We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service at the Hilton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tokyo to your Saves list
Hilton Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional service at the Hilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

what can I say, maybe not the cheapest but the staff were absolutely amazing. very helpful and always with a smile. my room was huge, very comfortable and had a good view. Situated only minutes from the lights of Shinjuku means you are close enough to walk home even after a few Asahi's. I would absolutely recommend this hotel thinking of visiting Tokyo.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Your review title "Exceptional Service at the Hilton" is really appreciated. It is so pleasing to hear that our guests are impressed with our service and my team is delighted to receive your comments.

Thank you again and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    863
    243
    55
    29
See reviews for
504
602
253
578
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hilton hotels are usually to a high standard, though for the money we paid the room I thought was a little small. Great view however.
All services were done to a high Japanese standard and all meals we had there were of a high standard.

Room Tip: Anything with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and I am really pleased to hear my team took good care of you.

Concerning rooms we have a number of different room sizes available in the hotel ranging from 28m2 to over 100m2 across various categories. This information and floor plans are detailed on our web site or any member of our reservations team would be delighted to explain when you make your next reservation to stay with us.

I wish you all the best for the festive season and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

great value for a hotel in Shinjuku which is a fantastic place to stay in and hotel provides a good the shuttle bus service to the station. Walking is easy to the station too - less than 10 mins. And if you are too tired/have too much stuff from the shopping in Shinjuku, taxi is about 700/800 so it's affordable.

we stayed there with our kids who thoroughly enjoyed their time - cute balloons at the reception, thoughtful service at breakfast (one of the service staff cut up my daughter's food into smaller pieces), and the indoor pool and onsen/toiletries - looked forward to taking a public bath!

we got upgraded from 19th to 24th floor (standard to deluxe) which was really appreciated as the furnishings were updated (modern/clean contemporary style that's reflected in the website photos), and the room was spacious. I think I would have been a bit miserable if I stayed on the 19th floor as even the lift lobby seemed of an older style (peach tones/80's decor).

other tips: go to the tokyo metropolitan govt building nearby for a free panoramic view of the city or just right across is the sumitomo building where the top floors have restuarants - try 52nd floor senya restaurant for teppanyaki (great views, food and service).

Room Tip: Must stay in higher floors - 19th floor and below had a dated look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very nice review and my team and I appreciate the time taken to share your experience.

Concerning older room types - (standard) (Level 19 and below) these rooms will be fully removed from our inventory from January 1 - 2013 and replaced with all new guestrooms. This is a very exciting process for the hotel and we look forward to having guests experience our new product from the beginning of 2013.

Hilton Tokyo is committed to the highest standards of service and facilities to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay with us.

I would like to wish you all the very best over the festive season.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stay at this hotel a few years ago on my first trip to Tokyo. The room was very clean, a little on the small side compared to American standards, but probably sizable to Japanese standards. The executive lounge has great views of the city and a nice variety for breakfast. The staff at the desk in the lounge were very helpful with my needs. The concierge was also very informative. There is not too much in the immediate area of this hotel, but they do offer a shuttle to the Shinjuku station which is very convenient. There is a 24 hour market within a 5 minute walk which is great for grabbing a snack. This hotel is what you would expect from a Hilton, but because it is Japanese the service is a step above.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our hospitality and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Tokyo.

Best wishes for the festive season.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Got a room for $223 booked two days before departure, good price for a hotel like this in Shinjuku. Got a one bed room with a King size bed, with a size comparable with those in US, such as Hilton Arlington close to DC. If with two double beds, it would be a little crowded. Excellent beding, good supplies in the bathroom. Very clean. Friendly staff. There is a shuttle leaving every 20 min to/from Shinjuku station. Got a breakfast/internet package for 40,000 Yen (original about 52,000 Yen). The selections for the breakfast are very good, even if you are only interested in cereals. If you want to save money, walk several blocks to the east, there are plenty of options, local stores as well as convenience stores such as 7 eleven or Family Mart. Those convenience stores are different from those in US. They provide good choices at good prices for fast food and drinks of good qualities. Can be heated at the store. This hotel is about 20-30 minute walk from Meiji Shirine. There is a small park, Shinjuku Chuo Park, close to the hotel. However, it seems to be the home for homeless people. It forms a big contrast to other scenes in that area, but will fill a gap in your full impression of Tokyo.

Room Tip: Do ask the staff at the front desk to check for availability/options of the room type you want, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear you truly enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience on this forum.

Concerning rooms with two double beds - Hilton Tokyo does not offer any rooms with this bedding configuration. Twin rooms have two king single beds due to local preference for this type and room style.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Decent location in Shinjuku (Direct train from Narita via Nex) with free shuttle bus to/from station every 20mins. Really nice reception / lobby with free wi-fi and great views from rooms on higher floors.

Standard rooms don't include free wi-fi which is a bit of a joke in 2012 but this is a decent, clean well maintained hotel with spacious western rooms.

The fitness centre, pool and onsen are awesome, as are the massages. I didn't try the food but it looked nice enough when walking through.

All in all decent value for western travelers that don't have the budget for the Park Hyatt / Peninsula etc...

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor 32 and up are good and seemed to have free wifi and were nicer specified than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your great comments and my team and I really appreciate that you shared your stay experience on this forum.

I do however need to clarify that Hilton Tokyo has a Ofuro (Public Bath/Sauna/Plunge) and we do not have onsen water (Natural Hot Spring). This area is however a great way to relax after a long day with a large hot bath/jacuzzi, cold pool, dry sauna and wet area. We also have a relaxation room, stretching room and massage available.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hilton big name still a guarantee. Room size was adequate and clean.
Concierges was excellent!!! They checked the internet and printed a location of other hotel pick up point when I asked. They provided a shuttle bus from hotel to Shinjuku station west exit vice versa. Tochomae subway just across hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your very complimentary review and thank you for your loyalty to Hilton.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.