We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best City Hotels in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best City Hotels in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed in this iconic property for 3 nights in late March 2012. I found everything I expected in terms of style, efficiency, courtesy. It is difficult to describe the feeling that everybody has while staying at this property, and I think I should simply say that the Sum is even better than the Parts.
Don't get me wrong: everything is perfect, pristine, immaculate. But if you look at room decor per se, for instance, you may not be blown away. The "Extra factor" is in the details here. And in the energy of the hotel: what you feel walking from the lobby, through the beautiful dining room, toward your check in, and then up to your room. Is that a Fellini sketch on the wall? Little surprises, that make the whole difference.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    222
    52
    18
    18
See reviews for
246
692
169
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a serious, first-class hotel about 10 minutes from the Shinjuku station, which is one of the major metro stops, including the JR line's Narita Express. Rooms are beautiful, views are spectacular. Staff is extraordinary, particularly the concierge team, and specifically Belinda, who was extremely helpful in making plans that included dining, transportation and even a baseball game. Buffet breakfast is terrific, overlooking the bustling city. The famed New York Grill on the top floor provides panoramic views of Tokyo at night, perfect cocktails, and live music. The gym is well-equipped and also looks out over the city below.
All-in-all, a sensational experience, well worth the expense if one has the budget for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Although the Tokyo Park Hyatt is expensive, it's a delightful place to stay--right in the heart of Shinjuku, with a great collection of restaurants and those personal touches that only Park Hyatt provides.

Sleep like a king--and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

First time for me to stay in hotel like this in Tokyo (usually stay with friends) and it more than lives up to the Park Hyatt standard. More of a leisure hotel than a business hotel, it's modern and super comfortable. It's about a 10min walk west of Shinjuku, which isn't bad at all, at it's right at the northern tip of Yoyogi-koen, so a walk through their down to Harajuku & Yoyogi-Uehara isn't more than 30 mins.

Definitely worth a visit if you want to lush it up in Tokyo-land.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I first saw this hotel in the movie "Lost in Translation". Then, when checking out the various options for a 2 night stay in Tokyo, came across it again and read the very good reviews here on Tripadvisor.
This hotel is very pricey but worth the money, if only for one night.
We staying in the least expensive room, which was lovely and had enough room for two.
The hotel is a bit confusing when you check in. Note that taxis arrive at the "front entrance" on the second floor. You are met at the door and escorted to a bank of elevators. Take the elevator to the 41st floor and turn right twice upon getting out. There is a winding corridor, past a restaurant (where they serve a decent but expensive breakfast) to where you actually check in. There is no check-in desk, just a series of desks and chairs, where you will receive personal, discrete and quiet service. You are escorted to your room by the clerk who has checked you in and shown the amenities of your room.
All the rooms are higher than the 41st floor so the views are superb. The beds are quite comfortable, the desk fully stocked, a complete bar and a huge bathroom with every amenity you could think of. The bath salts for the deep soaker tub were a welcome treat.
The pool is on a rooftop and well worth a visit. They will supply you with slippers, a bathing cap, bottles of water, a robe and goggles. The gym looks excellent. There is a spa too.
There are a few restaurants in the hotel itself. A Japanese restaurant (very expensive) where we split a tasting menu - not for the squeamish, and the American Grill and Bar, again on a roof. We went for a drink (cocktails about $23/glass) in the bar and very much enjoyed the view and service. The American Grill was superb. Everything we tried was unbelievably delicious. The price was very steep compared to a similar meal in the USA but then a lot of things in Japan (and especially in this hotel) are high. It was certainly worth having supper there once.
The location in Shinjuku is fine for business, perhaps less so for tourists, although the main (massive) Shinjuku train/subway station is about 6 blocks away. There is a lovely shrine and park within walking distance. The subway system is initially a bit confusing but by the end of the day you have the idea and can negotiate getting around the city pretty easily. All the subway stops are marked in English.
Overall, this was a lovely, albeit expensive, hotel, worth the high rating on Tripadvisor. If you are looking for somewhere to splurge in Tokyo, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was visiting Tokyo with my two adult sons and we stayed two nights at teh Park Hyatt Tokyo and will certainly return. Upon arrival we were personally shown to the 41st floor where the check-in area is located and were the personally greeted by the Asst. Manager who thanked us for staying at the property. The check-in was very easy and very complete and we learned that they had reserved rooms that were connected by a private hallway - really nice touch. From there it only got better. I do not think we opened a single door the entire time we were there. I was using my computer without a mouse pad and the next morning there was a mousepad. We palced a few cans of beer (actually to take home) and upon our return they were chilled in ice. The attention to detail was unreal.

The gym is located on the 47th floor and sports a large swimming pool in the center of the area with work-out equipment that looks over the city skyline. Reall cool using the treadmill and looking directly out at the city. The spa is just as amazing as the gym with 3 dry saunas all at different tempurates, a steam sauna, a plunge pool, and large jacuzzi, beatuiful lockers, great showers, and great amenities, Of course, the staff was there to help with anything. From there on to what can only be described as a wonderful breakfast and service to match.

The lounge is located on the top floor and has what I can only describe as the best views of Tokyo along with a great bar and super snacks.

After staying at The Park Hyatt Tokyo I canot remember a hotel experience that measures up in the terms aesthics, service, and conveinence. Again, the gym is extraordinary to the point that I would buy a memebership if I lived in Tokyo and they were offered.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I read many positive reviews and saw this hotel on several "best hotels" list. Could all these reviews be true? I had to find out. Like most people, my husband and I wanted to stay at this hotel because of the movie Lost in Translation (and of course the reviews).

What we experienced as a family of 3 was nothing short of world class service and quality. Despite a hiccup during the check-in process, we had a very comfortable stay and felt that the staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They always greeted us with a smile.

We ordered room service a handful of times and they did a great job of preparing and presenting each meal. Delicious!

Their fitness center was very clean with great quality machines. The view from the fitness center is spectacular.

Sunday champagne brunch at the New York Grill was delicious with good selection of appetizers and desserts. Main course was prepared in the kitchen and brought to our table. Even though we didn't have a reservation (on Easter Sunday), we were able to get a table after a bit of wait. From here you can see how far Tokyo stretches out, while sipping some champagne and listening to live Jazz music. What a nice way to spend a couple of hours!

The hotel is nicely decorated with a lot of original art, a great collection of books, fresh flowers and soft lighting. Our bed was comfortable (somewhere between European hard and American soft). There is a shuttle that takes you to the Shinjuku station. The driver was very nice and it was nice to jump into the shuttle instead of walking in the cold for 15 minutes. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning around all of my son's toys and keeping our room spotless.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. I hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.