We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lost in translation and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“lost in translation and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

top 3 off my favourite hotels in the world.
japanese restaurant is fantastic.
the bar is famous if you love movies...
the lobby is where the magic starts,and it does not stop the entire stay.
service and architecture are unbelievable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    222
    52
    18
    18
See reviews for
246
692
169
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was in Tokyo recently and had the opportunity to stay for a night at the Park Hyatt. I am glad I did. Right from my arrival to my departure, this was an incredible experience - just as a luxury hotel should be. The overall sense of calm and discerning solitude is rare among hotels these days, even in this class. The deep pile carpeting, textured walls, original pieces of art on most walls, and thoughtful lighting give a sense of calm and dampen most ambient sound. The room (I had a corner suite) was perfect down to the last detail, which are too many to write about here. The New York Bar and restaurant offer incredible views and excellent service in a very stylish setting. The pool and gym facilities are top notch, and are arguably the best situated of their kind anywhere in the world. Doing your workout while looking over Tokyo from 47 floors up is an incredible experience. The pool is long and offers a real opportunity for swimming lengths that mean something. The hair cap and goggles are provided willingly, as well as a bottle of water - a thoughtful touch. Didn't bring gym clothes? No worries - they provide those as well, including running shoes. The spa is a delight. My "Tokyo Journey" was 100 minutes of pure pleasure (with some real swedish massage in there for the tight areas). The hot and cold pools, several saunas, and full body showers were fantastic. All is provided for. Don't think about not taking advantage of the spa... do it!

This has now taken my number one position for the most incredible hotel experience I have had (knocking out the St Regis Singapore). This was the single most amazing hotel experience I have ever had - and I do like my luxury and boutique hotels. Sure, it is not cheap (the room I got was around the $800 mark), but worth every penny. Lost in Translation captured the feel and atmosphere of this hotel perfectly - if you see that film, there will be no surprises. It is as amazing as it seems. Don't stay there to recreate the film though... make it your own. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Best gym/pool of any of my Tokyo stays. The fitness centre is on the top of one of the hotel's three towers with wonderful views over city. Great room, fab sheets and wonderfully comfortable bed. Staff incredibly helpful. Only downside is location. It is a bit of a schlep to the station though they run a shuttle bus. Bar, restaurant and breakfast all very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The service from start to finish is exactly what you would expect from a 5 star hotel with this reputation. A strange setup that the reception is on level 41 with desks and chairs as opposed to a reception desk. The staff escort you from the lobby (level 2) to 41 to check in and then to your room. The rooms are amazing with stunning views, massive bed, premium products in the mini bar (4 brands of whiskey, 3 brands of vodka, various selections of water, juice and soft drinks plus Hyatt branded snacks). Fantastic finishing touches such as Aesop products, paintings & sculptures and endless minions that tidy your room unseen at various points while you are out. Knowledgable staff that are willing and able to assist with strange requests (such a dog clothing stores and planning for Disneyland). The various restaurants and bars are also fantastic - if your budget will stretch, absolutely stay here

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Park Hyatt as part of our honeymoon in Japan. We stayed in there both on in and out of Tokyo. The staff was very nice, rooms superb and when the public transport was down they drove us to the train with our ski bags to the train to catch our flight. Located in a busy and pretty westernized part of Tokyo, with a little bit of snooping cool more local places can be found near by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I've stayed at the Park Hyatt in Shinjuku a dozen times over the past 10 years. Each visit has been wonderful. It's really really a special place made all the more amazing by its gracious staff.

If you choose to give the Park Hyatt a try, I'd encourage you to ask for a "City View" room. These rooms face down towards Shinjuku station and the incredible activity around it.

Room Tip: Ask for a City View room so you'll overlook Shinjuku station and the beehive of activity around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean, well decorated. I loved the hotel at the beginning and did enjoy every minute as staying here. The staff was super friendly, helpful and attentive. They pointed out and guided us to fantastic tourist destinations. Couldn't ask them for more. Definitely stay here in the short distance future for our next planned trip to Japan.
Highly recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.