We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access, value for money, great for shoppers, single traveller, couples, family and gold passport members” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Tokyo to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-7-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Easy access, value for money, great for shoppers, single traveller, couples, family and gold passport members”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was my 4th time stay at Tokyo Hyatt Regency. First time I have no gold passport status. So I don't get any benefits. This time I check in as Diamond member and totally treated differently. The hotel location is at Shinjuku, 5 mins hotel free shuttle or 15 mins walk to Shinjiku. Although it's not right in the middle, hotel provides free shuttle bus right in front of Okadyo shopping mall (right outside Lacoste) every 20 mins. Journey only take 5 mins from/to hotel. The mini bus always arrive on time. Make sure you get there 5 mins early. There are space for your luggage inside the bus.
If you arrive at Narita (USD 30) or Henada (USD12) airport. I would suggest you take the direct airport luminous bus to Hyatt Regency Tokyo because it's very easy door to door. Save your time up and down on the train and you don't need to change taxi or hotel bus at Shinjuki later.

Hyatt Regency Tokyo is a traditional mix of Western and asian style hotel. With big lobby, high ceiling, not super fancy but very clean, spacious cosy and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Once you arrive the hotel, the staff would help out with your luggages. For gold passport diamond member may check in on Level 9 club reception.

I stayed in the Club King (newly renovated) as well as I have used the Gold passport upgrade certificate to Suites this time. The club room level are located between 4th and 9th floor. Club King, and Club deluxe king are pretty similar design. They remind me of Grand Hyatt Tokyo in Roponging. Use of dark brown wood, cosy lighting and earthy feeling. I quite like it. Although the size is not as big as grand hyatt room but good enough for couple or single traveller. Hotel provide wifi connector, make sure you call housekeeper to set up for you. Then you can connect your phone, ipad and mac. The window has electric blind and totally block the light. I can sleep so well at night!

As for Suites, I have used my diamond upgrade certificate. My room was located on level 4, it is very spacious for a Japanese hotel room. Entrance has an extra door to keep your room super quiet. Lot of space for your cloths, luggage and with a Japanese iron board. Living room with a big coffee table, sofa for 4. Spacious work area, with lot of storage, mini bar, and safe box hidden inside the draw. For wifi, housekeeper will set it up for you. You may need to bring an international adopter for your computer or phone charger. However, you can always ask housekeeper to send you one. As for gold passport diamond, I have received welcome Japanese fresh fruit everyday. They were very delicious. Housekeeper is friendly and completely clean up the room nicely. I am very impressed. The window has electric curtain can totally block the light from outside. There were two tv, one for the bedroom and big one for the living room. You can also hear the TV inside your bathroom. Toilet and bathroom are in one room. Very spacious and bright but with two step so make sure you watch out when you go at night. The toilet seat is heated with spray. Shower and bath are separated. Good for 4 people standing together.

Breakfast was at the club lounge for gold passport members. Food choice were not bad. Each morning there was different style of foods. Egg, ham, bacon, oatmeal, yogurt, some japanese pickles, fresh cut fruit like melon, grapes, grapefruits, banana, apple, orange, cheery tomatoes, lot of different kind of bread and tarts, Oj, tomatoes juice, grapfruit juice, apple juice, tea, coffee, soft drink, mineral water, and sparkling water. The view are quite nice facing to a park and skyline.

During afternoon from 5-7pm you can enjoy happy hour at the lounge. The food they offer can feed me as a dinner. Free champagne, beers, wine, soft drink, lot of little Japanese food, chicken balls, dumplings, tea coffee, homemade cookies, desert and much more. I would suggest you should not miss out this happy hour. Perhaps after a long day walk or sightseeing, make sure you return between 5-7pm to enjoy this. They serve different types of food each day.

The spa and pool is located on the top floor 28. It's quite nice to swim up there (cap provided) and you can soak yourself into the hot jazcuuize if you have a sore feet. There is a red light section for you to rest down and dry up your body. View are pretty nice 270 degree to check out the skyscraper of tokyo. Once you arrive, there are six open shower heads around you to clean up your body before you walk in. Pretty awesome. The room is heated and water temperature are warm enough and you don't need to worry about too cold.

Lastly, many of you may feel hungry at night. There are 7-11 below the hotel, a couple of dining places, bar and a mini supermarket. It is actually good for such location. As I was jet lag usually after return from sightseeing or shopping around 6-9pm. I feel lazy and tied to go to Shinjuku again when I wake up. so there are some place I can get food downstair. Pretty convenience.

Overall,

Room Tip: Make sure you get a club room because they are newly renovated. Between 4 and 9 floor. View is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    673
    178
    36
    7
See reviews for
255
347
197
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in the Hyatt Regency Tokyo for five nights in July 2013 at the Regency Club level and really enjoyed my stay. Breakfast and oerderves were included daily. I took the shuttle daily to and from Shinjuku Station. I took the Narita Express to and from the airport to Shinjuku.

Room Tip: Book at the Regency club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Pretty much your standard Hyatt Regency, polite and effecient staff,wellappointed rooms and public areas. Only complaint is the wifi come on folks its the 21st century can't you just have wifi throughout the hotel instead of having someone from housekeeping have to bring me a router?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Conveniently situated a short distance from Shinjuku station where JR and metro trains run to destinations all over Tokyo and beyond.
The rooms arevery comfortable and spacious. After a long stay a free option is offered of 2 minibar drinks or a free laundry service among other things. Breakfast wasn't included although for 3,000¥ you could have a buffet with a wide variety of food including cereal, chef cooked egg dishes, shimeji mushrooms, tomatoes, egg, sausages, salad, rice porridge, bread and pastries, fruit, pastrami and salmon.
The lift/elevator is characteristically beautiful as are the two chandeliers. For convenience there are restaurants under the hotel and a seven eleven shop. There is also a post office and chemist and a supermarket but this is closed in the holidays.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from shinjuku station every 20 minutes and friendly limousine buses to and from Narita and Haneda airports start from the hotel for a fee. There is also a metro station ( Tochomae) running from under the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Hyatt Regency is not a place for a holiday, it has no places to chill out apart from your room. The one cafe on the hotel's ground floor is too small for the demand and on most days I was hurried through breakfast so that other, more important?, guests could eat. At no point did I feel comfortable and relaxed in this hotel. Staff smile through gritted teeth. Repeat business or relationship building is not on the agenda. The hotel is clean, the concierge and the housekeeping genuine. The beds are exceptionally comfortable. But this is a hugely sterile place.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be similar and uniform. When I checked in a trainee told me I would be upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Whenever I read about hotels in Tokyo, I always read about how small the rooms are. So, I booked this hotel expecting the same. Stayed here for 5days/4nights. Surprisingly, the rooms are big enough. Not big BIG, but definitely not small. It's not a new hotel but very clean and the bed is very comfortable. Loved how grand the chandeliers are in the lobby.

This hotel is not centrally located, however, there is a shuttle bus that brings you to and from the Shinjuku train station every 30mins. I only used the bus 2x a day anyway since we were out the whole day and would only go back to the hotel at night. Wifi is also not free.

Overall, I would still recommend this hotel because of comfort and never had a problem during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

stayed one night while on business in June 2013. Hotel is located near the subway station and across a nice park. I checked in pretty late in the evening due to late arrival of my flight and the night shift staff seems uninterested to greet guests checking in and assist with their needs. Room is small as expected and the furniture is really showing its age. Staffs i encountered in the morning were much better and were friendly. The short stay was unimpressive and this property really does not live up to the Hyatt name, especially in a city like Tokyo. will not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tokyo

Address: 2-7-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented High-rise Hotel with seven-story Atrium, situated in commercial area of Shinjuku, facing Shinjuku Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, JAPANiCAN, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.