We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms and Service in Shinjuku” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Rooms and Service in Shinjuku”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my first stay at Keio Plaza, though I knew it well--the house I where I grew up in Tokyo had a good view of it while it was under construction in 1970, when it was briefly the tallest building in Tokyo at 49 stories. The room was spacious and very comfortable, but the bathroom was stuck in 1970--very small by today's standards and lacking the separate shower stall that is currently expected in good hotels. I also hated the step up to the bathroom--it's easy to forget and trip over it. Service was excellent--a little too good at times, such as when my room service meal arrived 15 minutes earlier than promised, when I was still in the shower. But when I needed drops for an eye infection, I was promptly assisted by the concierge, who took me to the hotel pharmacy to get the right ones.
Whether you stay at the Keio Plaza depends on how much you like being in Shinjuku, a major hub whose station is a jumping-off point for many train and subway lines. (The station is a brisk 5-minute walk through the west concourse of the station, and the fact that it's enclosed makes a big difference in a rainy country.) Personally, I much prefer to be near the Ginza, which is more walkable and less high-rise, and features the Kabuki-za and Hibiya Park. But any business traveler would appreciate the Keio Plaza's convenient location and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    1,001
    270
    68
    35
See reviews for
519
630
151
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have several hotels I stay in when I'm in Tokyo and the Keio Plaza Hotel is one of them. There is no special reason I stay there, it's just mostly where I can get a reservation. I was pleasantly surprised this time when I received a free room upgrade.The hotel is huge and usually crowded with Asian tour groups. The rooms in the Main Tower are large and quiet. The rooms in the South Tower are reported to be not as nice.

I normally don't eat in hotel restaurants, but this trip I did. I had the breakfast buffet in the Jurin restaurant for 2600 Yen ($26 USD). The service was mediocre and the limited food was bad! None of the food was in a warming dish and all the food was cold. The very runny (almost liquid) scrambled eggs were cold, as were the french fries, broccoli and bite-sized pieces of fish. One morning, the line kept running out of food. Some customers were yelling to the kitchen that more food was needed. They kept bringing out very small servings that went quickly.

The location of the hotel is pretty good. It's very easy access to the Shinjuku Station though; about a ten-minute walk through a tunnel.

I have another upcoming Tokyo trip, but did not book the Keio Plaza - just a change.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Main Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruden Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Arriving at the Keio Plaza after almost 24 hours travelling was like coming across an oasis in the desert. The reception lobby was a vast marbled area with so many staff anxious to be of service. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and very well appointed. We had to queue for about 10 minutes for our first breakfast but it was well worth the wait with an impressive selection of both western and Japanese food on offer. A wonderful start to a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Keio plaza offers excellent service, as you can expect normally in Japan, but you will also find a good choice of restaurants in house and a comfortable room and an excellent spa. Every time I go to Tokyo I like to stay at this hotel because it is so well situated for both business and leisure. It is walking distance from Shibuya, the place where I do business. Shinjuku is, as far as I am concerned, the best place to stay in Tokyo.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was a very short 2-day visit to Shinjuku, but it was made more enjoyable with the comfort offered by Keio Plaza Hotel. The room size is just right; bed, drapes and toilet are very clean and orderly.
No moldy room odor at all.
High-speed internet is complimentary (much appreciated!) and there is a cable provided in every room, but it can be improved with the presence of wifi (a simple router setup per floor ought to do it) - they should improve on this as there are various mobile devices in use now by their customers.
Keio Hotel is strategically located, close to many affordable dining places and entertainment bars. If you are a ramen enthusiast, a 5-minute walk will reveal dozens of small restaurants offering many ramen varieties. The area is also littered with many convenience stores for quick purchases of bottled water, canned drinks, Japanese bread, pre-packed bentos and ice cream.
When booking a room, try getting one with a view of the Tokyo metropolitan government building as this will show a good view of the western side of Tokyo. Be aware of directions inside the hotel because it has a couple of wings which can confuse first-timers.
Overall, I would definitely want to come back to Keio Shinjuku. Highly recommended to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I & my hubby haven't been in Tokyo since a decade, as we didn't find a hotel which was convenient to shop around. Until we visited Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku during our Chinese New Year (February 2013). The Hotel is neat & with big interior room space, unexpected, it's also closed to JR stations in walking distance only 5 minutes, we could go to every tourist spots within a short traveling, we love it, & planning to go visit Tokyo & stay in Keio Plaza again in coming Christmas & New Year holidays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My first night staying at the hotel now. Not a good experience so far. It took forever to walk from the shinjuku station to the hotel. Good luck trying to find the West Exit. Even after you find it, theres another 20 min walk thru that long walk way filled with homeless people at night. And with all the luggages, makes the walk way more longer than it already is. I really don't see the convience in this hotel, just that theres a few restuarants outside.

So I checked in and they told me they will upgrade me for free to a bigger room, really?!!! Its turns out its a dirty handicap room, cracked wall, nasty bathroom. And then, like a few other reviewers mentioned, I also had Wifi problems. They gave me some equipment thing to plug into the cable in the room. Really??? Who still does that??? this is such a big hotel, there should just be Wi-fi for all guests. So the nice lady that works at the hotel tried numerous time to fix it and had no luck. Great- that means I can change to another room.

So got to experience the famous "renovated room". Ehhh... Its ok. The bathroom feels really tight, meaning I can tip toe and touch the ceiling. This hotel is just not cup of tea. That whole Wi-fi experience was just disappointing. If you are traveling and rely on wifi- Dont stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#7 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.