We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Tokyo to your Saves list
Hilton Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0023, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed for two weeks on business at the start of July and they treated me like a king. Perfectly clean room on the executive level. Lounge and bar downstairs had impeccable service. Just be prepared to pay to live like a king. I've stayed in other Hiltons, worldwide, and I experienced the best service at Tokyo Hilton. Looking forward to visiting at the next possible opportunity!

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so rewarding to hear that your were impressed by our hotel and the service experienced. Treated like a king is an experience we are proud to have been able to achieve!

We thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and for choosing to stay with us in Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    736
    200
    45
    24
See reviews for
428
492
223
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with great staff who epitomise Japanese service and the Japanese people. I also was involved in a conference there for 3 days and we stayed for another 3 days after the conference. Resteraunts were good, magnificent breakfast and we enjoyed the Executive Club on the 37th floor. Only downside to the hotel is the lifts and the waiting times to catch a lift, sometimes as long as half an hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review - it is sincerely appreciated.

Over the period of your stay we did experience unexpected elevator delays due to an exhibition in the hotel and individuals holding elevators. This compounded the delay and is definitely not typical despite the elevator renovation.

All elevators will return to full service in 3 weeks time and we sincerely apologize for the delay experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived on the 'Airport limousine' bus from NRT which stops right at the hotel. As most Japanese hotels are, we weren't able to check in until 2pm as hotel states. This is common in Japan. The hotel is very large and very busy, but cool with the humid outdoor temperature of 35! We had lunch nearby at one of the numerous underground malls in Shinjuku. We were able to check in at 1.30pm at our deluxe king on the 36th floor. A spacious room with a great view! Nice bathroom, towels, products. The bed and pillows were the best of our entire 2 week trip, so comfortable! Comp bottled water was a nice touch. Exec room was included in our rate with afternoon tea, cocktails, and breakfast. We arrived 1/2 hour before afternoon tea was due to finish to find mostly everything put away. I didn't make the same mistake with cocktails. The lounge was very busy and we were seated by the staff. When seated our drinks order was taken, and from then our glasses were never empty. A nice range of canapés, hot and cold, with amazing views of Shinjuku and Tokyo. We took breakfast in the main restaurant because because we assumed the variety may be more than in the exec lounge. Although very busy, we were seated in a quiet area. The breakfast variety was vast, very enjoyable. After checkout we were greeted by the front office manager in the lobby who greeted me by name. Very impressive service. I noticed the front office manager really working the room and chatting leisurely with the customers!

Room Tip: Absolutely 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

My team and I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your great experience on this forum and to communicate to us that you had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and wish you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really happy with everything at this hotel. Service excellent, breakfast brilliant - large choice and good quality. Room quiet, large and amazing view. Bed comfortable and bathroom good, for a standard room I was very pleased with everything. Shuttle bus service to shinjuku is so useful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review and I am so very happy that you had a great stay with us.

Your comments relating to our guest rooms and breakfast quality is valued and the team really appreciates to receive feedback from our guests.

Wising you safe onward travels and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A. Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Agree with other reviewers. Good hotel, relatively near shinjuku train station, but I wouldn't say "walking distance" especially when it is >90 degrees! More like 4 long city blocks. Use the hotel bus (which can get really crowded at times) so beware. you can go underground in subway system but it is still pretty far and directions are confusing. If you arrive by train, it is confusing how to get to the hotel, so either find out where the bus stops (west end of station; hard to find) or take a taxi. I'd suggest the hotel bus from the airport, but you'd have to find it.
Hotel itself is standard Hilton, that is, quite good. didn't get the exec rooms (very crowded our week, no non smoking rooms). Wifi is free to gold and above members. agree buffet is pretty good (though expensive), has juice bar, fairly extensive western food. eastern food surprisingly limited but ok.
Has a free pretty extensive 24h gym with weights, many machines, which is nice when jet lagged. Pool is small but nice, indoor. has modern Japanese bath (with cold tub) in same area (free). sometimes crowded after 5p. nice for relaxing (remember to completely bathe first as per Japanese custom). agree the staff are extremely responsive. found no problem using wifi in the lobby, although it is small and crowded. 2 elevators still out which is annoying during peak AM/PM hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. My team is committed to excellence in service and we do apologize for not being able to upgrade you due to your VIP HHonors status due to non availability.

Regarding transportation - in order to assist readers of this forum I would like to clarify some important information regarding transport as I completely understand that in a city such as Tokyo it can be complicated and at times overwhelming!

Hilton Tokyo to JR Shinjuku station is a very easy (flat) walk and is only 800 meters (approximately 10 minutes at a comfortable pace). Also the Hilton Shuttle is very easy to locate by taking the West Exit and is directly outside the Keio Department Store, Bus Stop #21 (Hilton Signage and timetable). For the Airport Limousine Service this is door to door and leaves from all 3 terminals at Narita and all 4 terminals at Haneda. Tickets are purchased directly outside of customs and the bus stop is on the same level directly outside the terminal and well signed in English and Japanese. For guests requiring assistance our Concierge is also available 24 hours in the main lobby or by telephone.

We sincerely appreciate that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed our service, accommodation, fitness and restaurants. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Wishing you safe onward travels.

Regards

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is a high quality hotel with really helpful staff and an amazing view. I had a very nice room on 31st floor that was large and very comfortable. All my inquiries were solved very fast, I had some problems with the WiFi connection and I needed a charging unit for my phone. Also on my last day, my flight was really early in the morning so normally I couldn't have breakfast, but they arranged a quick one just before I left. About the breakfast I want to mention that it was one of the best I've ever had with lot's of vegan options. Overall it was a really good choice.

Room Tip: If you want a really great view ask for a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review and comments relating to the service experience and breakfast options.

All of the team at Hilton Tokyo is committed to meeting and hopefully exceeding our guests expectations and it is great to know that every effort was made to meet your breakfast needs.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two adults and baby approx one week, and thought it was really nice.
Thd king tower suite was large, clean and with a gourgeus view.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Would absolutely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am really pleased that you had a great stay with your partner and baby and that you were comfortable in our King Executive Suite.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0023, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.