We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tokyo to your Saves list
Hilton Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay for holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Despite the reviews of how dated the rooms and bathrooms - I opted to spend my Chinese New Year holiday at the Hilton Tokyo. To my surprise, the room although needs a face lift was still very well maintained. Check-in was smooth and my request for higher floor away ftom elecatir was provided. Housekeeping was excellent and I really can't find any reason not to stay here again. Hope the renovated rooms will be more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review - my team and I sincerely appreciate your comments.

As mentioned we are pleased to be launching new rooms and new bathrooms in Q1 2013 to complement our existing renovated products. Hilton is committed to maintaing our position in Tokyo and to ensure we provide a great experience to all of our guests.

We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and wish you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    847
    242
    55
    29
See reviews for
494
579
250
573
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Hilton Shinjuku is a typical business hotel with a lot or traffic. I could not see any particular reason to give it 4 stars, so I give it 3, although it should be a 3.5. It is in a good location in Shinjuku, about 10-15 minutes to Shinjuku station. Service is okay but slow due to the large amount of customers. It is old and probably needs a little renovation. One tremendous lack of taste that I noted was that there was no complimentary water in the room. Additionally, the service at the front desk is not all that attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton and for your review.

Hilton is committed to providing the highest standards and we are currently fully renovating our Executive and Deluxe guestrooms (completed April 2013).

Your comments re bottled water are also noted and will be communicated to our Hilton Brand Team. Currently Hilton Hotels globally do not provide complimentary water (unless tap water is not suitable for drinking) except for VIP HHonors Members and on our Executive Floors. Tap water in Tokyo is of high quality and safe to drink. We also offer reasonably priced bottled water in all mini bars in addition to premium still and sparking waters.

We thank you for your comments and assure you of our attention to further develop service and quality.

I look forward to welcoming you back and for you to experience our new rooms in Q1 2013.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

If the difference between the Mandarin Oriental and the Hilton Tokyo is a half a star there is something drastically wrong with the way things are rated.

The overall check in process was fine until what we were told was an upgrade to a better room (because of our gold status) was actually a downgrade. We booked a king bed non-smoking and were told they had an upgrade for us on a floor with executive lounge access. We entered the room and it was -on an smoking floor - had a double bed , not a king - was cramped and extremely dated - and the bathroom was disgusting
We called downstairs and they tried to tell us that nothing was available to switch us to that night after asking 3 times for the managers email address they then mysteriously had a room to move us to. This room isn't much better. While it has a king bed the carpet is made of cheap felt that's worn the couch is worn as well And the leatherette has a hole in it that someone tried to paint over to make it less noticeable. There are scuff marks all over the floor moulding

and then there is the Bathroom. You can't use the shower normally because the water sprays out of the tub and floods the floor. The bathroom is so dated and grimy that its not worthy of being in even a 3 star hotel.

Then there is the minibar - coca cola is 550 yen pricey but fine.... DONT Go to the buffet and order one thinking it will be priced similarly because its not, it's a whopping 950yen. Seriously.

Do not stay here thinking that its a 4.5 star hotel, because its not and your wasting your money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

My team and I are extremely disappointed with your review and will balance your comments with our response for this forum:

Your reservation was for a Standard NS King room however you strongly requested an upgrade and was advised no rooms except for a smoking Executive QUEEN room (Hilton Tokyo does not have any double beds) was available (as the hotel was full) which you decided to accept. The final room you were allocated was only available due to the departure of the guest later in the day (and was not available/clean at the time of your arrival). As an upgraded Hilton Hhonors guest you were provided lounge access, breakfast, all day refreshments (complimentary premium beverages), afternoon tea, evening cocktails and canapes and wifi with our compliments. The room offered was a 5 category upgrade from the one reserved and charged.

Your comments are also misleading for this forum in regard to: Carpet - at Hilton Tokyo is not felt but 100% high quality wool throughout. Leather furnishing is 100% leather, walls are not scuffed or damaged, bathrooms are cleaned and maintained to the highest standards and our hand and fixed showers spray wherever directed.

Hilton Tokyo is a full service upper upscale hotel and should not be compared to Luxury Hotels such as Mandarin Oriental or our sister hotel Conrad Tokyo. Our pricing also reflects this clearly as does all of our communication and the team makes every effort to deliver a great stay as regularly highlighted on this forum.

Unfortunately not every hotel is suited to every guest and we urge tripadvisor readers to balance their opinion of this hotel with the great majority of overwhelmingly positive reviews on this website.

As mentioned in previous management responses Hilton Tokyo is also further upgrading our facilities and will launch 100% new Deluxe and Executive guestrooms progressively from February - April 2013. These rooms along with already renovated Hilton (standard) guestrooms will clearly establish this property as one of the finest Deluxe Hotels in Tokyo.


Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I made a stop over in Tokyo on my way to China to meet friends for a dinner in central Tokyo. Since I am a loyal HHonors Diamond member, this hotel being in the heart of Shinjuku was a natural choice. Narita Airport shuttle had a direct stop at the hotel.

The hotel is solid in most areas, e.g. room, facilities, restaurant service, etc. as many others have reviewed. So I won't repeat here. From my experience, there were 2 areas that can be improved upon:

- Check in: While there was a marked check in line/area designated for HHonors next to the general check in line, it was not in operation at the time of my check in, even though there was a long line of 5-6 parties and no staff inquired if anyone was a HHonors member.

- I had a reservation at the hotel for the airport shuttle in early morning. While the shuttle bus was by the entrance on time and the shuttle bus driver already got all passengers onto the bus, it took 10-15 mins before the hotel staff came out to exchange paperwork with the driver and confirm the passengers boarded from the hotel. The shuttle thus had a late departure.

I would like to reiterate that the aforementioned feedback should be deemed as a tune up point, not a turn away point. The hotel is great all around. I will always go back to the hotel when I visit Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank-you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoy staying with us in Tokyo.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

First rate staff responsiveness - delighted to have Eggs Benedict and free refill of cappuccino at lobby restaurant, superb Indian dinner at Ashoka restaurant in Arcade and easy access to Oedo train line from arcade so that we could go to Toshimaen Garden Spa in 18 minutes. Had wonderful holiday break there and would go again....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel and your holiday in Tokyo!

My team loves to hear from our guests and your time to share your experience on this forum is valued.

We wish you safe future travels and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

hello
i recently stayed during a week at the Hilton Tokyo.

the lobby is quite huge and easy to use.
i just did not like the breakfast area located in the middle aside from the lobby.
it's an open space with a really good buffet but the location is poor without any outside view.

what a deception for the room....oldies carpet oldies furniture nothing really exciting or trendy and worst is the bathtub ..... with a shower curtain as if we were in the middle of a lost motel......
this is a deception for a Hilton class hotel.

Service is great and staff is really helpful and caring for your requests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest and tripadvisor readers,

The room type in this review will be completely removed from our inventory in February 2013. Our new market leading new rooms and bathrooms will be progressively available from March 2013 and completed by April 2013.

Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations but our assurance that the older style rooms and bathrooms have been addressed.

Thank you though for your praise of the team and our breakfast quality.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at this beautiful hotel on December 6-7 2013. What an adventure for someone who has never experienced an earthquake. On arrival we requested and received an upgrade to a mini suite on the 26th floor (I would highly recommend doing this by the way). From our nicely decorated, comfortable room we had a beautiful view of the city. In the early morning hours and later that night we got the thrill of a lifetime; a rumbling sound and the feeling of the ground moving under your feet. We looked outside our window to see buildings swaying. We saw people walking around like it was just another slight inconvenience. The longest of the two earthquakes we experienced lasted about 90 seconds. Fortunately, there didn't appear to be any damage. The only slight inconvenience that we had was that the elevators were shut down for about an hour.The staff at the hotel were very calming and professional. I loved Tokyo and all of the convenience this hotel has to offer. I am glad to see it passed the earthquake test. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate the time taken to post your review and your great impression of our Hotel.

It is unfortunate you experienced an earthquake however as noted the team and building here are fully prepared for this occurance.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.