We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located, quiet modern rooms, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 1,889 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very well located, quiet modern rooms, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

we stayed here in january 2010. the hotel is efficient and the room was large, well designed, clean and modern. we stayed high up so it was completely quiet with great views, big windows. we had no trouble with the temperature of the room, it was a perfect temperature. the hotel is brilliantly located and has a good convenience store within it, as well as a nice bakery. the morning coffee lounge was okay but best to go out for breakfast to nearby cafes or eat in your room with items from the little bakery (though it doesn't open until 9am). there are also other places to eat in the hotel for breakfast (more expensive options). the gym is little, eg it only has two running machines, but it has a nice view, and is clean and modern. the staff are okay - they are busy as it is a big hotel. Would definitely stay here again - a fantastic spot.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    890
    247
    63
    30
See reviews for
452
563
141
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We checked in at around 2pm and the line was really long. There was a staff member standing at the front of the line chatting to every guest at the head of the line and apologising for the wait. This appears courteous but is not actually good service because the line could be moving much faster if that man was put to another much more useful task - handing out check-in forms that every guest had to fill in at the check-in counter. I don't understand why this was not done to expedite the process.

The receptionist, a guy named Jung, who checked us in was rude. He was annoyed that he could not find our booking even though we had a print-out. When he asked if we'd like t pay by cash or credit card and we said credit card, he held out his palm and said, well, give me your credit card. Why on earth is he working in the hospitality industry?!

The Superior room that we booked in the South Tower was large and clean. Bed was comfortable, shower worked well. No complaints with the room.

Keio Plaza has complimentary shuttle service to Disney Resorts. When we called Bell Captain to make bookings, we were told every ride was full for the next 3 days. When we went down personally to make a booking, the signboard also said the rides were full but a staff member got us on one of the return rides fr Disney. When we took the bus, it was 90% empty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Hotel staff speaks fairly good English and extremely helpful. The room we stayed at is very roomy and has a very nice view of the city.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I stayed in a twin room on the 28/F
1) Check in staff and Bell Captain are friendly, professional and helpful
2) Room is comfortable and quiet
3) Good location, walking distance to Shinjuku Station and shopping areas
4) Only problem is the shower head are too heavy

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

As we discovered, having a good location for a hotel in Tokyo is almost certainly THE most important single factor in your decision of where to stay, and this hotel gets an AAA+++ for its position. And it is perfectly comfortable, clean, and very reasonably priced. A winner!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My family stayed at the Keio Plaza Hotel from December 25 through December 28. We arrived at Shinjuku station via the Narita Express which was very convenient. We followed the signs to the West Underground Plaza Exit which leads directly to the hotel. It took about 10 minutes from the time we left the train platform. It was difficult to drag our bags through the crowded station, but we took the train since we had purchased the JR Pass. I suggest taking the airport Limousine Bus to the hotel if you do not have a JR Pass.

The Keio Plaza is located in the business district of Shinjuku so it was pretty quiet. I chose the Keio Plaza because I felt it had a better location compared to the Hilton or Hyatt Regency. Also, I wanted more of an authentic Japanese Hotel experience. We liked the location, however, most of the hustle and bustle of Shinjuku is on the east side of the station; so don't expect to walk out of the hotel with restaurants galore. For more night life, take a walk to the Takashimaya Times Square Area. If you want a hotel closer to the action, stay at the Hotel Century Southern Tower or Hotel Sunroute Plaza.

The Lobby of the hotel is very fancy. Staff were attentive and helped with our bags right away. We were escorted to check in at the Premier Counter since we joined EIC (Executive International Club) through the Keio Plaza website. I don't understand why everyone doesn't join because it's free and gives Keio Plaza guests complimentary Buffet Breakfast, easy check-in at Premier Counter, late check-out, free use of a fitness room. etc. Also, be sure to ask the concierge to change the meal passes from the Cocktail and Tea Lounge to Jurin Restaurant because there is more of a selection.

We reserved a Standard room. We were given a room on the 20th floor in South Tower. We had great views of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building and Mt. Fuji. The room was very large, clean and had a great bathroom with many amenities. However, I felt the room could have been more modern with upgraded furniture. The beds were very hard and low to the ground, but surprisingly comfortable.

Overall, we had a nice stay at the Keio Plaza. Shinjuku Station provides great access to the rest of the city. This hotel is also reasonably priced for Tokyo! My family was not about to pay $1200 a night for 2 rooms at the Park Hyatt. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights @ the Keio Plaza Hotel, signed up for their executive program (which is free). Stayed in a Plaza Premier Room in the main tower on 38th floor. Room is very modern and the amenties in the room are really nice. L'Occitane products in the bathroom, facial cleanser and cream. Several kinds of tea, free coffee and free internet access in the room (not wireless, we haven't found wireless yet in Japan). Also very quiet, and they have great blinds which really make the room dark at night.
Location is also brilliant, literally a 4 minute easy walk to Shinjuku station. There are 7 restaurants and 5 bars in the hotel. Not inexpensive but nice if you want a night in. A few of the bars are on the 45th floor, with a great view of the city.
On the flip side, our room is VERY warm. It is December and the hotel has turned the air conditioning off. So when you adjust the room temperature it blows out hot air. The hotel has provided us with a fan but we are finding our room quite warm. The beds are very firm, we typically like the beds in the Hyatts or Sheridans and haven't found these beds particularly comfortable. The gym is quite sparse. 2 treadmills a couple of bikes and no weights at all. Water is available in the gym for a cost of $1. Unusual as most places would provide a water cooler. A jogging map was provided in the gym which was an easy route to follow. Overall for the price we paid, we felt it was overpriced but if you get a good deal less than USD $200 it might be ok depending on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.