We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tokyo to your Saves list
Hilton Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,035 Reviews
Yuen Long, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location was very good, closed to the station. (around 10 minutes walk). I booked a junior suite. The room size is fantastic and it's clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. But the bathroom was comparatively small. I had a very bad experience in paying the bill. I booked this hotel at promotion rate via booking.com. However, Hilton charged me the full rate. Therefore, I had to call IDD and check what's going wrong, but it's so difficult to communicate with them. The lady who received my call did not speak English very well. I spent over 20 minutes on the phone but I had to give up. I communicated with them by email afterwards. Finally they refunded the difference to my credit card. As they charged/refunded me in Japanese Yen but I paid/received in HKD, I still had to pay the exchange difference charged by the credit card. I arrived around 6:30 and checked in, they gave me a twin bed room but I booked a king size bed. The receptionist said no king size bed was available at that moment. I told them that I got the confirmation from Hiliton and I insisted to have a king size bed. I wasted half an hour at the counter becuase of their mistake.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review. Apologies that there was some mix up with your online booking but glad to hear it was resolved. If you would like to contact myself directly we would be happy to address the exchange rate difference that you mention. It is unclear what your arrival time was but just to note that check-in time is 2.00pm and due to the very high occupancies this hotel enjoys rooms are generally not ready until that time. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    780
    220
    48
    25
See reviews for
456
524
231
529
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My experience in staying at the Hotel has been nothing but excellent. Most helpful from checking in to changing a room to updated a new room key. The facilities are amazing above standards of other Hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review. It is pleasing to read that your various interactions were handled well and our facilities compared favourably. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Stinktown, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

After being at the snow, a lavish night was needed. As with all Hiltons it was a very polished experience that made me wish i had some better form of clothing than snow slum wear.
Fantastic beds and a nice view of Tokyo from the 24th floor.
The one con I believe was the lack of a bar of soap. Strange really that there was no means to wash your hands. It may have been a command on the toilet. I'd mention the $7Aud can of cola, but it is a Hilton after all.
We booked and rode from outside the foyer on the Airport Limousine to Narita which was an excellent service, enough to make me do that again over the NEX Train next trip.
Location is OK, but nowhere in that part of Tokyo is really a long walk. Its proximity to the Govt Buildings next door and the free Observation Deck was excellent. Sunset and Mt Fuji all in one, very nice.
We would stay again, and bring our own soap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review and we do hope you will stay with us again as you mention despite the oversight with the bar of soap! It snowed downtown this afternoon and for future reference the hotel has direct undercover access to the Tokyo subway from whence you can travel all over this great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed in the deluxe Jnr Suits, really wasn't up to a high standard. We were also woken up by construction noise one morning. Really the room just wasn't up to scratch for a high end suite. Not planning to go on a honeymoon again anytime soon. But if I were I would be avoiding the Tokyo Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest
thank you for staying with us and our apologies to learn that you were disturbed by noise and can understand your reasons for not reporting it at the time as you mentioned in your questionnaire response. Thank you for your feedback and our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Upside:
1) Room and Amenities - excellent. Though we didn't get to make it out because we were always gallivanting.
2) Food - Room service meals were OK, nothing to rave about.
3) Free Shuttle Service every 30 minutes
4) (Non-Hilton) Coffee shop and ATM Machines at the basement. Staff there are very friendly / helpful; Starbucks around the corner.
5) Location is good. But need to take the shuttle if you want to visit shopping places.

Downside:
1) Shuttle Drivers - not helpful with traveler- passengers even when they see that they have huge suitcases to bring inside the bus and are already within age range of 50 & up. We ended up helping them while the driver just watched

2) Lobby - too busy; nobody there to assist guest that have arrived & ready to check in. No Greet & meet.

3) Concierge Staff - Always confined inside their counter. All of 4 them! Does not make guests feel special / not friendly / not warm.

4) Smoking Floor Common Area - Clean & tidy, but could use frequent spritz of air freshener

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay however I am disappointed that we did not meet our typical high standards concerning some aspects of your stay. I have reviewed your comments with the team to ensure that we review what occurred and use your observations to provide a higher level of service to our guests.

Concerning the shuttle bus service - this operation is provided by the Keio Bus Company and we will be raising the lack of assistance immediately with their management for immediate action. Hilton specifies that assistance is to be provided for any guest who requires it proactively.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing most valuable feedback.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a fine hotel in the Hilton tradition of quality, service, and location. The location – within walking distance of Shinjuku station – provides easy access to all the great places to visit in Tokyo as well as the many establishments in and around the station. The executive lounge at the hotel is on the 37th floor with fantastic views, including a beauty of Mount Fuji if weather and pollution factors permit. And of course, you get all the professionalism and outward courtesy that is present everywhere in Japan.

So why is Shah not more generous with his stars? Well, what is also expected, especially in Japan, is loyalty to those who give you a great deal of business. Such is the case for those who are Diamond members, and therefore do have an expectation of something a bit more than the ordinary, such as an upgraded room. Every Hilton does this so it was more than surprising that the Hilton Tokyo failed in this regard (for two rooms that Shah had booked with them). It is also disappointing when the front desk clerks claim that executive rooms are not available. Do they not realize that this lie can be caught with just one look at their reservations page on the Internet?

As fans of Shah know, he is so perceptive as to see through people rather easily; his canine instincts are still very sharp indeed. It is very unfortunate but true that many Japanese still treat foreigners as second-class citizens. And until they realize that all the outward smiles and endless bowing simply can't mask their inward feelings, this situation will unfortunately continue.

Shah Rukh says: If you are a loyal Hilton patron, then do demand (politely) that they treat you with the respect and courtesy that many other Hilton properties automatically do. Smiles and bows are fine, but a room on the 35th floor with a Mount Fuji view is even better, and expected if you are Diamond.

Shah Rukh's tip: Take the "Friendly Limousine bus" from Narita or Haneda airport directly to the hotel for $30 and $12, respectively. This is really convenient, though do expect it to take 90 mins or more if c

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Upgrades for Gold and Diamond HHonors members are subject to availability at the time of arrival and are not guaranteed. The team makes every effort to award upgrades and many of our Hhonors members are upgraded on a daily basis - however the ability to upgrade is dependent on room type preferences, arrival time, length of stay, bed type, profile preferences etc. Availability on line does not indicate that a room is available that meets the above mentioned criteria and/or is available at the time of check in. In high occupancy locations such as Tokyo we recommend that guests reserve the room type required at the time of reservation to avoid disappointment.

Hilton Tokyo is committed to the consistent provision of the Hilton Hhonors program and to meet all standards to ensure global consistency of recognition and benefits. Full details of the program conditions and entitlements are provided on the Hilton Hhonors website.

More than 50% of our guests at Hilton Tokyo are non Japanese and Hilton Tokyo has been welcoming guests from around the world for over 50 years. The team at Hilton Tokyo are constantly recognized for sincere and genuine Japanese hospitality and we do our utmost to provide outstanding service to every guest regardless of nationality. I would like to assure all readers of this forum that foreigners are not treated any differently from Japanese guests and your comments in general are in stark contrast to the 1000+ reviews we have on this forum.

We wish you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is located in Shinjuku, has shuttle bus from Shinjuku station to hotel. There are two metro lines under hotel, you can reach Tokyo's city cetner very easy. Room is not big but it is very clean and confortable. High speed internet wifi in room. Quickly check-in and welcome bear to children. Nice breakfast in lobby and more kinds of food, fresh fruits and juice. Before you arrival, the reservation will mail you to communicate arrival informaiton and tell you the best way to hotel which from aiport or train station. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and recommended our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.