We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful on hidden surcharge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tokyo to your Saves list
Hilton Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0023, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
US
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Be careful on hidden surcharge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was not impressed much. Why? I felt I was being ripped off.
1- small lobby with many crowds. Not many chars to sit freely unless you are willing to pay for drinks.
2- I was shocked to learn how much they charged for my local ( not international calls) calls I made from my room. It did not say anywhere how much their surcharge on local calls. You won't know until you check out. Be careful.
3- they charge 10 times more for a small can of Coke Zero ( there is no Diet Coke in Japan anymore) Be careful! There is a 24 hour grocery store within 5 min walk. Get your supply there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with great disappointment that I read your review. Unfortunately your comments are misleading for other readers of this forum.

- Hilton Tokyo is a very popular and busy hotel and this results in a bustling atmosphere which is generally appreciated by the majority of our guests. Seating in the L1 lobby (25) is provided along with further seating in the business centre for internet access and on the atrium lobby L2 (30 seats)
- All telephone charges are listed clearly in every guest room and detail charges levied. Unlike many countries local calls are charged per 'pulse' in Japan (timed) and charges depend on how long you talk for and where you call.
- Coke Zero in the hotel mini bars are priced at a level aligned with all other full service hotels and are provided for the convenience of our guests. We also have vending machines in the hotel with cans of coke/zero for US$1.50 per can and a convenience store adjacent the hotel. Charges for a standard size coke (325ml) from the mini bar is definitely not 10 x the price of the convenience store which typically retails for Y120 (Hilton Y500).
- There are 300 seats available in the Marble Lounge which are available for use (without charge) excluding breakfast time when unfortunately these spaces are required for guests having breakfast.


Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    778
    219
    48
    25
See reviews for
454
524
231
528
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed 4 night here and found the comfortable rooms well fitted out with good beds, linen and the usual 4 star set-up included- fridge, safe, doorbell to each room, etc. Very good breakfast with large choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, bread and croissant, both Japanese and western style cooked food, as well as a large selection of continental cheeses and cold meats and fish. The down side is the open plan area to eat in, with a draughty front door and reception area right by the eating area. Trundling trolleys going by doesn't make for enjoyable eating. Restaurtants in the hotel very expensive. Close enough to Shinjuku station for getting around Tokyo and a free bus to the station every 20 minutes was well used especially by locals who go in to reception and then go straight down into the shopping area. Wouldn'y mind so much if the bus always had room for guests staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a table at the far end of the dining area away from the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning the Marble Lounge this hotel is very busy and the open style design of this restaurant provides a vibrant atmosphere overlooking the lobby and entrance. Trolleys passing are however not very frequent and if guests prefer a quiet corner this can easily be arranged.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your review.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here countless times and have become an H Honors Diamond geezer. As such I can use the Exec lounge which makes a big difference, eg free breakfast and drinks. It's a Hilton and you more or less know what you are going to get. Not fancy or pretentious. Beds are extremely comfy, not hard like so many hotels and pillows are down. Bathroom is basic but perfectly functional and comes with a Japanese squirty loo. Wifi is good. For what I pay with the bonus of the Honors points, it is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review!

I am also glad to hear that you slept well as we have put alot of effort into creating a fantastic sleeping experience with the Hilton Serenity bed, down pilloes, comforters and pillowtop!

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Agana, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Tokyo during the first week of January, 2013. The rooms are spacious (especially compared to other Japanese hotels) with great views of the city. There is an underground tunnel connecting the Nishi Shinjuku station to the hotel; however, it's a several-block walk underground through a near-empty section of the subway. The underground connection is certainly nice, but don't expect the convenience of dashing straight onto the train or walking immediately into a busy section of the station. The Hilton has a free shuttle bus to the Shinjuku station but if you just miss the bus on the half hour, it can feel like a wait when you're anxious to get out exploring the city or waiting to get back to your room after a long day. We had an early morning departure flight and had timed out exactly how long we needed to get to the subway and to Tokyo station to catch the NEX so we were frustrated to find out that the underground connection to the subway was closed in the morning (there were no signs posted about the times and no one could really tell us what time everything opened). There's not much immediately around the hotel - the Hyatt is across the street, as is a Denny's (?!?), but after a fifteen-minute walk around the hotel we gave up looking for an interesting neighborhood and hopped the shuttle to Shinjuku. One of my pet peeves is paying for wifi - (we knew this when we booked so I can't complain too much!) but the reason I mention it is that we really relied on the internet a LOT on our Tokyo trip for subway routes, restaurants, etc., and so the daily room wifi charge added up. Overall, the Hilton met our expectations - great room with excellent service. We were aware of the "cons" I've mentioned above when we booked and after staying at a few hotels in Japan with very small rooms, we wanted the view and comfort that we knew Hilton could offer. However, our travel style is most suited to hotels that are steps from the subway and/or in a neighborhood that is fun to explore. We tend not to spend too much time in our actual room and eat only maybe 1-2 meals at the hotel during our trip. We have no complaints about the Tokyo Hilton (the service really was excellent), but we will probably not stay here again on our next trip to Tokyo. Our bottom line is that we're willing to stay in a smaller room and experience some language barriers during check-in if we're in a more convenient location to explore the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and great feedback on our product and service.

The team and I are committed to the highest standards at all times and your recognition is appreciated.

Concerning location all International hotels (Hilton, Hyatt Regency, Park Hyatt and Keio) in Shinjuku are located close to each other on the West side of Shinjuku Station. This is primarily due to the easy access and the quieter environment with wide streets and open spaces. Concerning the Subway the Tokyo Metro Marunouchi Line is only a 2 minute walk from Hilton via underground access and the Oedo line is a 5 minute walk. Walking is definitely a big part of travelling anywhere in Tokyo and the only way to partially avoid this unfortunately is to stay in a business hotel adjacent a major train station.

Our Concierge can also assist with some transport tips making commuting easier. West of the Hilton is Nakano and this area is fantastic to explore and full of Japanese style shops and 1000's of restaurants, bars and other interesting places. Yoyogi, Shibuya, Omotosando and Harajuku are also very convenient to Shinjuku and JR Shinjuku Station is the best place to travel to anywhere in the city. Our shuttle bus runs strictly to a timetable making is very easy to plan your transfer or the station is an easy 10 minute walk.

Wifi is available free of charge in the Hilton Lobby on L1 and L2 and at our Business Centre. In room access is charged at all Hilton Hotels globally and at all comparable hotels in Tokyo.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton, Tokyo over Christmas and New Years 2012-2013.
As we were travelling with 2 young children, location was very important for us.
The Hilton Tokyo is connected to the subway station Nishi Shinyuku, making it very conveninent to get on / off tge subway and go to wherever you need to go!
The hotel also has a great shuttke bus every half hour that took guests to Shinyuku Station ( FREE)
The hotel has good size rooms, great new decor and very comfortable beds!
Don't forget to get the breakfast buffet! It is excellent! Many choices both western and Oriental, enough to please even picky western kids ( like mine. : P )
Great hotel overall!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the very positive review and my team and I thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We do however provide WiFi in all guest rooms and all public areas of the hotel with the network identified as 'Hilton Tokyo'. Our guest relations and technical team can definately assist you with your future connections. Additionally we offer complimentary WiFi on L1 and L2 and in our Business Centre for all hotel guests.

We hope to become your hotel of choice in Tokyo and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Despite the reviews of how dated the rooms and bathrooms - I opted to spend my Chinese New Year holiday at the Hilton Tokyo. To my surprise, the room although needs a face lift was still very well maintained. Check-in was smooth and my request for higher floor away ftom elecatir was provided. Housekeeping was excellent and I really can't find any reason not to stay here again. Hope the renovated rooms will be more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review - my team and I sincerely appreciate your comments.

As mentioned we are pleased to be launching new rooms and new bathrooms in Q1 2013 to complement our existing renovated products. Hilton is committed to maintaing our position in Tokyo and to ensure we provide a great experience to all of our guests.

We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and wish you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Hilton Shinjuku is a typical business hotel with a lot or traffic. I could not see any particular reason to give it 4 stars, so I give it 3, although it should be a 3.5. It is in a good location in Shinjuku, about 10-15 minutes to Shinjuku station. Service is okay but slow due to the large amount of customers. It is old and probably needs a little renovation. One tremendous lack of taste that I noted was that there was no complimentary water in the room. Additionally, the service at the front desk is not all that attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton and for your review.

Hilton is committed to providing the highest standards and we are currently fully renovating our Executive and Deluxe guestrooms (completed April 2013).

Your comments re bottled water are also noted and will be communicated to our Hilton Brand Team. Currently Hilton Hotels globally do not provide complimentary water (unless tap water is not suitable for drinking) except for VIP HHonors Members and on our Executive Floors. Tap water in Tokyo is of high quality and safe to drink. We also offer reasonably priced bottled water in all mini bars in addition to premium still and sparking waters.

We thank you for your comments and assure you of our attention to further develop service and quality.

I look forward to welcoming you back and for you to experience our new rooms in Q1 2013.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0023, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.