it really does not have to go out of its way to humor its clients.

We stayed in a smoking room for the 1st stay ( 3 nights). It was musty and warm, so we got the attendant to open the windows. We stayed in the same room as it was quiet ( 24th floor) rather than move. On our second stay, we had a no-smoking room, but it was noisier.

The rooms are cleaned daily, sheets and towels are fresh. However the bath units are not cleaned to the level one expects of a Japenese hotel. Its on a part with an American Chain Hotel ( Holiday Inn).

The key downsides with this hotel is the poor airconditioning. ( This is a feature of most Japanese business hotels). Request that you open the window if necessary.

- Access to West /South Entrance of Shinjuku is about 10 mins walk.
- Expect long wait for the lifts at peak times as tours all leave / check out at the same time.

I'll look elsewhere the next time Im back in Shinjuku.

Room Tip: - If you are not happy, ask at front desk for help. - Insist on a no-smoking room - If you are a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel

Address: 3-2-9 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0023, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 hotels in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinjuku Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.