We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay with Highlights and Tips from a US Family in First-Time Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tokyo to your Saves list
Hilton Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0023, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay with Highlights and Tips from a US Family in First-Time Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We traveled as a family (spouse + 2 young kids) to Tokyo for the first time so this was a great place to explore Japan as a base camp. Our room was a suite with a king bed in a separate room. We had a very good view on a high floor; the room was incredibly spacious to accommodate one rollaway bed and our other child slept on the sofa (very wide and comfortable). A few highlights for us: 1. Proximity to a local market, Maruetsu is a supermarket opened 24/7 and has everything needed for late night sushi to the diversity of drinks; 2. Concierge, Mr. Shimano, was incredibly helpful and articulate to navigate us thru the complexity of Japan metro and get us to our destinations; 3. Walk or shuttle to Shinjuku train station (we did both); 4. Bus shuttle, VERY affordable, to take us directly to Haneda airport (or Narita). I loved the suite setup; bathroom could be bigger, but a minor issue; more plus plus and very comfortable bedding.

Potential considerations: the live concierge desk is very knowledgeable, however calling the reception desk from the US seemed like a totally different experience like they didn't totally understand you (maybe just an off day). Don't be misled, the hotel caters to the international customer and our English was well understood face to face. Also, may want to provide better instructions of how to get from Narita airport to the hotel (including a diagram of Shinjuku station and exact location of the Hilton shuttle stop). However, son't sweat the small stuff about the elevator, this is a non issue. We waste the extra 30 seconds standing in front of a metro map trying to figure out where we're going! Enjoy your stay, we did.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary 5/5 review and for sharing your detailed experiences on this forum.

The team at the hotel really enjoy hearing from our guests and knowing how they were able to assist and maximize our guests experience and stay.

Concerning your call from the USA to Japan prior to arrival this call would have been routed to our consolidated Japan Customer Care office which is a separate operation to Hilton Tokyo. This is no justification however for the less helpful/proactive attitude and I will share your comments with the center Director for review with their team members.

My team and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and once again thank you.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A. Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    775
    216
    48
    25
See reviews for
452
521
231
525
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family is very impressed with the hotel -- service, room, breakfast. We arrived Monday and stayed for one night; but we'll return for 3 more nights Sat. This is one of the few rare times when we all look forward returning back to Hilton Tokyo. The manager greeted us when we checked in, belllady delivered the luggage to our room promptly. We had no problems with the elevators, there was never long waiting time. Service was impeccable -- front desk, concierge, breakfast. Buffet breakfast was awesome, lots to choose from, and very delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so very pleased you were impressed and look forward to returning later this week.

I am also very appreciative of your comments that add further perspective to our elevator upgrades and I am glad you experienced no issue. Delays are only experienced under very specific and rare circumstances and the project is also nearing completion is less than three weeks time.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back and we wish you safe travels within Japan.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed for two weeks on business at the start of July and they treated me like a king. Perfectly clean room on the executive level. Lounge and bar downstairs had impeccable service. Just be prepared to pay to live like a king. I've stayed in other Hiltons, worldwide, and I experienced the best service at Tokyo Hilton. Looking forward to visiting at the next possible opportunity!

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so rewarding to hear that your were impressed by our hotel and the service experienced. Treated like a king is an experience we are proud to have been able to achieve!

We thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and for choosing to stay with us in Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with great staff who epitomise Japanese service and the Japanese people. I also was involved in a conference there for 3 days and we stayed for another 3 days after the conference. Resteraunts were good, magnificent breakfast and we enjoyed the Executive Club on the 37th floor. Only downside to the hotel is the lifts and the waiting times to catch a lift, sometimes as long as half an hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review - it is sincerely appreciated.

Over the period of your stay we did experience unexpected elevator delays due to an exhibition in the hotel and individuals holding elevators. This compounded the delay and is definitely not typical despite the elevator renovation.

All elevators will return to full service in 3 weeks time and we sincerely apologize for the delay experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived on the 'Airport limousine' bus from NRT which stops right at the hotel. As most Japanese hotels are, we weren't able to check in until 2pm as hotel states. This is common in Japan. The hotel is very large and very busy, but cool with the humid outdoor temperature of 35! We had lunch nearby at one of the numerous underground malls in Shinjuku. We were able to check in at 1.30pm at our deluxe king on the 36th floor. A spacious room with a great view! Nice bathroom, towels, products. The bed and pillows were the best of our entire 2 week trip, so comfortable! Comp bottled water was a nice touch. Exec room was included in our rate with afternoon tea, cocktails, and breakfast. We arrived 1/2 hour before afternoon tea was due to finish to find mostly everything put away. I didn't make the same mistake with cocktails. The lounge was very busy and we were seated by the staff. When seated our drinks order was taken, and from then our glasses were never empty. A nice range of canapés, hot and cold, with amazing views of Shinjuku and Tokyo. We took breakfast in the main restaurant because because we assumed the variety may be more than in the exec lounge. Although very busy, we were seated in a quiet area. The breakfast variety was vast, very enjoyable. After checkout we were greeted by the front office manager in the lobby who greeted me by name. Very impressive service. I noticed the front office manager really working the room and chatting leisurely with the customers!

Room Tip: Absolutely 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

My team and I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your great experience on this forum and to communicate to us that you had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and wish you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really happy with everything at this hotel. Service excellent, breakfast brilliant - large choice and good quality. Room quiet, large and amazing view. Bed comfortable and bathroom good, for a standard room I was very pleased with everything. Shuttle bus service to shinjuku is so useful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review and I am so very happy that you had a great stay with us.

Your comments relating to our guest rooms and breakfast quality is valued and the team really appreciates to receive feedback from our guests.

Wising you safe onward travels and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A. Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Agree with other reviewers. Good hotel, relatively near shinjuku train station, but I wouldn't say "walking distance" especially when it is >90 degrees! More like 4 long city blocks. Use the hotel bus (which can get really crowded at times) so beware. you can go underground in subway system but it is still pretty far and directions are confusing. If you arrive by train, it is confusing how to get to the hotel, so either find out where the bus stops (west end of station; hard to find) or take a taxi. I'd suggest the hotel bus from the airport, but you'd have to find it.
Hotel itself is standard Hilton, that is, quite good. didn't get the exec rooms (very crowded our week, no non smoking rooms). Wifi is free to gold and above members. agree buffet is pretty good (though expensive), has juice bar, fairly extensive western food. eastern food surprisingly limited but ok.
Has a free pretty extensive 24h gym with weights, many machines, which is nice when jet lagged. Pool is small but nice, indoor. has modern Japanese bath (with cold tub) in same area (free). sometimes crowded after 5p. nice for relaxing (remember to completely bathe first as per Japanese custom). agree the staff are extremely responsive. found no problem using wifi in the lobby, although it is small and crowded. 2 elevators still out which is annoying during peak AM/PM hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. My team is committed to excellence in service and we do apologize for not being able to upgrade you due to your VIP HHonors status due to non availability.

Regarding transportation - in order to assist readers of this forum I would like to clarify some important information regarding transport as I completely understand that in a city such as Tokyo it can be complicated and at times overwhelming!

Hilton Tokyo to JR Shinjuku station is a very easy (flat) walk and is only 800 meters (approximately 10 minutes at a comfortable pace). Also the Hilton Shuttle is very easy to locate by taking the West Exit and is directly outside the Keio Department Store, Bus Stop #21 (Hilton Signage and timetable). For the Airport Limousine Service this is door to door and leaves from all 3 terminals at Narita and all 4 terminals at Haneda. Tickets are purchased directly outside of customs and the bus stop is on the same level directly outside the terminal and well signed in English and Japanese. For guests requiring assistance our Concierge is also available 24 hours in the main lobby or by telephone.

We sincerely appreciate that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed our service, accommodation, fitness and restaurants. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Wishing you safe onward travels.

Regards

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0023, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.