We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We had two rooms on the 33 floor of the south tower, two twin beds, two adults. The rooms were average size for an American hotel and the bathroom was full size. The twin beds were longer and wider than we expected. Everything was clean, neat and in working condition. The hotel staff was polite, knowledgeable and most spoke some english. I would absolutely stay here again. The views were great and the rooms were quiet. It's also right next to the Shinjuku station of the subway, which is a major hub.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    1,005
    270
    68
    35
See reviews for
521
634
151
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

My stay at the Keio in Shinjuku was wonderful - my poor Japanese was met with an English speaking hotel staff, which is a plus for us Gaijin. Everyone was quite friendly and eager to assist with bags, travel, whatever you need.

I stayed in a suite - the rooms are quite large and well appointed (fridge, hot water machine, internet, TV) though there is no WiFi. Rooms are also quite clean and room service the fastest I've ever seen.

If you're looking for a hotel centrally located near Shinjuku JR station, this hotel is only a few blocks walking distance. Airport Limousine Bus service stops at the hotel, so travel to the airport is easy.

The Chinese restaurant in the hotel (there are several fine restaurants in the hotel) was a delight, though hardly American style take-out. There are also shops (florist, convenient store, etc.)

I'll be returning to the Keio in the summer, and I look forward to staying here. Though it is not the least expensive of hotels, it is on par with ANA Tokyo in terms of service and beauty, but a much better deal. I can't wait.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I knew this hotel is currently under renovation and therefore sending an email directly to the hotel requesting a newly renovated rooms for my reservation.
The reservation staff confirmed that all the plaza comfort rooms in the South building are newly renovated. THIS IS NOT TRUE !!!!!!!!!!!
We paid 369,600 yen for 6 nights stay (USD 3,953 or AUD 4,326) in 2 rooms with old furniture, stained carpets and old bathroom amenities.
The main reason I booked this hotel because it has an inside doors access between 2 rooms, it was very difficult to find this facility in Japan and this was my only option.

I regret to spend so much money for such an old facilities. Be very careful !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasuhikoKubo, Deputy General Manager, Rooms Department at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Dear Disappoint Teresa-san,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are awfully sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. We had renovated our Plaza Comfort rooms 4 years ago and have since regarded them as “newly renovated”. Though size and fixtures are relative to individual preferences, we are sorry that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. We need to go back to our website and update the information in order to give readers a more accurate explanation of our room description.

We wish we could turn the clock back and re-establish your confidence in Keio Plaza. Want to show you what we are really capable of offering our valued guests in terms of rooms and service, therefore please consider us again on a return trip to Tokyo.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Great stay we had at the hotel! It was a rather big business hotel with 2 tower blocks. We stayed on the mid floor level. Plenty of restaurants and cafes in the hotel basement and first floor. Many amenities abound and even convenience store and shops in the hotel making it all very convenient for the hotel guests. They even have art galleries in the hotel!

From the hotel, you can leave and walk from either the front or back direction. From the back, you will be connected to the Polytechnic. Walking further down across the street, you will see the Post Office and reach to quite many interesting shops (Bic camera) and headed to the Odakyu Shopping Mall direction. If you were to walk via the front, taking about 10mins, you will hit the Shinjuku station and the many other shopping malls. Frankly, Shinjuku is big and lots of places to explore. I dont think I have completely surveyed the place during my short visit. Walking around can be quite tiring so do get your directions right.

The hotel itself is well located in the busy Shinjuku business district. So no complaints for its central location as its well connected to many other places we want to visit in Tokyo via subway or through the Shinjuku station. The hotel room is pretty comfortable and clean. Definitely what we expected. The hotel is pretty packed with many tourists and they also have free buses connected to Disneyland. Only complaint we have about the hotel is that there is no complimentary bottled water for the hotel guests. Literally everything is chargeable at the hotel. But that said, it is saved by its central location and great services. We will probably go back to Tokyo and stay at this place again if there's a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

If you want small shops and crazy signs everywhere, then you are better off staying on the other side of the train station. The hotel seems to be in a more financial kind of feeling area.

10 minute walk to reach the observation decks of the Tokyo Metropolitan Govt. Building. Close to Shinjuku station, but still quite a walk to the touristy areas to the right of the hotel.

Double room was clean but with 80's dated decor. You get Japanese robes, lots of cups, a water heater, shampoo+conditioner in dispensers, and even a hair tie among other things. Typical American size hotel bathroom.

Their Japanese buffet at Kagari had lots of quality drink and food options, including some American fare. The Chinese breakfast buffet was not so great, probably because we were late. The hotel is big and modern looking.

Recommended for quiet and comfortable. Not recommended for tourists on a budget or for location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed in a Deluxe room in the main tower. It was spacious, well-appointed and spotless although we never saw nor heard a cleaning crew. It was completely quiet at night except for occasional sirens. The location is perfect, just blocks from the subway, bus and train stations. The airport bus stops right in front. Numerous inexpensive restaurants are nearby. Would definitely stay there next time,

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Well appointed business hotel close to the train station. Rooms spacious-for Japan. Health club small, but OK. Hotel also has an outdoor pool on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#7 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.